Reviews - pentahotel Birmingham


Ernest Street Holloway Head, Birmingham, B1 1NS

Price From 311.19 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (115)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Rachel B

  • March 2014

Fantastic breakfast, nice modern looking hotel

I stayed for one night as I was doing some training for work at the weekend.

The staff were very friendly on arrival, and the hotel bar looked lovely although as I was on my own I didn't stop for a drink. The room was nice, nice touch of a bottle of water on bedside table and lovely massive tv screen. The shower and bathroom was very clean and looked nice, no bath though just a shower. There was a place that looked like a brothel just cross the road which was a little worrying but just made sure I stayed near to the hotel when having a cigarette by myself. Overall a lovely stay - breakfast buffet was included which was great.

  • Demi Bradford

  • March 2014

Brilliant one night stay!

My partner and I stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it.

The atmosphere is cosy and relaxed, with sofa's, TV's, a PS4 and free pool tables to keep you entertained in the brilliantly decorated communal area. The staff are also very friendly and helpful and can't do enough for you. My only complaints would be the creakiness of the beds - every slight movement would make a sound which then can be very disturbing during the night if, for example you needed to get up and go to the toilet. And secondly, the shower. For a new hotel you would expect a more powerful shower as the one in our en-suite was definitely not that. However, minus these two small factors, we would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay there again in the future. Brilliant value for money in a lovely hotel!

  • S Nazir

  • March 2014

Different but not in a good way. Tried hard but failed on most levels

I normally stay in the big chains such as Jury's Inn or Novetel and fancied a change.

The staff were reasonably accomodating by allowing me to check in early, but most hotels will these days. The picture on their website suggest luxury business and I had booked executive rooms for my colleagues and myself. Laminate flooring, no bath and the shower was low pressure, very plasticated furniture, mattresss was very soft. The TV channels kept resetting which prevented me from watching anything. The breakfast at £14.99 was expensive for what it was. Better than average selection, but very cramped buffet area made it uncomfortable and I did not appreciate having to ask for cups and serve my own tea at that price. Five star hotels in London charge a third less and offer to tea/coffee and toast served to your table on arrival. Stick to the chains if you are in Birmingham, I suspect this won't be around much longer.

  • paul r

  • March 2014

Great Find

This hotel was trendy and had reasonable on site parking.

The staff were extremely welcoming , very efficient and informing , it was very clear that they wanted to give the guests a great experience. Reception was manned 24 hours and the advice to take advantage of breakfast was very good. I needed to get away early and it was ready at 6.30am with a fantastic selection all freshly cooked and the croissant freshly baked. If I was to be really critical the bathroom in the room could have been a little cleaner , but that would definitely not stop me using this hotel again and I look forward to doing so when needing to stay in Birmingham next time. It will definitely be first choice.

  • Mick D

  • March 2014

Why the poor TV choice?

Hotel entirely as I expected.

Staff were helpful and the room was clean.

This and other hotels have a very limited selection of TV channels available. As freeview is universally available why are the rooms stuck with such a poor selection.

The breakfast was expensive enough (I was quoted £15) to avoid and the kettle in the room didn't work.

  • C Novakovic

  • March 2014

Penta Hotel - 1 night Stay

Slightly annoyed when we arrived at the lack of parking, had to park 5 mins walk on pay and display.

Room was quite basic for the amount we paid, however the hotel bar/chill out area was just what we wanted & we'll be returning for this alone.

Staff we're friendly and the breakfast is worth paying for.

  • simon c

  • February 2014

good value for city centre

A wacky hotel , but well thought out, comfortable with a superb breakfast.

Ok so there are going to be some shortcomings for this price...but they do not spoil a very comfortable nights sleep, good shower, quiet rooms and a superb breakfast. Only small gripe was cost of wifi and tv reception was poor. Bt would definitely stay again.

  • O Dowding

  • February 2014

Birmingham stay

I'd never come across this chamber for, but would rate Pentahotel very highly.

I guess the only downside was the cost of drinks at the bar. I thought the breakfast was far more imaginative than many "chain" hotels provide. Everything was extremely comfortable, and I enjoyed the whole ambience of the place. In many ways, it didn't seem like a hotel!

  • S Mace

  • December 2013

Best breakfast ever!

  • Paul Court

  • December 2013

My stay

Booked a double executive room and when I went into the room allocated it was a twin room.

I Called reception/bar!. And had to go back down to get a new key for a new room but I went back up to my new room the key didn't work. So had to go back down again!. Also when I went to pay the card machine didn't work due to the machine being broken. Also the tv in the room had no sound on channel 4 and sky sports was advertised but it was itv 2. So overall not a great 1st impression especially as I wanted to try a different hotel compared to where I usually stay