No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Old Loans Inn

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
MAIN STREET , Troon, KA10 7EX
Fantastic New Country Pub, Restaurant and Hotel - Now Open after 1.8million investment

The Old Loans Inn, Loved for many years for it's warm Scottish service and hearty fare has reopened it's doors after a major refurbishment as a 20 bedroom hotel. The new hotel enjoys all the comforts of a purpose built 21st century hotel without losing it's 18th century charm. Located in the pretty little village of Loans, just outside Troon, The Old Loans is ideally located for business, leisure and of course, the famous Ayrshire golf courses. Only a few minutes drive from Prestwick international airport, the Loans will offer everything the discerning golfer could ask, great traditional fare, warm and friendly service in our restaurant and bar and fantastic views over the Ayrshire coast.

Only minutes from Royal Troon Golf Club and a short drive from Turnberry, Loans is a great base to play two of the Open championship most famous courses and with too many great courses to mention just a short drive away Ayrshire offers a great golf get-away whatever your budget.

The Old Loans Inn, part of the privately owned SimpsInns hotel group based in the heart of Ayrshire, reached dizzy new heights this week after being announced as winner of the Scottish Licenses Trade News (SLTN) award in the category of "Best New Business" for 2010.
The much sought-after SLTN awards, now in their 15th year, identify stars of the hospitality industry with the category of "Best New Business" fiercely contested after organisers received hundreds of entries across Scotland.
Picture of Old Loans Inn, Troon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Old Loans, as always the accommodation is very good, nice comfortable bedrooms, with every facility in you could want during your stay.
The staff are very helpful, nothing too much for them.
Quality of food a very good standard, excellent breakfast with plenty of choice.
We will be back very soon.

Reviewed by
Helen Pepper

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay

Reviewed by
ZUZANA M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No internet
This is the second time we have stayed at Old Loans Inn. On both occasions we have found it to be very good. Friendly helpful staff & very pleasant surrounding’s. The only thing that really bugged me this time was the lack of Internet in the room. They do advertise Internet access in the bedrooms but frankly it just doesn’t work. I could connect to it with my phone & my laptop but one minute it worked & the next it was gone. I did complain twice but nothing changed. Some people may think it’s a miner thing & in some ways it is but if they advertise it, it should work. Other wise the hotel is first class & excellent food to boot

Reviewed by
N McFarland

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
Stayed for 1 night. Our double room was on the ground floor at the rear of the hotel. It had a king size bed which was very comfortable as well as extra pillows! Bathroom well equipped with nice toiletries. Staff very friendly and we found the service excellent. We had dinner in the restaurant which was very enjoyable and reasonably priced. Breakfast was great with a really good choice on the menu. Loans is very near to Troon (5 minute drive) and next time we visit will walk down to the beach instead of taking the car. We had a very relaxing stay and are already planning another visit.

Reviewed by
Jane M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a good choice!
The accommodation has quality written all over it! This must be one of the best places we have stayed at. Dinner and breakfast were fantastic. I would recommend this to anyone. If you are holidaying in ayreshire stay and eat there. If you are staying in the troon area , do not stay in troon itself, stay here!

Reviewed by
RONALD PEACOCK

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good choice
I would recommend this hotel. The rooms were first class and the staff attentive, with good food. As with many though, the drinks at the bar were, in my view, a little spiteful in the pricing !

Reviewed by
James H

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
All in all a very pleasant stay

Reviewed by
anthony palmer

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice overnight stay
My wife and I were most impressed by the standard of the accommodation. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and our breakfast was of high standard.
In conclusion we would not hesitate to re-book a stay in future.

Reviewed by
Stan Phillips

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yes you can have value, quality and service.....
Stayed at The Old Loans Inn 19th - 21st August 2014. and I can honestly say that we and our friends were impressed with the quality of the hotel. Our room and bathroom were both comfortably appointed. We ate in the in the hotel and found the food / service to be first class and prices to be fair.

Reviewed by
Alan N

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a pleasure
What a fantastic place!, we stayed for 3 nights. We have stayed in many hotels and this one was just the best. The hotel was spotless, warm and inviting. The food was exceptional and good value for money. The room was clean, large and bright. The seating outside just lovely.
The staff were brilliant, they just seemed to know what you needed, polite, friendly and attentive.
One little issue of tea bags not replaced but a call to reception and sorted in 4 minutes!
Can't wait to go back again.:)

Reviewed by
Helen L

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next