No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sherwood

5Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Sherwood, Oxford Road , Frilford Heath, OX13 5NW
Sherwood is a newly built country house, set in six acres of woodland, in the heart of Oxford's countryside. It offers a perfect setting, overlooking the adjacent Frilford Heath Golf Club, one of the finest courses in south England, and just a short drive (7 miles) form the historic city of Oxford.
It offers luxury en-suite guest rooms, where guest comfort is a number one priority.
With access to various gastro pubs, country walks, visits to Millets Farm and the quaint streets of Oxford, Sherwood creates a taste of English countryside at its best.

Picture of Sherwood, Frilford Heath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 99% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real find - highly recommend Sherwood for a calm and relaxing stay.
A lovely place to stay, not too far from Oxford. Frances is the perfect hostess, we really enjoyed our time at Sherwood. This is an upmarket home that had everything we wanted, and it was a pleasure to stay there.

Reviewed by
Vanessa E

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good old fashion service and attention to detail
wonderful standard of accommodation, good quality bed, powerful shower, very spacious room and with en suit, tea and coffee making facilities, lovely breakfast, lots to choose from, hot plates,
really enjoyed my stay.
only minor negative is the wi fi at the top floor was very weak

Reviewed by
Rui Nunes

From eastgrinstead, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Good location just outside Oxford but away from busy traffic routes. Very comfortable room and an excellant breakfast

Reviewed by
M Rawet

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The quality and service was totally unexpected for a B&B. The owner couldn't have been more helpful the house was beautiful as was the food. We booked this because it had a "magnificent 9.2" rating on a website but it is well deserved, you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by
Barry C

From Lymm, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B. equal top of the B&Bs we visit in the country
Another perfect stay at this B&B, conveniently located for Oxford and Abingdon, next door to Frilford golf course and 4 minutes from a very good pub restaurant. The owners again made us very welcome and were very helpful. We shall return.

Reviewed by
paul keeler

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost perfect
Frances is the perfect hostess welcoming, attentive but not over- bearing. The rooms are simple sublime. Really comfortable bed and pillows loads of space and a walk in wardrobe. Over looking the swimming pool (although not for guests use sadly that would make it perfect) and the garden it is peaceful with Red Kites circling overhead. The bathroom is large bath designed for two with over the bath shower, hot water a plenty. Lovely soft fluffy towels and bed linen too. Also a complimentary drinks tray including bottled water and crystal wine glasses. Breakfast was lovely, un-rushed and plentiful with a choice. I would stay again if I was not moving into the area. The Greyhound pub a short car drive away was lovely and well recommended.

Reviewed by
Caroline F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful find!
This is the best B&B (and hotel) I have ever stayed in, Everything was perfect, and Frances could not have been more helpful.

Reviewed by
Keith Williams

From Cowbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
Very comfortable accommodation and a peaceful setting for a short break

Reviewed by
Kevin E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I have just spent a lovely 2 nights at the Sherwood near Oxford. Frances the owner was very welcoming and helpful. The accommodation was beautiful and very clean.

Reviewed by
D Gessey

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant overnight stay in beautiful surroundings
Immaculate accommodation, pleasant and warm welcome, beautiful setting, good food. Owner was extremely helpful in helping us to enjoy our stay and identifying good local eateries.
The website instructions would, however, benefit from clearer directions and instructions for finding the property and gaining access (there is an intercom operated gate). One other suggestion would be for clearer instruction on the areas of the building and grounds that are open for guests - there is a swimming pool and outdoor seating area, although because the owner(s) also live there in the rear of the premises it was not clear whether these were also for guest's use.

Reviewed by
Stuart F

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next