No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - pentahotel Birmingham

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ernest Street Holloway Head, Birmingham, B1 1NS
better because it’s Birmingham
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's raring to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all!

• 7 Floors, 131 bedrooms
• 2 meeting & event spaces
• Check-in: from 3 pm, Check-out: till 12 pm
• 25 parking spaces
• Local public transport: Birmingham New Street Station is within 10 minutes walk of the hotel
• Restaurant & Bar & Lounge in the hotel
• Safety deposit box at the reception
• Take it easy: Breakfast with more time for relaxation on every sunday until 11.00 am and free late check out until 3 pm
• Desk, telephone, 26-inch flat-screen TV, air conditioning, hair dryer and bath amenities in every room
• Free on-demand pay TV with Sky Sports and premium movie channels
• Copy machine and fax available
• Room service is available
• GYM
• Complimentary Wifi

SEVEN STOREYS OF RELAXATION
You may not be aware that Birmingham is home to over six million trees, yet just one pentahotel. We love trees, but we wouldn't dream of sleeping in one, so might we suggest that you hug them by all means, but sleep with us? Apart from the comfort of your pentaroom, everything else on each of our seven floors is wonderfully at ease as well. Our unique pentalounge was designed by star Italian architect Matteo Thun to be a restaurant, bar, meeting point and chill-out area all in one. You've never checked in to a more relaxed hotel reception, we promise.

Picture of pentahotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 181 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too bad for the price
I'd stayed at the Ramada Encore before after getting a Secret Hotel deal and it was great. Big room, clean and an amazing comfortable bed.
This time we needed some more budget accommodation and we got what we paid for. The room was standard hotel room size which was about half the size of the previous room. It was very clean and nicely warm with a half decent view out of our sixth floor window.
There were two things that put a dent in our stay were the noisy neighbours (which as we were staying Saturday and Sunday night was to be expected) and the incredibly noisy bed! Every time we moved at all the bed made a terrible noisy. Hopefully the hotel will pick this up on regular maintenance checks. I think my other half filled in the comment card...
Overall though, this is probably one of the better hotels right in the city centre and I'll definitely be staying here again.

Reviewed by
Steven S

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Located on busy road twixt a strip club & massage parlour.

Reviewed by
Jane B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for mailbox town
Nice bar, room was very clean and comfy bed

Reviewed by
chris h

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet night
Service on arrival quick and simple, accommodation clean and spotless, room comfortable with tea or coffee supplied ,Wi-Fi and television .good value for money.Also late bar in hotel.

Reviewed by
james m

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid at all costs
A disappointed group of 8 of us stayed at the Ramada Encore Birmingham (2 of us having stayed in countless hotels as traveling reps).
This is by far the worst beds I and my party have ever had the misfortune to stay in, the rooms were not as cheap as some surrounding hotels that in hind sight we probably would have had a more comfortable stay for a more competitive rate but paid a little extra that we thought would secure us comfort.
The pillows were paper thin to add to the terrible bed experience, one member of our party arrived late to which we had comprehensively informed reception he would arrive, what his name was, which room number it was yet on his arrival they made it difficult for him to actually sign in.
The bar is over priced for drinks and food but service in the bar area is pretty good. Signing out was just handing the card key over not hope you enjoyed your stay have you got any comments.
This is by far the two worst night sleep we have ever endured and it puts me off not just this hotel but your whole chain, to add insult to injury in a twin room with the largest towel to dry after a shower was the size of a hand towel and the shower having no door makes the rest of the bathroom un-usable for several hours. "Room" service also asked us to go down to collect our food that had been ordered and had to change our order due to lack of what we requested.
We had high hopes in what we felt was a quality hotel but were left feeling deflated.

Reviewed by
s claessens

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
The hotel staff were very pleasant. The room was decent and value for money.
The hotel location isn't great but near to most places in the city centre.

Reviewed by
Salim M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very helpful & the accommodation was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
B Joshi

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
The hotel is convenient for city centre and New Station . staff were friendly . Room was clean and comfortable ( except for the setee which was very uncomfortable ) . Good shower . Good value

Reviewed by
Keith B

From Chichester, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant imperfect
Ordered a double and got a twin. Did not bother to try and change it,
I thought parking was free but did not read small print.
TV needed fixing by member of staff.
Bathroom dark due to failed light bulb.
Quite pleasant nevertheless

Reviewed by
chris g

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For an executive room it was very basic and not worth even the half price paid.
Not happy paying £12.00 to park on the hotel grounds.

Reviewed by
J PALK

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.