No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sherwood

5Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Sherwood, Oxford Road , Frilford Heath, OX13 5NW
Sherwood is a newly built country house, set in six acres of woodland, in the heart of Oxford's countryside. It offers a perfect setting, overlooking the adjacent Frilford Heath Golf Club, one of the finest courses in south England, and just a short drive (7 miles) form the historic city of Oxford.
It offers luxury en-suite guest rooms, where guest comfort is a number one priority.
With access to various gastro pubs, country walks, visits to Millets Farm and the quaint streets of Oxford, Sherwood creates a taste of English countryside at its best.

Picture of Sherwood, Frilford Heath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 99% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B. equal top of the B&Bs we visit in the country
Another perfect stay at this B&B, conveniently located for Oxford and Abingdon, next door to Frilford golf course and 4 minutes from a very good pub restaurant. The owners again made us very welcome and were very helpful. We shall return.

Reviewed by
paul keeler

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost perfect
Frances is the perfect hostess welcoming, attentive but not over- bearing. The rooms are simple sublime. Really comfortable bed and pillows loads of space and a walk in wardrobe. Over looking the swimming pool (although not for guests use sadly that would make it perfect) and the garden it is peaceful with Red Kites circling overhead. The bathroom is large bath designed for two with over the bath shower, hot water a plenty. Lovely soft fluffy towels and bed linen too. Also a complimentary drinks tray including bottled water and crystal wine glasses. Breakfast was lovely, un-rushed and plentiful with a choice. I would stay again if I was not moving into the area. The Greyhound pub a short car drive away was lovely and well recommended.

Reviewed by
Caroline F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful find!
This is the best B&B (and hotel) I have ever stayed in, Everything was perfect, and Frances could not have been more helpful.

Reviewed by
Keith Williams

From Cowbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
Very comfortable accommodation and a peaceful setting for a short break

Reviewed by
Kevin E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I have just spent a lovely 2 nights at the Sherwood near Oxford. Frances the owner was very welcoming and helpful. The accommodation was beautiful and very clean.

Reviewed by
D Gessey

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant overnight stay in beautiful surroundings
Immaculate accommodation, pleasant and warm welcome, beautiful setting, good food. Owner was extremely helpful in helping us to enjoy our stay and identifying good local eateries.
The website instructions would, however, benefit from clearer directions and instructions for finding the property and gaining access (there is an intercom operated gate). One other suggestion would be for clearer instruction on the areas of the building and grounds that are open for guests - there is a swimming pool and outdoor seating area, although because the owner(s) also live there in the rear of the premises it was not clear whether these were also for guest's use.

Reviewed by
Stuart F

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Stay
My partner and I had a peaceful anniversary stay at the Sherwood. Our host was very attentive and even gave us a life to the restaurant.

Reviewed by
P Moore Jones

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful setting and fabulous views!
We were extremely happy with our accommodation and the friendly welcome from Frances on our arrival. What a lovely place to live! The room was well appointed and the view from our window was stunning. The breakfast the following morning was good, although we had to rush off so didnt get time to relax over our coffee!!

Reviewed by
j downham

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great venue
Lovely setting in rolling countryside. Francis is an extremely welcoming host and welcomes you in the morning to a lovely breakfast menu.

Reviewed by
John H

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely guest house
Clean, spacious, newly decorated accommodation, very friendly host, lovely breakfast and a nice peaceful rural setting. Full marks!

Reviewed by
Joseph L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next