Reviews - Sherwood


Sherwood, Oxford Road, Frilford Heath, OX13 5NW

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (49)

94% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Joyce

  • September 2015

Great place, great stay

This B&B is ideal for staying in the Oxfordshire countryside, next to the golf course and a short drive from everything you need.

Tidy and comfortable.

  • Esperanza M

  • August 2015


Beautiful place, politeful treatment.

  • georgina najak

  • August 2015

Fabulous Place

Grand country home 5 minutes walk from the golf course (handy as our son was playing in an England tournament), set in its own private, tranquil and secure grounds with views of the countryside from the rear (we were lucky enough to see Deer every morning and evening).

A very warm welcome from the hostess Frances who was charming and extremely helpful and recommended The Greyhound for our evening meal which was perfect. We stayed on the top floor in a modern and very spacious room with tasteful d├ęcor and an equally spacious and well appointed en suite. Breakfast was served on pretty Wedgewood crockery, my partner had full English and I had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon which were lovely. Cereals, yoghurt, toast and jams were also available, along with fresh juice and tea and coffee. Really enjoyed the stay and ideal for golfers. Also only 20 minute drive from Oxford. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again if visiting the area

  • Jane Burtt

  • August 2015

Hidden gem

The very best - spacious, beautifully clean, excellent breakfast and extremely helpful proprietor.

I would unreservedly recommend Sherwood as a place to stay - it was fantastic.

  • Clive B

  • August 2015


Lovely house and immaculate room though small double bed and not the most comfortable matress.

  • Gareth G

  • June 2015

Excellent, spotless property and amazing bathroom

The owners very genuinely welcoming and sincere

Beautiful property and grounds and room excellent with en suite best I've come across

Will stay again but ask for room at rear overlooking amazing grounds

Breakfast yummy - I'm a sausage man and good quality and decent portions

Would love to stay longer and avail of the grounds and pool

Was lucky as property booked up well in advance - my cooking was due to a cancellation

  • Richard C

  • June 2015

Won't be staying again

This was my second overnight stay.

The last was two years ago with my fiancee. This time I was alone and visiting Oxford for a job interview. The woman never smiled once and I felt she would not acknowledge me as a human being . It was very different to the service I am used to. I expect to feel important even if I am not because travelling away from home is an adventure and special. The room was amazingly clean and passed the finger test. She even made a negative comment on the next morning about how quickly I completed breakfast and she would not give eye contact at all (not once). I was pleased to leave because I can't go back to that place with the expectation of being treated like a guest.

  • C Armitt

  • June 2015

Absolutely gorgeous house

Really enjoyed our stay in this wonderful house.

Rooms and breakfast excellent and whole atmosphere very relaxing.

  • Dianne C

  • April 2015

Faultless hospitality

Francis is helpful and welcoming host.

Her home (Sherwood can, in no way be described as a business establishment) is spacious tasteful and scrupulously clean. Our room was on the second floor which gave us a perfect view of the dear that were frolicking in the garden. As previous reviewers have mentioned there was very little WIFI in the second floor but frankly I view that as a bonus rather than a hindrance.

  • J Chevallier

  • March 2015

Lovely accomodation

I was greeted with a warm wekome and shown to a very comfortable room.

There was a good seleciton of fresh cooked food for breakfast and check out was quick and easy. My only criticism was that I found it hard to find in the dark as the signage from the road is small and not illuminated. If the website said turn right after you pass the golf club going South it would help other people arriving late.