Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 306 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms need heating and decorated!
Room was a good size but that was all that was good. The room we got was 101 and it was in a poor state. There was a great big dirty damp patch on the ceiling right above the bed with bits flaking off! Good job I don't sleep with my mouth open! The view was on to a fire escape. The room was cold with poor lighting and no heating in the bathroom! Staff failed to deal with some idiots who we're swearing and causing a nuisance to other guests who we're having a meal. These idiots should have been challenged but instead we're ignored by the staff which did not help the matter! On the plus side the food was of a good standard and reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
John B

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but noisey
Nice comfy room, good value for money, but a bit noisy due to the music venue next door.

Reviewed by
M Clay

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good!
Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Jayne S

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at Butlins and used this for one nite stay over.
We found that there was no lift, so not really suitable for family with young children, room was very dusty and cobwebs where noticeable. We had no second quilt for the bed settee and had to go and request this from down stairs. The only way you could drink in the bar if you had children was to buy food which if your stopping at the place is really not acceptable. We had breakfast in the morning and twice they failed to get the order right after I requested to swop some items on the big breakfast, my missus just couldn't be bothered and left her food in the end, see we where not over impressed. It was extremely noisy with the night club next door but that was the least of our problems as you can see.

Reviewed by
Andrew Palmer

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired hotel. Badly in need of revamp.
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (stayed 2 previous occasions before). the hotel badly needs a good clean up, very tired and dull. The bedroom we stayed in 104 had a great cobweb on the ceiling directly above the bed.along with a great huge damp patch, so very upsetting, I would have complained to manager, but he was never about. Would think twice about going back, unless they change many things.

Reviewed by
Alf Chamberlain

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was a bit small, but it was value for money

Reviewed by
james c

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Having stayed here before we were just as pleased with a great stay

Reviewed by
Colin M

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dirty room. Dusty and dirty carpet plus a pair of dirty socks left from the previous occupier

Reviewed by
john gorman

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming and friendly staff
The staff were friendly, polite and helpful! It was quite noisy for us as we live very rural so are not use to town noise. People walking back from pubs early hours sounding like they were in the room with you, but thats old buildings and towns for you I guess. But as for the pub down stairs it was relatively quiet and didn't disturb us, just people outside!

Reviewed by
M Fletcher

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Surprised to see how big the room was and the bathroom was massive . Great value for the price we paid.
The bed was extremely comfortable which aided a good nights sleep.
We will definitely stay there again. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Julie P

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next