No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St Andrews House Hotel

3Self Classified Town House Hotel Ratings explained
St Andrews Drive , Droitwich, WR9 8BS
St Andrews Town Hotel is located in historic Droitwich Spa, and offers you the best of both town and country. We are only minutes from the town centre and motorway network, yet the elegant Georgian building and tranquil gardens make you feel as if you are in a country house retreat. We offer a superb restaurant 'the dining room' and bar, 31 contemporary styled ensuite bedrooms, and excellent business facilities. We are also the perfect setting for your wedding or special celebration, with a choice of function rooms, civil wedding licence, and our specialist events co-ordinator. With our recent change in ownership, we have started an exciting programme of refurbishment work including updating the function rooms, restaurant and bar, upgrading the bedrooms, and creating a luxurious bridal suite.

The St Andrew's Town Hotel was built in the 1820's as the home of the Town Clerk of Droitwich Spa. The original building has been extended, and the name has changed several times, but many of the trees which originally surrounded the house still grow in the grounds. Situated in a convenient location in Worcestershire, just 7 miles from Worcester and 20 miles from Birmingham, the St Andrews is an excellent base to explore all this beautiful part of the country has to offer. From our recently rejuvenated canals in Droitwich, providing excellent walking paths, the beautiful Cathedral City of Worcester, with a wealth of shops, bars and restaurants,
Birmingham, which has great shopping in the Bull Ring, to the Cotswolds, you are sure to find something to occupy you during your stay.

Here at St Andrews we are known for our friendly and personal service, and would like to invite you to come and join us and experience it for yourself.
Picture of St Andrews House Hotel, Droitwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
One night stay at hotel. Room (25) was clean, warm and most importantly comfortable! Staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the food. Chef was very amenable, offering to change a menu item for my partner. Overall, decent value for money - would recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
M Jones

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful setting friendly staff breakfast was a little disappointing

Reviewed by
Jean M

From Chard, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

County hotel in the town
We stayed in this lovely hotel which is situated close to the town centre, the overall feeling was of being in the countryside. Staff were attentive and helpful. Food was very good. We upgraded our room to a Heritage room and although quite compact the furnishings were of good quality. The standard rooms are not as lovely however I understand the hotel has an ongoing schedule of upgrading taking place and I shall look forward to returning when this is complete. Dining room is a little dark, that is my only negative comment.

Reviewed by
AILSA B

From Eccleshall, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay in September 2014
On arrival we were given our key and given directions to find our room which involved negotiating stairways as the hotel does not have lift facilities. The room overlooked the front gardens which are nice and have 2 very impressive tress in the centre grassed area. The room itself appeared to be of good standard and after unpacking I visited the en suite bathroom. There was a patch on the wall between toiled and bath that had been re plastered but not painted. On using the hand basin it was discovered that the tap fitting was loose and required either tightening or refitting to make it safe. Also when the plug was depressed the water continued to run away out of the basin and to keep a usable level of water the tap had to be kept running. We left the room and proceeded downstairs via the main staircase by reception as the route previously told us on arrival was a little more convoluted, and on reaching reception handed in our key reported the faulty bathroom basin and went out to meet a relation.. On returning to the hotel later that evening we collected the key and went up to our room. The faults had not been repaired and so on going down for breakfast the following morning again reported the problem. We had breakfast and the food was of a good standard but I would say the self service buffet for fruit juices, cereals etc could had been made to look more appealing. We again left the hotel to attend a funeral and returned after the service as a reception for the people attending the funeral was being held at the hotel. The room we were in was clean and well laid out and the food and hot drinks for the people attending was good and met the needs of the guests. In the evening we again reported that the bathroom problem to reception who said it had been passed presumably to the maintenance person or persons and she seemed surprised that it had not been attended to, even mentioning the fact that if the room had been occupied by us during the daytime the maintenance people could have knocked on the door to ask if the repairs could be done whilst we were in, but as previously mentioned we had been at a funeral and reception and then back at a relations house for most of the morning and afternoon. We retired to bed that evening and although having been able to sleep the previous night found it nearly impossible to get out to sleep due to noise from the room below us. I can only say that the sound proofing between the floor of our room and the lower room must be nonexistant and without going into details we could hear everything that was taking place below us. After a sleepless night we were awoken at approximately 6.00am by voices again emanating from the room below. I would have said loud voices but they were probably of normal volume and it was just the tissue paper like qualities of the walls and flooring that did in no way inhibit sound travelling through them. We again went to breakfast prior to checking out and if anything the quality of the cooked breakfast was better than the previous morning although again the self service buffet left a little to be desired in its appearance and the table we sat at although laid out for two people was not complete and we had to ask for milk and butter. The breakfast waitress was very kind and obliging and quickly brought us the missing items and apologised. We thanked her and mentioned it was not her fault, ate breakfast, checked out and departed for the homeward journey. On the whole the hotel has many attractions it is a beautiful building tastefully decorated and furnished and set in lovely surroundings, and the addition of an orangery/conservatory which was under construction can only improve the hotels already good facilities. I must point out that the building work in no way affected our stay.The hotel is easily acessible to Droitwich and the wider surrounding area and Droitwich itself has good road links to the motorway, a rail station and is quite a pleasant small town. Given our experiences detailed above and having no further need to visit Droitwich we would probably not use the hotel again and perhaps we were unlucky with the other guests staying at the same time as us.If our requests for the room maintenance to have been completed during our stay I would recommend this hotel to others but attendance to detail does appear to be slightly lacking. Ours was an online booking at an online rate of £69 per night including full breakfast but this should not detract from the service given by the hotel.

Reviewed by
Graham D

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, with a lovely setting.

Reviewed by
P Sahota

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

75% Good, no complaints, reasonable value for money.
Hotel clean, Room nice but should be for £100. Breakfast average/adequate. Nice venue/position.
Didn't like Late Rooms charge identical to hotel charge.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel overall view
st andrews town house hotel was overall good value for money. the room was comfy and clea
n. however i felt that the grounds required tidying up and the services of a gardener! The rear outside seating area needed some tlc. debris was visible on the patio which i felt could have been tidied away. the hotel is undergoing some renovation but small touches were needed to smarten up the grounds. the staff were very helpful and polite.the meals were good.

Reviewed by
marie f

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable one night stop over with excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
alison b

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff efficient and helpful, comfortable room. Good location with attractive garden. I would definately stay again next time I am in Worcester.

Reviewed by
Susan Thom

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel, uncomfortable bed.
The public areas of the hotel are very well appointed. My room, (24) which was a single, again was well appointed and clean but the bed was very rickety and noisey. I also found that I could hear guests in the room both next to me and above me moving about so not the best night's sleep. The staff were all very couteous and friendly and overall the experience was not too bad. If I was staying for more than one night I probably would have asked to be moved.

Reviewed by
M Taylor

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next