No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fairfield House

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Brantfell Road Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere, LA23 3AE
This family run country house boasts its own gardens in a tranquil setting, has been completely refurbished in 2009, has its own car park, offers free Wi-Fi and is ideally situated just five minute's walk from the town centre. Fairfield is one of Lakeland's original country houses built nearly 200 years ago and now provides a contemporary boutique B&B with a 'VisitBritain' 4 star Silver accolade, together with a 'AA Highly Commended with Good Breakfast' award. Guests are offered a high standard of personal service with genuine hospitality in a homely atmosphere. The half acre of secluded garden gives a perfect sense of peace and tranquillity and in the early summer boasts the beautiful scent and colour of camellia, azalea, rhododendron, and a magnificent wisteria. Situated just above Bowness village and Lake Windermere (2 minutes walk away), Fairfield is set in peaceful secluded surroundings that make it an ideal base from which to explore one of the loveliest areas in Britain - the English Lake District. The hotel offers a quiet retreat with tranquil surroundings and for this reason they are unfortunately unable to accept children under the age of 7 years.

Fairfield House offers comfortable classic rooms with double or twin beds and en-suite shower rooms. Superior rooms with en-suite bathrooms including bath and shower are available with a variety of beds, including king size and four poster. The new deluxe rooms have spa baths for a unique bathroom indulgence experience. All of the bedrooms are equipped with tea & coffee making facilities, assorted toiletries, hair dyer, television and radio alarm.

Breakfast is offered in the delightful spacious breakfast room which overlooks the beautiful gardens and will set you up for a day by the lakes. Ingredients are sourced locally therefore ensuring the best traditional Cumbrian Breakfast.
Fairfield house has a large guest lounge adjacent to the terrace where guests can relax by the warming log fire after a busy day in the surrounding area with a licensed bar to end that perfect day with a nightcap. Internet and wireless access are always available.

Situated just above Bowness village and Lake Windermere, The Fairfield is set in peaceful secluded surroundings that make it an ideal base from which to explore one of the loveliest areas in Britain - the English Lake District. The house is just a short walk to restaurants, pubs and the shops of Bowness Village, as well as the waterfront of Lake Windermere. Nearby footpaths give access to the open countryside and the fine local viewpoint at the top of Brantfell. The area offers unrivalled opportunities for outdoor activities - sailing, swimming, windsurfing, fishing, to name but a few. Additionally, within easy reach there is pony trekking, clay pigeon shooting and golf.

Please note: Dogs can be accommodated in some of the Classic Double Rooms on request in advance and subject to availability. A charge of £10.00 per night is applicable. A 2% surcharge applies to all credit card purchases. Debit Cards are not charged a surcharge.
Picture of Fairfield House, Bowness-on-Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location - only a short (but steep) walk down to lake windemere. The hosts are Friendly and helpful. Lovely old building with a beautiful garden shame it was too wet for us to venture out in to it. Plenty of free parking.

Reviewed by
R Jackson

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two day much needed break in the Lakes .
There is a particularly steep hill to this Guest House which is not mentioned in the details. Anyone with walking difficulties would struggle.Our "welcome" upon arrival was not quite as expected, we were told because of a large party arriving that evening we would just have to wait for a table at breakfast. On asking where the bar was we were shown a cupboard in the wall with a few bottles in it and told they couldn't be expected to man it every night. On showing us to our room she noticed my husband had a bad limp, we had not asked for help, but told us not to expect any up the stairs as she has her own problems.
The hotel and room was spotless and I have to say has been renovated to a high standard. We stayed in a superior room with a four poster bed. The breakfast was good. Because of the problems we had with the hill up to the Hotel we will not book in here again.

Reviewed by
D Forder

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid-week stay in Classic Double Room at Fairfield House
My partner and I chose Fairfield House for our short break because of the Lateroom offer, the fact the guesthouse has a garden, it's location away from the heart of the village and it's reasonable checkout time.
Being reliant on public transport and taxis we were pleasantly surprised to discover the guesthouse is situated halfway up a small hill on a quiet road less than a 5 minute walk from Windermere lake front and Bowness village centre.
The classic double room we stayed in was very small but comfortable. The en-suite was well lit, clean with a high quality walk in shower. In hindsight my only criticism would be the lack of a 'do not disturb' sign as we were disturbed by the cleaner around noon; my partner is a nurse and had just finished a long stint of hectic shifts so understandably wanted to rest.That said, Liz and Tony were friendly and accommodating as were the guesthouse employees.
For breakfast there were hot and cold options available. Although the selection of hot vegetarian meals were limited all dishes are individually cooked to a decent standard. The table service was prompt and efficient.
The garden is well maintained, peaceful and has plenty of seating. Various lawn games are available which may come in handy for families (I introduced my partner to the wonders of croquet).
Our train home was not until the evening on the day we checked out it was therefore greatly appreciated that we were allowed to leave our bags at the guesthouse until we left Bowness. Liz phoned me in the afternoon to ask what time I wanted a taxi booking. This was above and beyond the level of service I would expect and I was very impressed by this gesture.
I would highly recommend Fairfield House as a peaceful and quiet place to stay for anyone visiting Lake Windermere and would happily stay there again in future.

