No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stratton House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
GLOUCESTER ROAD , CIRENCESTER, GL7 2LE
Stratton House Hotel combines traditional elegance and style with modern amenities. The hotel is close to the center of Cirencester, the recognized capital of the Cotswolds. Free Wi-Fi is provided throughout the hotel.

Stratton House Hotel has a warm restful atmosphere that envelopes you immediately. The peaceful Drawing room beckons you to sit and contemplate the beautiful walled gardens that it overlooks. The Oak Room bar with its old oak parquet-floors and enormous fireplace, is an ideal meeting place to see old friends and new, over a drink before Lunch or Dinner. The Restaurant is a warm and enticing dining room that compliments the exquisitely prepared fresh English cuisine for which the Stratton House Hotel is renowned.

Picture of Stratton House Hotel, CIRENCESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old hotel with large room, very helpful, friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey A

From Lutterworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty Bathroom
The first impression of the hotel is that is it very like an old peoples home, lots of high backed chairs packed into the lounge area, everything a little shabby and worn. The room was in the newer part of the hotel, it was large but very dark, the bathroom was small and the shower and fittings old fashioned, with an awful plastic shower curtain. The room was dirty.....the carpet was gritty and grubby, the furniture had lots of stains where it hadn't been cleaned properly, but the worse was the bathroom. The toilet hadn't been cleaned and was full of the previous occupants waste!!! The sink was covered in coffee stains and had obviously not been cleaned. We had to be out quickly or would have requested another room, we complained, and they had apparently cleaned the bathroom while we were out but it didn't look much better. At the very least I would expect a clean room when I stay at an hotel, I do not expect to have to clean the bathroom!!! The breakfast staff were pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Sandra H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I should have mentioned my concerns to staff whilst there
At dinner I suffered the enduring dread of the forgotten, overlooked, lone female guest. I spend up to 3 nights away from home every week so you would think I was hardened to this, but no. Luckily I was engrossed in a really good book so didn't get cross and pompous, nor did i feel up to whining about it to the very nice receptionist. The room was perfectly lovely, with 2 easy chairs and a four poster.

Reviewed by
b bateman

From Axminster, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good standard of accommodation, would use again.

Reviewed by
E Fallows

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a few days last week and we were not disappointed. Our room was large, light, spacious and airy and above all immaculately clean. We had big bay windows overlooking the large front lawn which was glorious to wake up to. Staff were friendly, polite and helpful. Our breakfast was freshly cooked for us each morning and of good quality food, the scrabbled eggs were especially tasty. The building itself has lots of character and is decorated in a traditional manner. If you are looking for somewhere modern and minimal this wouldn't be for you, but if like us, you like a building to have character and an interesting interior this is definitely worth a stay. Some of the furniture and paintings are beautiful. The grounds are stunning and well kept and there is a lovely sun lounge looking out onto the garden. The location itself is approximately 20 minutes walk into Cirencester and has a good bus route to other local attractions/places. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
S M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay .
This was the worst room I have stayed in. The room itself was not of the size portrayed on the hotels website. However the main problems of room number 5 were (1) the location with the outlook straight onto an small enclosed courtyard area at the bottom of which was the hotel kitchen with its associated noises that went on up to nearly midnight and started again with preparations for breakfast and (2) the sound of a large fan mechanism which ran til nearly midnight and then starting up again at 4 am. Also the shower did not work properly which meant the water temperature could not be controlled so it was either too hot or ran cold.


Reviewed by
A Bingham

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very tired hotel
We were not sure if the bed linnen had been changed from. Previous guest as the pillows were very creased ,as were the bed duvet
The waste bin still hadthe content of previous occupent. The bathroom floor was dirty, as the sample of stained cloth i produced at reception was evidence.
There was a bottle of bleach sitting on top of the toilet seat.what a shame it was not put to more use.

Reviewed by
Dianne Renshaw

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay at Stratton House Hotel. As older guests the facilities suited us well. Plumbing was idiosyncratic.

Reviewed by
Kathryn Pritchett

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant, peaceful non- chain hotel
Hotel restaurant looks out on to lovely garden. Food was good, staff friendly . We stayed 2 nights, breaking a journey to and from the West Country, so had two different rooms, both "standard". Comfortable, but a bit dated. Biscuits supplied with the tea tray - always a plus! We liked this hotel, but some might find the decor too "tired". The more expensive rooms might well be better. There are quite steep stairs, and no lift . Not a problem for us, but could be for others.

Reviewed by
Sally B

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary
this was surprise trip for my wife and didn't disappoint. Terrace and Garden peaceful and relaxing. Lounge comfy and quiet. Staff accomadating and friendly. Drinks in bar and wine with meal a bit expensive

Reviewed by
David Bremner

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next