Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh > Edinburgh Fringe Festival Hotels > G&V Royal Mile Hotel (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - G&V Royal Mile Hotel (Formerly Hotel Missoni)

5Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1 George IV Bridge , Edinburgh, EH1 1AD

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Five-star luxury, with the warmest of welcomes. G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is a stunning, contemporary landmark, and the only five-star hotel on the historic Royal Mile, set in the heart of the Scottish capital. Iconic design characterised by our local Scottish, rich heritage. Think boutique, think comfort, think style, think G&V.

Dramatic black and white with splashes of inspired colour. Emphatic contrasts. Sublime comfort. Stand out touches in all 136 guest rooms and suites overlooking the ancient capital. Nespresso machines, i-pod docks, LCD TV’s, free high speed Internet and other truly desirable, modern indulgences.

With the award-winning Italian restaurant Cucina at its pulsing heart, showcasing Scottish sustenance. And brilliant Bar G&V as its playground from a morning latte to a late night G&V G&T.

An urban spa retreat, discreetly hidden away. Escape from the bustling city to pamper, polish and perfect. A vibrant, inspiring gym. Whether you’re training for a challenge, or using it as an escape.

Seamless service at every touch point whether it’s sensational spa treatments or memorable meetings and events. A myriad of excellent detail magically conceived and brought together by artistic alchemy and royal indulgence.
Picture of G&V Royal Mile Hotel (Formerly Hotel Missoni), Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 106 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality hotel
Good quality hotel, friendly reception staff, good location, mini bar was expensive so never used it, even coke was £3.50 a can and crisps £2.50 a packet!

ManagementResponse

Dear Michael M, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at G&V. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time with us in Edinburgh and I have made sure your feedback about our mini bar pricing has been noted to the senior management team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, James Archer, Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
Michael M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent Stay.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Clarke, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Laterooms. If you have any further feedback please do not hesitate to get in touch with me personally. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, James, Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
Tim Clarke

From Ledsham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel in a central location, will definitely stay here again.

ManagementResponse

Dear Ms Robinson, Thank you for your comments following your stay in October. I am delighted you had such a great time with us in Edinburgh. Please get in touch with me personally when you are planning a return and I will look after your reservation. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, James Archer, Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
E Robinson

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I expected to see Austin Powers round the corner
Lovely staff and food but the hotel looks like a set for an Austin Powers movie. A sliding mirror does not make a good bathroom door and the breakfast table is totally unsuitable for anyone with a hang-over!

ManagementResponse

Dear Philip, Thank you for your feedback especially about our staff here at G&V. We are very fortunate to have such a great team who care passionately about providing only the very best service for all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon, Kind regards, James Archer Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
Philip L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for the festival
Like all Edinburgh hotels, it is expensive during August but its location makes it easy to visit George/Bisto Sq venues and the Pleasance. It is a lovely hotel with a decent bar that does a good G and T. Rooms are well appointed and the atmosphere relaxed and friendly. It doesn't have the history of The Scotsman or other older hotels but it is more modern.

ManagementResponse

Dear J Newton, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay, we hope that you return sometime in the near future. Kind regards, James

Reviewed by
J Newton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only one problem, there were no curtains or blinds at the windows that you could actually close to.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mrs Gray, From your review, I believe you were allocate one of our lawnmarket rooms which is in our listed part of the hotel. Only a very small proportion of our rooms are located in this part of the hotel and these rooms have shutters and not curtains. I am sorry that this was not pointed out to you at the time and do hope this has not put you off coming back in the future. Please let me know if you are planning a return trip and I will look after your reservation,. Thank you for your feedback, Kind regards, James, Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
T Gray

From Atherstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location
However tiny room

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to read that you liked the location of the hotel. If you are planning a return trip please get in touch with me and I will make sure you are allocated a different room. Kind regards, James Archer, Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
X Xiao

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel and staff
Absolutely amazing stay at G&V. Have stayed here before when it was Missoni and worried it may have lost the specialness but all my fears were gone walking through the door and receiving a wonderful warm welcome. We received an upgraded and the views from the room over the castle where amazing . Enjoyed our stay the staff give a 5 star service and are always on hand to help out . Looking forward to our return stay in November to celebrate a special birthday.

ManagementResponse

Absolutely amazing stay at G&V. Have stayed here before when it was Missoni and worried it may have lost the specialness but all my fears were gone walking through the door and receiving a wonderful warm welcome. We received an upgraded and the views from the room over the castle where amazing . Enjoyed our stay the staff give a 5 star service and are always on hand to help out . Looking forward to our return stay in November to celebrate a special birthday. Thank you so much for your fabulous review following your stay. I am delighted to read that we were able to upgrade your room on arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back in November. Kind regards, James

Reviewed by
Y Henderson

From Lasswade, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
I spilt coffee on the bed sheets on the first night and I would have expected them to be replaced the next morning, they were not replaced in the three days we were there!! I expect better service for the price

ManagementResponse

Dear David, Please accept my apologies that your sheets were not replaced after you had spilt coffee on the first night. This certain is not our normal standards. I do hope you managed to speak to someone about your experience before you left the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to G&V sometime in the near future. If you would like to book again do get in touch with me personally, Kind regards, James

Reviewed by
DAVID T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wish we'd stayed longer!
Loved everything about G&V - from the stylish bar to the kilted doormen! Would definitely stay here again. All staff were friendly and welcoming - bar staff extremely knowledgable and helpful, especially with selecting cocktails! Our room was immaculate and the walk in shower was a particular highlight. Gym was reasonably well equipped but needs air conditioning! Other than that I found no fault with the hotel.

ManagementResponse

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Edinburgh and do hope that you plan a return trip in the future. Thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, James Archer Guest Services Manager

Reviewed by
Christy B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next