No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Staying Cool at the Rotunda (4*)

4Visit England Assessed Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
The Rotunda 150 New Street , Birmingham, B2 4PA
Why can't all city centre stays be this cool?" The Times. These studio
apartments on the 17-19th floor of the refurbished Rotunda offer amazing
views of the city through floor-to-ceiling windows.

Free wifi, iPod dock, very well-equipped Poggenpohl kitchen, Gaggia machine
with fresh coffee and milk, oranges for the juicer, comp cereals, games,
plus a king size bed with pocket sprung/memory foam mattress for the very
best night's sleep, bathrobes , spa products and a walk-in shower. Parking
£9.50/ night.

Rotunda is perfectly located for New Street and Moor Street Stations (3
mins), the business district (5 mins) and is practically next door to
Selfridges. For larger apartments see Staying Cool 5*.
Picture of Staying Cool at the Rotunda (4*), Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Style over substance
Great location, lovely staff, amazing view. Feels mean to have any complaints, but…
Well, it looks great. But once you get over the view and look more closely, it was a little tired, the carpet was grubby, and generally the whole thing felt a little like a very stylish halls of residence. It may have been cool, but we soon noticed that it didn't function as well as it looked. The bathroom fan didn't work, so it steams up very quickly (the water was very very hot, until the boiler promptly emptied and didn't refill for hours), and the shower has a tiny screen meaning it was impossible not to flood the bathroom floor; The lighting is overly complicated, it took forever to work out how to turn everything off when we wanted to go to sleep; the tv is tiny; the apartment was cold; shared areas (reception, corridors, halls) feel more nuclear bunker than cool urban residence: concrete reigns supreme at this place.
But, the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly and the view was spectacular, so its not hard to see why this place has the wow factor when you first arrive, especially if you arrive after dark when the view of the city lights is at its best. Location can't be beaten too.
Would never recommend against staying here, but I feel it has tried so hard to be cool, it has lost all its warmth.

Reviewed by
Ben B

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Enjoyed christmas stay at rotunda. Wonderful views and amazing apartment with everything we could need. Simon on the desk was so helpful and happy. The only disappointment was being told we could get the car out of bullring on Xmas day to visit family we even got a special pass to get the car out but we couldn't even get in as it was all locked up, don't think this is the hotels fault though!

Reviewed by
Vicki M

From Southwold, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice!!
Hotel and room were xcellent! Could've done with more than 1 night to fully appreciate the rooms amenities but literally couldn't get closer to Birmingham centre!

Reviewed by
Tom D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow -on top of the world
this is without doubt the best hotel/accommodation apartment that I have ever stayed in over the last 5 years ,and I spend on average 150 days per year in hotels.
Superb -was upgraded to Penthouse flat ,but my colleague was also in a superlative flat below and it too was terrific.

Reviewed by
nicholas umfreville

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay!
The hotel apartments were lovely. Very modern and great use of space, perfect for our one night stay in central Birmingham. Great location on new street and the customer service was very welcoming and friendly. Would stay there again for sure. Only down side was the lack of air conditioning but other than that it was brilliant. The views were fab! Would recommend!

ManagementResponse

Dear R Poole, Thank you for your review, we are always very pleased to receive feedback. We do take every point into consideration to help us further develop our brand. We are glad that you found the location handy, you really can't get much more central. We don't have air con units because, for 355 days of the year, they really aren't necessary and like many other businesses, we are trying to reduce our energy consumption and air con units are greedy guzzlers. We have regular fans that are available for guests who need them. The fully opening windows have been a god send during our much appreciated heatwave - even if it has now seemed to disappear. We are happy that you enjoyed the fabulous panoramic views that we have to offer, overlooking Birminghams beautiful skyline. Please let us know if there wa anything else you need, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Sabrina

Reviewed by
R Poole

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service
Right in the centre of Birmingham so would be great for shoppers but we were there on business.
The room was exceptionally well put together with a well stocked kitchen which even include oranges and a juice machine for you to make fresh orange!
I found the floor to ceiling windows a bit scary but the view was great.
Simon on reception was extremely helpful.

Reviewed by
Joe H

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location/view but room 706 looking a little tired
Staying cool is in a central location so very handy for shopping and the link up with the car park a few minutes walk away at reduced cost is useful. However the room on the seventeeth floor was looking a little tired e.g. carpet very stained, walls marked. Also we feel that the layout of the room could have been improved e.g. the bed was looking inwards behind a high shelf rather than towards the windows to capitalise on the view; the bed was pushed up against 1 wall which had rough wallpaper like sandpaper; the couch was a bit too small for a couple to lounge on. On the positive side, it was hot the weekend we stayed so it was lovely to be able to open the sliding doors to catch the breeze; we didn't experience noise from any other guests; and the fresh oranges & juicer plus coffee machine were very welcome at breakfast. We didn't use the other kitchen facilities. Overall, we had a nice stay and would stay again but the room could do with a freshen up and ideally a reorganised layout.

ManagementResponse

Hi Graham, Thank you for your review, we are always very pleased to receive feedback and take every point into consideration to help us further develop our brand. We are glad that you found the location handy, you really can't get much more central. We are sorry to hear that you found the apartment to be a little tired. We are still going through our redecoration phase where all of the apartments are getting a lick of paint. Your apartment is one of the few that still has a beige carpet, which we know isn't ideal. The rest of the apartments have a charcoal colour which is much more user friendly. This is something that we are addressing and will be remedied by the end of the year, but we are very sorry that you didn't see it at its best. The idea behind the lounge area being on the window side is so that guests can make best use of the views whilst they are eating at the dining table, watching TV or just simply sitting and watching the world go by, this reason being why the bed is on the other side. We are sorry that you found the sofa a bit too small to lounge on, our furniture is quite quirky and we realise that it is not to everyone's taste. The fully opening windows have been a god send during our much appreciated heatwave - even if it has now seemed to disappear. We are happy that you enjoyed some of the extras provided and we can't wait to welcome you back so you can try out the rest of the kitchen facilities. On you next stay you should try out our larger, one bed, Clubman apartment - the sofa is much larger and you have a separate bedroom area which has its own window to look out of. Best wishes, Staying Cool

Reviewed by
Graham L

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
Fantastic room, although slightly expensive it offered unrivalled views across Birmingham from the 19th floor. Apple Mac was a great addition to the room, and it was perfect for an overnight stay.

Reviewed by
Adam R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic location
Fantastic location and great views. It would also be good as a base for a business stay- especially if travelling by public transport.

ManagementResponse

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words. We are very lucky to be located in the city centre, right next to the Bullring. We are very close to New Street Station and the local bus stops. We do get a lot of business clientele who make use of our great apartments as a home from home for them. Our views of Birmingham are truly stunning, and the cylindrical shape of the building benefits this. We do hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.

Reviewed by
mark h

From Ware, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better Than A Hotel
I chose the Rotunda as it was about the same price as a Premier Inn believe it or not. During a large show at the NEC hotels raise their prices drastically while staying cool keep them level.
Fantastic location right in the middle of prime shopping and 3 minutes walk from New St station.
It was great having a kitchen and being able to slip next door to M&S for a meal and warm it up - better than eating out alone in a restaurant.

ManagementResponse

Hi Craig Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us this month. Staying Cool will always aim to give fair and competitive rates at any time of year. We agree that our location is very convenient for commuting around the city and we are even lucky enough to have The Bullring on our very door step, I am glad you found your Mini Studio apartment to be well equipped, especially our Poggenpohl Kitchen. We do aim to make your stay feel like a home from home and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes, Sabrina Guest Relations

Reviewed by
craig p

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next