Reviews - Stratton House Hotel



Price From 139.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (46)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Lesley D

  • October 2015

Everything about the hotel and staff was wonderful BUT the bed was horrendously hard.

We like a firm mattress but this was impossible to sleep on. Ended up using the duvet and pillows as a mattress topper in order to get some well needed sleep. All guest beds should be slept on by staff before used by paying guests

  • maureen bint

  • February 2015

Must go again

This hotel was fantastic the staff were so friendly and helpful.

We had a great room and it was very clean. We ate at the hotel and I have to say for twenty pound a head what a fantastic meal we had three courses and coffee and mints after. first class menu, don't know how they do it. Good job guys would recommend to everyone. We will go back again.

  • C Dracup

  • December 2014

Visit to a university open day

Our stay in the end was very comfotable and clean after the hotel staff finally put us at the front of a hotel in a warm room.

Prior to that we had been put at the back in a freezing cold room and offered a heater as a starter to get the room warm. Eventually the manageress took notice and moved us to a lovely room where the television did not work. However we wanted a warm room so we managed without the television. I was offered a morning paper but it never came. The food was very tasty but the menu board was out of date so we had to adapt our order. All in all very sleepy and lethargic staff.

  • colin d

  • November 2014

very amenable and we are very grateful!

Didn't get to the hotel till nearly 10 pm but the chef provided us with scampi and chips which went down a treat; much appreciated seeing the restaurant final order was 8.30.

Staff were very helpful and the hotel was clean and tidy.

  • H Jeffery

  • November 2014

A wonderful place to stay quiet and restfull and the staff were excellent and extremely courteous

  • C Chambers

  • November 2014

This was the first time I had stayed at this hotel and I loved it.

Room was cosy, food was lovely and it was an all-round pleasurable experience. Would definitely stay again.

  • D Hearn

  • November 2014

A really good hotel to break the journey, or fo a short visiting holiday.

Stratton house is in an ideal spot for visiting the area.

Close to main road and Cirencester, Cheltenham and Gloucster. Very quiet surroundings with a croquet lawn and gardens. A spacious, old house, nice and warm, mostly. There was a problem with radiators in our bathroom, probably because it hasn't been cold enough to test them yet. Food was very good, well presented, hot and no long waits. Only disappointment was coffee out of a machine, no cafetières. We found the staff very friendly and helpful.


  • October 2014


Very pleasant stay, excellent service, nice breakfast.convenient for cotswolds visit,

  • D Couch

  • October 2014

Friendly staff and plenty of parking

We only stayed for one night.

For our evening meal, we ate in the bar - the food was adequate but not worth the price. Wine was also overpriced for the quality. We had a superior room which was clean and very spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would not have wanted to stay longer as there was little to do in the local area on foot and it is somewhere which seems to suit older guests (we were clearly the youngest there at the time we stayed and we are in our late forties!). To reach nearest amenities requires a car but at least there is ample on site parking.

  • Susan H

  • October 2014

What a lovely, comfortable and friendly hotel A very warm welcome and we found the Breakfast perfect .