No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Loans Inn

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
MAIN STREET , Troon, KA10 7EX
Fantastic New Country Pub, Restaurant and Hotel - Now Open after 1.8million investment

The Old Loans Inn, Loved for many years for it's warm Scottish service and hearty fare has reopened it's doors after a major refurbishment as a 20 bedroom hotel. The new hotel enjoys all the comforts of a purpose built 21st century hotel without losing it's 18th century charm. Located in the pretty little village of Loans, just outside Troon, The Old Loans is ideally located for business, leisure and of course, the famous Ayrshire golf courses. Only a few minutes drive from Prestwick international airport, the Loans will offer everything the discerning golfer could ask, great traditional fare, warm and friendly service in our restaurant and bar and fantastic views over the Ayrshire coast.

Only minutes from Royal Troon Golf Club and a short drive from Turnberry, Loans is a great base to play two of the Open championship most famous courses and with too many great courses to mention just a short drive away Ayrshire offers a great golf get-away whatever your budget.

The Old Loans Inn, part of the privately owned SimpsInns hotel group based in the heart of Ayrshire, reached dizzy new heights this week after being announced as winner of the Scottish Licenses Trade News (SLTN) award in the category of "Best New Business" for 2010.
The much sought-after SLTN awards, now in their 15th year, identify stars of the hospitality industry with the category of "Best New Business" fiercely contested after organisers received hundreds of entries across Scotland.
Picture of Old Loans Inn, Troon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yes you can have value, quality and service.....
Stayed at The Old Loans Inn 19th - 21st August 2014. and I can honestly say that we and our friends were impressed with the quality of the hotel. Our room and bathroom were both comfortably appointed. We ate in the in the hotel and found the food / service to be first class and prices to be fair.

Reviewed by
Alan N

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a pleasure
What a fantastic place!, we stayed for 3 nights. We have stayed in many hotels and this one was just the best. The hotel was spotless, warm and inviting. The food was exceptional and good value for money. The room was clean, large and bright. The seating outside just lovely.
The staff were brilliant, they just seemed to know what you needed, polite, friendly and attentive.
One little issue of tea bags not replaced but a call to reception and sorted in 4 minutes!
Can't wait to go back again.:)

Reviewed by
Helen L

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay when visiting Ayrshire
We arrived on a very wet Saturday night and were greeted in the lobby by very friendly staff, our first impressions from the outside were very favourable, and the car park although busy with early evening diners. We were able to park.
Our room was spacious and there was everything you could want from a hotel including iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities. The bed was huge and comfortable, I slept well here. I would say the bed was supportive not hard . Spare pillows always a good sign
The bathroom was very clean with bath and shower . It's clear to see that the place is kept to a high standard of cleanliness......plenty of storage space even for my wife's clothes.
Our room was over the entrance to the restaurant but could not here noise even with the window open, could not hear traffic ( we were at the back of the hotel looking towards the isle of Arran and could see it in the distance.
There is a great outdoor seating area to enjoy the one day a year that Scotland gets sunshine .😉
There is a well stocked bar , I needed that 😉
The breakfasts were very good, you had a serve yourself to cold food fruit, pastries, toast, yogurts and cereals. Then it was waitress service for the hot Scottish breakfast mmmmmmmm.. All freshly cooked so it was fresh and hadn't been standing ages as I have found in some places
We ate in at the restaurant Four of our seven nights would have eaten there every night as there was plenty to tempt us on the menu, but had family to visit and eat out with. The menu was great and varied.
Our last night there we had the family that could get there in for dinner nine of us, and they all had different dishes. They were all delighted with the meals they had , and the good service
If asked would I go again I would say a definite yes. It was clean warm friendly and comfortable

Reviewed by
Eileen L

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay - ideal for trip to Gl;asgow and Commonwealth Games
Rooms were luxurious and staff very helpful.
Food ok. We went for the early budget menu which was ample portions with limited menu. Drinks were a bit expensive.

Reviewed by
nick t

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem!
I cannot praise this hotel highly enough .... it was a great discovery! The hotel is immaculate - it was a complete pleasure to stay there. The room was excellent, and the quality of food was superb ..... but what made it more special was the warm, friendly, attentive and efficient service from all of the staff - from Reception, to the Bar, to the Restaurant ... and most especially, the guy who served our breakfasts in the morning ... all were exemplary and a great credit to the hotel.

Reviewed by
Brian M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
Staff were very friendly and very helpful, food was excellent. Room excellent and very clean. Hotel very clean and tidy. Pleasant half hour walk into Troon if you don't have transport but there is public transport. Great hotel for golf course. Enjoyed my stay and will go again.

Reviewed by
E Henry

From Larne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service with a very clean and pleasant room, if a bit warm even with the window open. Restaurant was fine with helpful staff and a good menu selection. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
A McNicol

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sore back
been here at least six times enjoyed each visit apart from this timewere allocated room 106 security light from car park shone right into our room onto mirror doors kept awake because of it the bed in this room was brick hard and very uncomfortable gave wife and myself sore back ate the two nights in the restaurant food was really good same cant be said about breakfast milk for cereal was hot also first morning sausages burnt to a crisp totally different second morning feally nice maybe a change of chef reported this to agirl in reception when leaving waste of time as she wasnt interested shame really as it really is agood qaulity hotel which we enjoy going to will need to think twice about going back mainly because of staffs attitude it was if your opinion didnt really matter maybe a refresher on customer servic needed

Reviewed by
graeme v

From Bonnybridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip for one night
Very clean and comfortable room. Only stayed one night
Very nice staff very helpful. The breakfast was ok had a fry
Fry was disappointing and not very fast
My advice stick to cereal and fruit with maybe toast
Overall would stay again but wouldn't eat again

Reviewed by
David Downes

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from Home
Never any different
Rooms always spotless clean and fresh
Good soundproofing between rooms
Food is always consistant , well presented top quality
Best place after a long hard drive from the south to relax

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Knottingley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next