No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Staying Cool at the Rotunda (4*)

4Visit England Assessed Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
The Rotunda 150 New Street , Birmingham, B2 4PA
Why can't all city centre stays be this cool?" The Times. These studio
apartments on the 17-19th floor of the refurbished Rotunda offer amazing
views of the city through floor-to-ceiling windows.

Free wifi, iPod dock, very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, Gaggia machine
with fresh coffee and milk, oranges for the juicer, comp cereals, games,
plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very
best night's sleep, bathrobes , spa products and a walk-in shower. Parking
£9.50/ night.

Rotunda is perfectly located for New Street and Moor Street Stations (3
mins), the business district (5 mins) and is practically next door to
Selfridges. For larger apartments see Staying Cool 5*.
Picture of Staying Cool at the Rotunda (4*), Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall- Satisfactory
The staff were very helpful, the location was ideal and the view was amazing!

Reviewed by
MARIA T

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very impressed
Great accommodation, great location, great decor, great view. The only thing that didn't work for me was that I couldn't connect my mac or iPhone to the wifi which meant that I couldn't do the work I was planning to..

Reviewed by
Katerina S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great view but shabby room
Room needs lick of paint and telly tiny with terrible sound. Bed comfy. Orange juicer great idea. Coffee left for coffee machine very old and stale. Hallways terribly decorated.
Great view but over priced.

Reviewed by
Debbie C

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rotunda
We stayed overnight for my husbands birthday, fun accommodation, good location and well equipped.

ManagementResponse

Hi, We're thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we hope we will see you again soon. Best wishes, Simon

Reviewed by
francesca W

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Style over substance
Great location, lovely staff, amazing view. Feels mean to have any complaints, but…
Well, it looks great. But once you get over the view and look more closely, it was a little tired, the carpet was grubby, and generally the whole thing felt a little like a very stylish halls of residence. It may have been cool, but we soon noticed that it didn't function as well as it looked. The bathroom fan didn't work, so it steams up very quickly (the water was very very hot, until the boiler promptly emptied and didn't refill for hours), and the shower has a tiny screen meaning it was impossible not to flood the bathroom floor; The lighting is overly complicated, it took forever to work out how to turn everything off when we wanted to go to sleep; the tv is tiny; the apartment was cold; shared areas (reception, corridors, halls) feel more nuclear bunker than cool urban residence: concrete reigns supreme at this place.
But, the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and the view was spectacular, so its not hard to see why this place has the wow factor when you first arrive, especially if you arrive after dark when the view of the city lights is at its best. Location can't be beaten too.
Would never recommend against staying here, but I feel it has tried so hard to be cool, it has lost all its warmth.

Reviewed by
Ben B

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Enjoyed christmas stay at rotunda. Wonderful views and amazing apartment with everything we could need. Simon on the desk was so helpful and happy. The only disappointment was being told we could get the car out of bullring on Xmas day to visit family we even got a special pass to get the car out but we couldn't even get in as it was all locked up, don't think this is the hotels fault though!

Reviewed by
Vicki M

From Southwold, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice!!
Hotel and room were xcellent! Could've done with more than 1 night to fully appreciate the rooms amenities but literally couldn't get closer to Birmingham centre!

Reviewed by
Tom D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow -on top of the world
this is without doubt the best hotel/accommodation apartment that I have ever stayed in over the last 5 years ,and I spend on average 150 days per year in hotels.
Superb -was upgraded to Penthouse flat ,but my colleague was also in a superlative flat below and it too was terrific.

Reviewed by
nicholas umfreville

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay!
The hotel apartments were lovely. Very modern and great use of space, perfect for our one night stay in central Birmingham. Great location on new street and the customer service was very welcoming and friendly. Would stay there again for sure. Only down side was the lack of air conditioning but other than that it was brilliant. The views were fab! Would recommend!

ManagementResponse

Dear R Poole, Thank you for your review, we are always very pleased to receive feedback. We do take every point into consideration to help us further develop our brand. We are glad that you found the location handy, you really can't get much more central. We don't have air con units because, for 355 days of the year, they really aren't necessary and like many other businesses, we are trying to reduce our energy consumption and air con units are greedy guzzlers. We have regular fans that are available for guests who need them. The fully opening windows have been a god send during our much appreciated heatwave - even if it has now seemed to disappear. We are happy that you enjoyed the fabulous panoramic views that we have to offer, overlooking Birminghams beautiful skyline. Please let us know if there wa anything else you need, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Sabrina

Reviewed by
R Poole

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service
Right in the centre of Birmingham so would be great for shoppers but we were there on business.
The room was exceptionally well put together with a well stocked kitchen which even include oranges and a juice machine for you to make fresh orange!
I found the floor to ceiling windows a bit scary but the view was great.
Simon on reception was extremely helpful.

Reviewed by
Joe H

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next