No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Windmill

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
HULL ROAD , YORK, YO19 5LP
A friendly relaxing welcome awaits you at The Windmill, Dunnington, York.

Open all day, every day, The Windmill is the perfect setting for a quick drink, a bite to eat or for an evening out.

We serve a large selection of lagers, fine ales, ciders and Guinness along with an extensive range of spirits, soft drinks and red and white house wines, available by the glass or the bottle.

Whatever the weather, dine in our conservatory or during the summer, relax and enjoy our large beer garden where the children can play.

Our bed and breakfast accommodation is finished to a very high standard and consists of five double rooms and five twin rooms, one of which has disabled access. This ground floor bedroom also has the benefit of an audio/visual siren in case of emergencies.

All our rooms are non-smoking areas and are en-suite with shower, complimentary toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, TV and hairdryer. Room rates include a freshly cooked full Yorkshire breakfast served on piping hot plates. A vegetarian breakfast is also available.

Food is available every day from 12.00pm to 9.00pm; we do get very busy! If you require an evening meal please ring or e-mail to reserve a table, without a restaurant booking a table can not be guaranteed.
Picture of The Windmill, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
We have stayed at the Wimndmill twice and both times have been highly satisfied. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is good and ample. The rooms are compact but tastefully furnished with comfortable beds, adequate storage and a generous welcome tray. The en suite was immaculate, shiny chrome, a super shower and not a trace of mould. We would recommend the Windmill to anyone who wants good value accommodation and food in quiet surroundings close to the vibrant city of York. The park and ride is only a mile or so up the road.

Reviewed by
Ann W

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Rooms we're clean and modern,staff excellent,nothing was a problem,food was excellent,had nice evening meal,popular for meals place was full,breakfast very nice,would recommend to anybody visiting York and surrounding areas.we will be back in future,thankyou to owners and all the staff for a enjoyable stay.
Dave Morris

Reviewed by
david morris

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money and staff friendly and helpful. Both breakfast and evening meals good and the restaurant seems to be extremely popular with locals. So close to the Park & Ride which is great. Only downside is that there is no extract in the bathroom, therefore quite steamy. Would recommend to anyone for a stay in York or surrounding area.

Reviewed by
Robert B

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

windmill
A great place to stay for York, park & ride just a short drive up the road, very convenient for sveral attractions. Breakfast was good, we had evening meals which were also very tasty. Clean place, room a bit on small side but adequate, even got assortment of sweets amongst the biscuits & drinks in room. Would definitely stay here again

Reviewed by
I Fisher

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely stay at The Windmill would hope to go back again soon

Reviewed by
c millis

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay - short notice
I was visiting client in Hull on Friday evening, with a visit to Hull the following morning. Booked on-line at short notice. Saw The Windmill and suitably impressed with previous comments and website pictures.
I arrived at just after 9pm (previous meeting ran on!) and was unfortunatley too late for dinner. However, staff very quickly rustled up a sandwich for me and a pint - more than happy !
The Menu looked extensive and, judging from the people who were there at that time and those that were re-booking before they left, must be nice - Ill try and get there earlier next time to sample !
Rooms in separate block to pub/dining room and would appear to be newly decorated/fitted. My room spotless and a nice bed for a restful sleep. Tea/coffe/biscuits etc all as standard. Shower nice, powerful and hot.
Stayed in bar area for what was left of evening. Bar staff (you know who you are !) very helpful and chatty when not serving. Makes a change these days to be spoken to, rather than just "erm and yeah" with the ocassional nod of the head !!
Breakfast (full English) fantastic - cooked to order - hot and tasty.
All-in-all great experience. My only little quibble would be price. Thinking £60 rather than £75 but only a minor issue

Reviewed by
Ashley Hewitt

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
We stayed here as we had a wedding reception in York. It was a lovely little place to stay and the staff were very welcoming. We checked in and the lady at reception showed us to our room and explained the features it was nice and we were made to feel very comfortable! Breakfast in the morning was great my husband was impressed.

Reviewed by
L Groves

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great find
A very friendly and welcoming hot with great food and a good pint

Reviewed by
I Warren

From West Wickham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and homely.
Close to York centre, which is easily accessed from the nearby Grimston Bar "Park and Ride" (other side of the A64). A comfortable place to stay. The Landlord, Landlady and all the pub staff are very friendly and helpful. Good helpings of lovely food, and no pressure to "eat up and get out". Their fantastic "Windmill breakfast" sets you up for the day!

Reviewed by
M Brewer

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good accomodation
good standard of room with excellant service. The evening meal and breakfast were very good. Good location for access to York.

Reviewed by
G WILKINSON

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next