ManagementResponse

Thanks to the guest for their kind words about our location, we think it is great too. Sometimes we can anticipate needs and make sure that something happens which is great. And thanks for the suggestion re the signs, we will do that. Regards. Tony & Liz

Reviewed by
Andrew Hill

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

owners were very helpfull when we arrived without our luggage, she gave us some toiletries to last us the 2 nights we were staying. Room was very nice and bathroom was 5 star. Would definatley go back and recomend to friends.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for your feedback, we are seasoned travellers ourselves and so we know what it is like to have luggage delayed. Our pleasure to help you. Regards, Tony.

Reviewed by
John B

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!!!!
Amazing hotel, amazing views, the staff were welcoming & friendly. We were made to feel to feel right at home from the moment we walked in.
Our room was clean, very comfortable & looked amazing! :) the breakfast in the morning was lovely too! I loved the homemade jam & my partner loved the fry up! Nothing negative to say at all & we would stay again in a heartbeat!!!

ManagementResponse

It has to be said there is something really heart-warming when a guest is pleased with everything, and so many thanks for your kind words, we are grateful that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Tony.

Reviewed by
Anna D

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spotlessly clean hotel
superb breakfast,excellent host , highly recommended

ManagementResponse

Thanks for your kind words, in the current weather especially The English Lake District really offers a delightful place to relax in so many ways, and we are pleased to play our part in creating an enjoyable guest experience.

Reviewed by
peter gouder

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Observations from one night and one morning
On arrival, there were lots of parked cars and parking mine was a bit 'tricky'. Landlord was there but offered no assistance. On entering Reception, the landlady was on the phone it seemed for ages and so, tired from travelling, the reception was not perhaps as warm as it should have been. Also, I was asked by the landlady how I had booked, and when I told her that I had booked through 'laterooms.com', I was told I would have to pay that night. No explanation was proffered and I was too tired too ask but it made me feel that I was suspected of being a likely 'runner'! Our bedroom and en-suite were spotless but the bedroom itself was too small for a double bed. Really, should only accommodate one person. The breakfast has been described in other reviews as wonderful (and indeed the guest house boasts an award for it) but my wife and I found it to be only average-nothing to write home about. Finally, much has been made about the guest house's central location but perhaps not enough has been said about the very steep hill one has to climb on returning from the centre of Bowness. Anyone with walking difficulties be warned! To end on a positive note, I should say that the garden was as secluded and tranquil as it was claimed to be. But we will not be returning.

ManagementResponse

Oh dear, we try to make everyone feel welcome, but it looks like we failed this time, which is sad for us as well as the guest, so our apologies. We know from our own travels that the first impression is always the one that counts and hence we do understand. We will try harder! I am puzzled by the comment on payment though, it is our custom to invite all customers staying the one night to pay on arrival as it helps us enormously with the morning rush the next day, but it has nothing to do with where you book. We welcome all bookings however they are made and in fact would compliment Lateroom's on one of the easiest systems to use, well done!

Reviewed by
Gordon D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great welcome and attentiveness!
I can thoroughly recommend Fairfield house! We were two couples and were greeted by a helpful young Spanish man who was our attentive waiter at breakfast next morning. The owner Tony was an excellent host who accommodated our every need. The food was delicious and freshly cooked and the bedrooms comfortable- thank you.

ManagementResponse

Our thanks to the customer for their kind words, but also a very big thank you for mentioning our staff. They are just as important a part of the team as Liz and I, and are just as dedicated. It is fantastic to see them get the praise they deserve from a customer, Thank you.

Reviewed by
Geraldine A

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place
Great place for a weekend away. The breakfast was really nice, great selection of foods to choose from. Tony and his staff made us feel very welcome and were happy to help. Everything was spot on apart form not being able to stay longer!
Thanks again

Reviewed by
A Alker

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed and breakfast at Fairview
We booked the accommodation on last minute and the service and food were excellent. Ideally situated for centre of Bowness and restaurants . Room was small, but very comfortable. Could not get TV to work and as we were only there one night not able to contact owners as they were out.
Tony was very helpful with requests for information
Tony was very helpful with requests for additional information

ManagementResponse

Thanks to our guest for their kind words and compliments. Turning off analogue TV in our area has caught out a few guests, but the TV's do work on Digital TV and all channels are working. Great that you enjoyed the breakfast, an important start to any day in the Lakes. Thank You.

Reviewed by
A Darnell

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next