No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - pentahotel Birmingham

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ernest Street Holloway Head, Birmingham, B1 1NS
better because it’s Birmingham
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's raring to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all!

• 7 Floors, 131 bedrooms
• 2 meeting & event spaces
• Check-in: from 3 pm, Check-out: till 12 pm
• 25 parking spaces
• Local public transport: Birmingham New Street Station is within 10 minutes walk of the hotel
• Restaurant & Bar & Lounge in the hotel
• Safety deposit box at the reception
• Take it easy: Breakfast with more time for relaxation on every sunday until 11.00 am and free late check out until 3 pm
• Desk, telephone, 26-inch flat-screen TV, air conditioning, hair dryer and bath amenities in every room
• Free on-demand pay TV with Sky Sports and premium movie channels
• Copy machine and fax available
• Room service is available
• GYM
• Complimentary Wifi

SEVEN STOREYS OF RELAXATION
You may not be aware that Birmingham is home to over six million trees, yet just one pentahotel. We love trees, but we wouldn't dream of sleeping in one, so might we suggest that you hug them by all means, but sleep with us? Apart from the comfort of your pentaroom, everything else on each of our seven floors is wonderfully at ease as well. Our unique pentalounge was designed by star Italian architect Matteo Thun to be a restaurant, bar, meeting point and chill-out area all in one. You've never checked in to a more relaxed hotel reception, we promise.

Picture of pentahotel Birmingham, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 180 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birmingham stay
I'd never come across this chamber for, but would rate Pentahotel very highly. I guess the only downside was the cost of drinks at the bar. I thought the breakfast was far more imaginative than many "chain" hotels provide. Everything was extremely comfortable, and I enjoyed the whole ambience of the place. In many ways, it didn't seem like a hotel!

Reviewed by
O Dowding

From Wincanton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for city centre
A wacky hotel , but well thought out, comfortable with a superb breakfast. Ok so there are going to be some shortcomings for this price...but they do not spoil a very comfortable nights sleep, good shower, quiet rooms and a superb breakfast. Only small gripe was cost of wifi and tv reception was poor. Bt would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
simon c

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best breakfast ever!

Reviewed by
S Mace

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
Booked a double executive room and when I went into the room allocated it was a twin room! I Called reception/bar!! And had to go back down to get a new key for a new room but I went back up to my new room the key didn't work! So had to go back down again!! Also when I went to pay the card machine didn't work due to the machine being broken! Also the tv in the room had no sound on channel 4 and sky sports was advertised but it was itv 2. So overall not a great 1st impression especially as I wanted to try a different hotel compared to where I usually stay

Reviewed by
Paul Court

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room
The room was larger than some others i have stayed in, i liked the wet room type shower. However the hotel was being refurbed with dustsheets everywhere, spoilt it a bit, but breakfast good value for money. Bed was comfortable had a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Carol M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent, good value hotel, but......
.....I wasn't made aware of the refurbishment work taking place at the time of booking. I had stayed at the Ramada before, and returned for a second stay, having been impressed by the place the first time. On arrival, I discovered that the reception was sealed off from the public, and had to check -in at a temporary desk in the passageway...not a major problem in itself, but I only discovered that the bar, lounge and restaurant were also sealed off for refurbishments later when I attempted to go for a drink. This was NOT pointed out by the reception staff on arrival. A temporary bar had been set up in the small breakfast room....not a place where you would really want to relax with a drink. I went to the nearby hotel to use their lounge facilities instead.
If you're visiting Birmingham and want a good value hotel, I would recommend the Ramada Encore, but I would steer clear of the place until the refurbishments are complete. As for the hotel management, I was very disappointed not to have been made aware of the work taking place at the time of booking, as one of the criteria I used in my selection was that I liked the lounge and bar area, and looked forward to relaxing in it. If I had known the place was going to be closed I would have gone elsewhere. Very naughty.

Reviewed by
brian ritson

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

modern and value for money
Nice modern rooms, value for money. 5 min walk into the centre of Birmingham. Really good

Reviewed by
Jason W

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nicely situated for the city, clean, quiet and comfortable and for a pensioner, the price was right.
It's a pity that customer's were not informed in advance about the refurbishment of the hotel restaurant and bar area. I use both when travelling because I'm nervous about going out after dark.
The intermediary facility on offer was not particularly nice. One other little suggestion, please alter the TV clocks to British Winter Time. I set my early morning call to 05.00 am and the alarm sounded at 04.00 am. I lost an hours sleep at that dreadful time of the morning and was not amused.
The staff were very friendly and helpful at checkout and carried my bag to the outside of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Gerald M

From Germany
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is undergoing improvements but they looked after us very well indeed.

Reviewed by
David R

From Deeside, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location bar and restaurant being refurb end looking nice ,near to Mailbox

Reviewed by
Bruce M

From Sidcup, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next