No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stratton House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
GLOUCESTER ROAD , CIRENCESTER, GL7 2LE
Stratton House Hotel combines traditional elegance and style with modern amenities. The hotel is close to the center of Cirencester, the recognized capital of the Cotswolds. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the hotel.

Stratton House Hotel has a warm restful atmosphere that envelopes you immediately. The peaceful Drawing room beckons you to sit and contemplate the beautiful walled gardens that it overlooks. The Oak Room bar with its old oak parquet-floors and enormous fireplace, is an ideal meeting place to see old friends and new, over a drink before Lunch or Dinner. The Restaurant is a warm and enticing dining room that compliments the exquisitely prepared fresh English cuisine for which the Stratton House Hotel is renowned.

Picture of Stratton House Hotel, CIRENCESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very amenable and we are very grateful!
Didn't get to the hotel till nearly 10 pm but the chef provided us with scampi and chips which went down a treat; much appreciated seeing the restaurant final order was 8.30! Staff were very helpful and the hotel was clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
colin d

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful place to stay quiet and restfull and the staff were excellent and extremely courteous

Reviewed by
H Jeffery

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

service/location
Very pleasant stay, excellent service, nice breakfast.convenient for cotswolds visit,

Reviewed by
DAWN NUTTALL

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really good hotel to break the journey, or fo a short visiting holiday.
Stratton house is in an ideal spot for visiting the area. Close to main road and Cirencester, Cheltenham and Gloucster. Very quiet surroundings with a croquet lawn and gardens. A spacious, old house, nice and warm, mostly. There was a problem with radiators in our bathroom, probably because it hasn't been cold enough to test them yet!
Food was very good, well presented, hot and no long waits. Only disappointment was coffee out of a machine, no cafetières!
We found the staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
D Hearn

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and plenty of parking
We only stayed for one night. For our evening meal, we ate in the bar - the food was adequate but not worth the price. Wine was also overpriced for the quality. We had a superior room which was clean and very spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would not have wanted to stay longer as there was little to do in the local area on foot and it is somewhere which seems to suit older guests (we were clearly the youngest there at the time we stayed and we are in our late forties!). To reach nearest amenities requires a car but at least there is ample on site parking.

Reviewed by
D Couch

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely, comfortable and friendly hotel
A very warm welcome and we found the
Breakfast perfect .

Reviewed by
Susan H

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to a university open day
Our stay in the end was very comfotable and clean after the hotel staff finally put us at the front of a hotel in a warm room. Prior to that we had been put at the back in a freezing cold room and offered a heater as a starter to get the room warm. Eventually the manageress took notice and moved us to a lovely room where the television did not work. However we wanted a warm room so we managed without the television. I was offered a morning paper but it never came. The food was very tasty but the menu board was out of date so we had to adapt our order. All in all very sleepy and lethargic staff.

Reviewed by
C Dracup

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel has potential but not living up to it
The hotel is not in walking distance of Cirencester (10 min drive). Externally it looks a solid older property. Internally the reception and lounge areas are dated and depressing. Furniture looks reclaimed from the properties previous use, probably a home for the elderly. The first room we were given smelt so badly impregnated with stale smoke that we could not stay there, it also had a huge bathroom fitted out with 'help' bars which looked as if it belonged in a hospital. Very depressing. The alternate room was large and comfortable but dated with flowery wallpaper, the shower had soap from the previous occupant. Breakfast was dull, pre-fried eggs and fatty sausages and bacon. Reception staff were helpful and friendly but I would not choose to stay in this tired hotel again.

Reviewed by
Sylvia A

From Windlesham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review

Reviewed by
John Doyle

From Vacaville, USA
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A delightful weekend break
We were attending a celebration at a friends church and decided to explore Cirencester and the Cotswolds at the same time. We enjoyed our stay at Stratton house. We were given a warm welcome by the staff. our room was large and comfortable. We only ate breakfasts at the hotel but these were very good. A bonus for us was to have a bath as well as a shower.

Reviewed by
Roger S

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next