No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - pentahotel Birmingham City Centre

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ernest Street Holloway Head, Birmingham, B1 1NS
better because it’s Birmingham
We're less than a mile from the city centre, but a million miles away from the usual. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, welcome to the pentahotel Birmingham. Just the tonic for the weary traveller, or the visitor who's raring to go. Perfectly positioned to jump-start your visit to England's Second City. In fact pentahotel is much like Birmingham itself: relaxed, confident in its unique personality and right in the middle of it all!

• 7 Floors, 131 bedrooms
• 2 meeting & event spaces
• Check-in: from 3 pm, Check-out: till 12 pm
• 25 parking spaces
• Local public transport: Birmingham New Street Station is within 10 minutes walk of the hotel
• Restaurant & Bar & Lounge in the hotel
• Safety deposit box at the reception
• Take it easy: Breakfast with more time for relaxation on every sunday until 11.00 am and free late check out until 3 pm
• Desk, telephone, 26-inch flat-screen TV, air conditioning, hair dryer and bath amenities in every room
• Free on-demand pay TV with Sky Sports and premium movie channels
• Copy machine and fax available
• Room service is available
• GYM
• Complimentary Wifi

SEVEN STOREYS OF RELAXATION
You may not be aware that Birmingham is home to over six million trees, yet just one pentahotel. We love trees, but we wouldn't dream of sleeping in one, so might we suggest that you hug them by all means, but sleep with us? Apart from the comfort of your pentaroom, everything else on each of our seven floors is wonderfully at ease as well. Our unique pentalounge was designed by star Italian architect Matteo Thun to be a restaurant, bar, meeting point and chill-out area all in one. You've never checked in to a more relaxed hotel reception, we promise.

Picture of pentahotel Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 180 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was if high quality and clean and check in was easy and fast

Reviewed by
A Clarke

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was lovely and clean, and the staff were very friendly. Can't fault it.

Reviewed by
Mandy L

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

average at best
Expensive not as close to Birmingham city center as stated no air con poor size of room and toilet kept filling with water constantly witch kept us bith a wake and not the most helpful staff on site also my partner is disabled and we had to pay extra to park even with a blue badge not acceptable in my eyes.will say bar staff were excellent very helpful and polite

Reviewed by
J Neesham

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Arm Still Hurts
Upon arrival I tried to gain entry to the carpark. As I drove my car in I sensed the shutter was not sufficiently open. Then the shutter began to close on me. I reached out through my drivers side window to try and stop the shutter from damaging my car. I held the remote shutter up until my wife managed to tell reception (who have a camera angled on the door) to open the shutter again and fully. When the panic was over I got out of my car worried that I had hurt my arm very badly. Eventually, when we checked in at reception, I told the receptionist about what had happened and that my arm was hurt. She apologised but left it at that. A month later, my arm still hurts, a muscular strain. In hindsight I think the hotel should have tried to help me in some way or at least tried to cheer me up with some cost reduction. I should probably have taken photographs, demanded they get me a doctor and sued them for neglect and endangerment. the rooms my family stayed in were ok, nothing great, and the area around the hotel felt unsafe from about 7pm.

Reviewed by
Brian M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking service
From arrival not a good experience. There was a lady at the front desk who ignored are arrival for at least 5 minutes (no eye contact, smile or acknowledgement at all). She eventually leant through a door behind her and made some sort of hand signal to someone before walking off. My friend and I had requested a twin room, a double was waiting for us. After I had been asked to prove I had asked for a twin (luckily my paperwork did verify) we were changed to a single. Decided to get some lunch there- no staff evident at all so we sat and waited. Eventually got served- from the already very limited menu available more was not available so we opted for a sandwich and a salad. After a 25 minute wait we were told we would have to wait longer as they needed to cook the chicken for the salad! We were the only customers so how was this taking so long! That evening, again a limited menu and was told couldnt have a burger because the barman would have to cook it so ended up ordering out! The only saving grace was a lovely lady on reception when I needed to go home for a family emergency and leave the room key for my friend. The opposite to the rest of the service. A shame about the rest of the staff!

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay at the encore
This hotel met customer expectations perfectly dinner was a bit average receptionist was fantastic as he got us tickets to see the LION KING at the theatre and a taxi room very good for the money and breakfast was very good as well

Reviewed by
peter s

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best nights stay
enjoyed thoroughly :D

Reviewed by
S Tildesley

From Tamworth, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor customer service & rooms smelt of smoke
Room smelt of smoke had to move it was that bad & soap in room was empty. Tried to book a extra room it was advertised on a web site bt was refused to have it @ that price by reception

Reviewed by
K Morris

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value rooms.
Done through the late rooms got the room for half the price so great value. Room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the shower had plenty of room. Didn't try the food but there is plenty of restaurants a reasonable walk away if you want to get out for food.

Reviewed by
M Parsons

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay
Booked and paid for by card over internet. Booked and paid for by my mother as a treat on my return for the summer from my teaching job in Egypt. Room was great, lots of extras. Fantastic value for money. Food at breakfast well presented and cooked to perfection! Can't fault hotel or service at all.

Reviewed by
catherine joel

From Burnham on Sea, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next