Reviews - The Windmill



Price From 253.93 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Wayne O

  • April 2015

Mixture of good and bad at the Windmill

We came up for a family funeral 1st thing the next morning.

We booked on line via Late Rooms and stated we would be there at 10pm, (due to prior commitments and distance to travel), however at 9.30pm we were being chased by phone "as they were now closing". We arrived just after 10pm to find the place full of staff, setting up for the following day, so the chase call was a bit of a mystery. We were accommodated on the ground floor of the refurbished 1980s hotel block at the rear of the restaurant. It is a shame that the corridor doors and floors all squeak as it detracts from an otherwise decent building. The room was lovely and clean with high-quality chunky wooden furniture, BUT the double bed was hopeless for me as I am over 6' tall and I didn't sleep well with my ankles sticking out the bottom of the duvet. Not sure why a double bed as there was plenty of room for a king sized one. The en-suite positively sparkled, but the shower was nasty... with black mould all round the base and in the corners, but the main issue was the collapsed floor under the tray, (presumably due to rot). When the shower was used, the tray sagged and the doors came open, letting water everywhere. The extractor fan had also failed, adding to the ideal warm, damp conditions for rot. Not good. The full-Yorkshire breakfast in the morning was superb, without any of the usual pool of grease on the plate. I'm not sure about the cling film on the sugar bowl though. On the down side, the cleaner was vacuuming the breakfast room while we were eating, before doing the empty function room to the rear, instead of the other way round. I had to smile when we returned for the wake after the funeral... there in the middle of the dining room floor was that vacuum cleaner again. I went to the bar for 4 soft drinks and the first squirt of the soda nozzle shot a load of black bugs into the glass... nasty. On the plus side, the staff are great; friendly, cheerful and eager to please. Would we stay there again. Probably not... there are far too many issues that should have been sorted out before the customers arrived.

  • J Dexter

  • January 2015

The Windmill

Excellent place to stay.

Friendly staff, excellent food & excellent accommodation.

  • Philip Holgate

  • December 2014

Best place weve ever stayed in

  • N Taylor

  • November 2014

Amazing place to stay!!!

Myself and my husband stayed here to do a weekend of Christmas shopping in York without the children.

What a lovely place it was...... The room was spotless, the bathroom sparkled and facilities were superb!. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was beautiful (such big portions). We will be booking ourselves in same time next year and bringing the children through for Sunday lunch in the mean time!

  • Ann W

  • October 2014

Excellent value

We have stayed at the Wimndmill twice and both times have been highly satisfied.

The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is good and ample. The rooms are compact but tastefully furnished with comfortable beds, adequate storage and a generous welcome tray. The en suite was immaculate, shiny chrome, a super shower and not a trace of mould. We would recommend the Windmill to anyone who wants good value accommodation and food in quiet surroundings close to the vibrant city of York. The park and ride is only a mile or so up the road.

  • david morris

  • October 2014

Excellent value

Rooms we're clean and modern,staff excellent,nothing was a problem,food was excellent,had nice evening meal,popular for meals place was full,breakfast very nice,would recommend to anybody visiting York and surrounding areas.we will be back in future,thankyou to owners and all the staff for a enjoyable stay.

Dave Morris

  • Robert B

  • September 2014

Very good value for money and staff friendly and helpful.

Both breakfast and evening meals good and the restaurant seems to be extremely popular with locals. So close to the Park & Ride which is great. Only downside is that there is no extract in the bathroom, therefore quite steamy. Would recommend to anyone for a stay in York or surrounding area.

  • I Fisher

  • July 2014


A great place to stay for York, park & ride just a short drive up the road, very convenient for sveral attractions.

Breakfast was good, we had evening meals which were also very tasty. Clean place, room a bit on small side but adequate, even got assortment of sweets amongst the biscuits & drinks in room. Would definitely stay here again

  • c millis

  • May 2014

Had a lovely stay at The Windmill would hope to go back again soon

  • Ashley Hewitt

  • March 2014

Overnight stay - short notice

I was visiting client in Hull on Friday evening, with a visit to Hull the following morning.

Booked on-line at short notice. Saw The Windmill and suitably impressed with previous comments and website pictures. I arrived at just after 9pm (previous meeting ran on!) and was unfortunatley too late for dinner. However, staff very quickly rustled up a sandwich for me and a pint - more than happy . The Menu looked extensive and, judging from the people who were there at that time and those that were re-booking before they left, must be nice - Ill try and get there earlier next time to sample . Rooms in separate block to pub/dining room and would appear to be newly decorated/fitted. My room spotless and a nice bed for a restful sleep. Tea/coffe/biscuits etc all as standard. Shower nice, powerful and hot. Stayed in bar area for what was left of evening. Bar staff (you know who you are !) very helpful and chatty when not serving. Makes a change these days to be spoken to, rather than just "erm and yeah" with the ocassional nod of the head !. Breakfast (full English) fantastic - cooked to order - hot and tasty. All-in-all great experience. My only little quibble would be price. Thinking £60 rather than £75 but only a minor issue