No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - pentahotel Birmingham

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ernest Street Holloway Head, Birmingham, B1 1NS
better because it’s Birmingham
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's raring to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all!

• 7 Floors, 131 bedrooms
• 2 meeting & event spaces
• Check-in: from 3 pm, Check-out: till 12 pm
• 25 parking spaces
• Local public transport: Birmingham New Street Station is within 10 minutes walk of the hotel
• Restaurant & Bar & Lounge in the hotel
• Safety deposit box at the reception
• Take it easy: Breakfast with more time for relaxation on every sunday until 11.00 am and free late check out until 3 pm
• Desk, telephone, 26-inch flat-screen TV, air conditioning, hair dryer and bath amenities in every room
• Free on-demand pay TV with Sky Sports and premium movie channels
• Copy machine and fax available
• Room service is available
• GYM
• Complimentary Wifi

SEVEN STOREYS OF RELAXATION
You may not be aware that Birmingham is home to over six million trees, yet just one pentahotel. We love trees, but we wouldn't dream of sleeping in one, so might we suggest that you hug them by all means, but sleep with us? Apart from the comfort of your pentaroom, everything else on each of our seven floors is wonderfully at ease as well. Our unique pentalounge was designed by star Italian architect Matteo Thun to be a restaurant, bar, meeting point and chill-out area all in one. You've never checked in to a more relaxed hotel reception, we promise.

Picture of pentahotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 186 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
The hotel is convenient for city centre and New Station . staff were friendly . Room was clean and comfortable ( except for the setee which was very uncomfortable ) . Good shower . Good value

Reviewed by
Keith B

From Chichester, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant imperfect
Ordered a double and got a twin. Did not bother to try and change it,
I thought parking was free but did not read small print.
TV needed fixing by member of staff.
Bathroom dark due to failed light bulb.
Quite pleasant nevertheless

Reviewed by
chris g

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For an executive room it was very basic and not worth even the half price paid.
Not happy paying £12.00 to park on the hotel grounds.

Reviewed by
J PALK

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded Expectations
The room and particularly the bathroom area were very modern and clean, far better than I was anticipating. The bed was comfortable and the shower was fantastic.
My only issue was that at 04:00 other guests returned from a night out and were shouting in the corridor, running up and down and banging on each others doors. I appreciate that it is not the hotels fault the other guests were rude and inconsiderate however the soundproofing between the room and hallway was not very good.

Reviewed by
Jonathan D

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

O2 Academy
The hotel is located conveniently for the O2 Academy & only a 10 minute walk from New Street Station. The rooms are clean and modern with the basics you would expect in any hotel. The bar is open 24 hours which is clean & modern and has a balcony outside for you to smoke or sit outside (dependent on weather). The dining area is also where the bar is and is a buffet style breakfast, consisting of the usual cereals, breads, yogurts, fruits and then the hot buffet, sausage, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, hash browns. beans, scrambled egg. Vegetarian sausages upon request. All self service including your drinks. Was ok think it depends on what time you get down there as the the food was luke warm. There is parking at the hotel but opposite saw another car park which was cheaper, so perhaps check there first. The staff are pleasant enough, check in & check out was quick, well for us. Would stay here again as it was value for money and close to all the amenities.

Reviewed by
r shone

From Worcester, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

parking facilities
Room and overall value for money however parking charges of £12.50 per night would have been better expressed on the initial booking. Staff were great and it was a fresh modern looking facility.

Reviewed by
B YEOMAN

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service
Excellent customer focus.
Very friendly staff who went the extra mile for us.

Reviewed by
John P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for money in the centre of Birmingham
We booked this room as an overnight stay when we were attending a Conference and Gala Dinner. Great location close to city centre and ICC. Room was clean and comfortable, staff were polite and helpful. Would use again.

Reviewed by
P Jones

From Shrewsbury, England
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
We were pleasantly surprised how comfy the room was, nice bed and pillows. Standard size, bathroom just about right. I took a fan with me as the weather was quite warm and was really glad I did as the cooling system was a bit noisy. However, we only discovered we could open the window the next morning! Staff were helpful and pleasant.

Reviewed by
Gail m

From Telford, England
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ramada Encore Birmingham City Centre
A good budget hotel, reasonably well located.

Reviewed by
a hendry

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.