No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Quality Accommodation, Restuarant & Bar

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
HIGH STREET, KIRTON IN LINDSEY , GAINSBOROUGH, DN21 4LX
The George offers a bustling and inviting pub, personally run by experienced owners. We deliver generous portions of professionally executed and flavourful cooking.

Our 4 star rated bedrooms are decorated to a high standard, all within keeping to the historical building. All 6 rooms are warm and comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. After a great night’s sleep you can start your day with a breakfast cooked fresh to order, using only the best quality produce.

Dating back to the 17th century, The George is an old coaching inn that has provided refreshment and shelter for hundreds of years. The George is committed to sourcing as much local and seasonal produce as possible. However, first and foremost it is quality that counts whether you dine from our traditional bar menu or from our specials board.
Picture of The George Quality Accommodation, Restuarant & Bar, GAINSBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant service for a great price
Lovely reception by the owners, lovely accommodation and fabulous breakfast overall delighted with my stay there.

Reviewed by
C Sheehy

From Tralee, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly atmosphere
The George is a lovely village pub with accommodation
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and dinner and breakfast were both very generous and delicious
I'm booked in again next week!

Reviewed by
David Youngs

From Edenbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place close to Lincoln.
It is only 30 mins from Lincoln by car. It's a good quite restaurant pub. Great food and great hosts. We took the meal deal room rate and it was well worth it. Fine dining at its best. Great communications too always happy to help and great trip advice too.

Reviewed by
C Gunn

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
In need of renovation, the sign is practically falling down. Musty smell but the room was fine. Not value for money can get a comfortable stay in a much smarter hotel cheaper

Reviewed by
rachel p

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of character
We enjoyed our stay at the George - very comfortable bed, very good food, friendly service both at table and at reception.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden Gem
This old coaching inn has tons of character and charm. The rooms are well appointed but manage to keep the atmosphere befitting it's age. Not modern and sterile but more cosy and homely. Warmly greeted on arrival and made to feel at home immediately. Given own key for entrance so freedom to come and go at will. Beds very comfortable and clean. Restaurant downstairs is great. Food is well cooked and brilliant value for money. Drinks very reasonable served by courteous and helpful staff finish to off the package. The village is quaint with shops, Chinese, Indian, Fish and chip shop on hand for alternatives. If you like bright and modern hotels this may change your mind to the olde English coaching it it once was. Go and try it.....you shouldn''t be disappointed..!!

Reviewed by
Craig Newton

From Choppington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not to shabby
Staying here was pretty nice on the special offer nice little place trying to be shabby chic the food was really nice however I wouldn't pay the full price for the room.

Reviewed by
R Crawford

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming
We stayed in the top floor apartment (3 bedrooms and bathroom) which was clean and spacious. Musty smell on arrival, but opening the windows soon cleared this. Plenty of sachets for drinks available. Staff friendly and breakfasts ample.

Reviewed by
J Clarke

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly b&b room was lovely and comfortable. 2 down sides one the shower wasn't easy to use. And we had a towel on arrival to room however no clean change of towels.

Reviewed by
R Aslett

From Tilbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly reception
Very clean and reasonably priced

Reviewed by
K Puplett

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next