No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Od Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Market Place , Shifnal, TF11 9AU
Bed! Shower! Towels! Internet! TV!

All above Odfellows, a lively and popular bar restaurant right in the centre of Shifnal. We have seven bedrooms upstairs, each of them are different in size, shape and layout, but they all have the same standard features - en suite bathroom with power shower, free, fast wireless internet access, flat screen digital tv (some have dvd players), laminate flooring, kettle and complimentary hot drinks. Each room also has a comfy chair and a workspace.

To keep prices keen we do not offer toiletries, breakfast, room service or other small embellishments.

Excellent travel links, competitive rates, CCTV monitored car park and great food, beer & wine in the bar downstairs make this the ideal place to stay for the business traveler. We can offer a range of bespoke services for regular visitors - if you have something in mind, please just ask!

The Od Inn is also the ideal venue for overspill for family events, golfing, fishing or walking groups. All of our rates are offered on a 'room only basis'.

Please enquire about our rates for longer stays.

Picture of The Od Inn, Shifnal at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room basic, but all needed, good value for money. Rooms tired but ok for 1 night no longer!!

Reviewed by
David Lucas

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Odd Inn
ALways a pleasant stay at the Odd Inn & Shifnall is a great little Hamlet

Reviewed by
A Worthington

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Good value for Money!
The good bits - room was basic and clean, as was the bathroom & shower. Good internet connection. I found a very good Chinese restaurant just up the road which was excellent and very reasonably priced.
The bad bits - the bed was good and comfortable until the wooden slats went and I spent the night trying not to fall out of the side of the bed. The dials on the shower where installed the wrong way around and was nearly scalded when I thought I was turning the heat down. The website says that there is music on Fridays and Sunday Bank Holidays - I was there on a Saturday and the bar was closed for a private party, all I could hear was the constant throb of the base which made the room shake and felt like it was an extension of the speakers, It was heaven when it eventually stopped - bit like toothache!
Overall, it was poor value for the money and I would only go back again as a last resort.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your stay here at the Od Inn. We have been undertaking significant refurbishment of our rooms over the the last 18 months.
One at a time, each room has been closed for six weeks and fully refurbished including new flooring, furniture (including bed and mattress), fixtures and fittings. They have also been redecorated to a good standard and all the net curtains have been removed and replaced with frosted glass where appropriate.
We are very proud of our new look and feel certain that you would find our rooms very much improved. The rooms however remain located above a very lively bar restaurant, some noise issues remain particularly on busy nights.

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service - very helpful staff
For a wine bar I wasn't impressed with the quality of wine on offer.

Reviewed by
Claire G

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly reception
friendly reception,nice large,light room.bathroom needed a little more cleaning attention

Reviewed by
karen h

From Amsterdam,The Netherlands, Netherlands
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and grotty not worth the 3 star rating
First impression was ok when walked into the bar and that was it
Given key and showed to door with code for entry on climbing the stairs there was a horrible smell as if there was a sewage problem.
opened the door to the room and looked dreadful.
Not decorated in ages nets ripped and filthy dirty
Bed well double bed it was a double but with 2 persons sleeping it would be better having a king size quilt to cover all also the bed was very uncomfortable hard and for some reason me and my wife kept meeting in the middle
looked in the fridge and that was it 2 bottles of water and not switched on
even thou I booked a room for 2 there was only 1 set of towels
Bathroom if you could call it that, towel rail fallen on and not repaired and what We found most disgusting was carpet in the bathroom you would of thought laminate with mats or lino with carpets unhygienic
We know us man have a problem but you can not wipe up the accident on carpet.
I would only rate at a push 2 star and that is price and location
It needs some work and not just collecting money for room's spend some more and you would not get such a negative revue.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your stay here at the Od Inn. We have been undertaking significant refurbishment of our rooms over the the last 18 months.
One at a time, each room has been closed for six weeks and fully refurbished including new flooring, furniture (including bed and mattress), fixtures and fittings. They have also been redecorated to a good standard and all the net curtains have been removed and replaced with frosted glass where appropriate.
We are very proud of our new look and feel certain that you would find our rooms very much improved. The rooms however remain located above a very lively bar restaurant, some noise issues remain particularly on busy nights.

Reviewed by
Timothy Wright

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Od Inn, Shifnal
A very friendly place where my wife and daughters had a very nice lunch. A real ale place well worth visiting. Accommodation was perfectly acceptable and very economical, my daughters room nicer than ours. Only real disappointment is the fact that they don't do breakfast on a Sunday morning.

Reviewed by
Anthony S

From London, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Far below par
Very basic facilities.
Shower head clocked with scale. Bathroom light took half an hour to warm up to illuminate, indicating it hadn't been turned on in a LONG time. Dirty toilet. Room was not cleaned during our stay. Only one towel provided.
When the fire alarm went off at 0615 on Sunday morning and we left the building it became apparent that not only were we the only guests, but there was no staff present, or automatically alerted. We had to call the Fire Service ourselves. Once the firemen had done what they could to confirm there was no fire (they had no access to any rooms) they let us back in and on inspection we found a 'duty manager' mobile number on the no smoking sign on the back of the room door. When called it went straight to voicemail.
The place used to be a hotel, and is now a joke.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your stay here at the Od Inn. We have been undertaking significant refurbishment of our rooms over the the last 18 months.
One at a time, each room has been closed for six weeks and fully refurbished including new flooring, furniture (including bed and mattress), fixtures and fittings. They have also been redecorated to a good standard and all the net curtains have been removed and replaced with frosted glass where appropriate.
We are very proud of our new look and feel certain that you would find our rooms very much improved. The rooms however remain located above a very lively bar restaurant, some noise issues remain particularly on busy nights.

Reviewed by
Sue L

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

needs a refurb
Room could be really nice, just needs a new carpet (lots of stains), the net curtains washing/replacing and a lick of paint would do wonders! Ok for one night but would try somewhere else next time.

ManagementResponse

We are sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your stay here at the Od Inn. We have been undertaking significant refurbishment of our rooms over the the last 18 months.
One at a time, each room has been closed for six weeks and fully refurbished including new flooring, furniture (including bed and mattress), fixtures and fittings. They have also been redecorated to a good standard and all the net curtains have been removed and replaced with frosted glass where appropriate.
We are very proud of our new look and feel certain that you would find our rooms very much improved. The rooms however remain located above a very lively bar restaurant, some noise issues remain particularly on busy nights.

Reviewed by
Charlotte M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Od inn Shifnal
Pleasant stay here again, here several times, the yoghurt & juice is missed tin the morning though, which is only costing pennies really when bought in bulk.

Reviewed by
Andy Worthington

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next