Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 306 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Constructive criticism to a near perfect stay
Overall our 2 night stay was very enjoyable.
All staff were very friendly, helpful, happy to assist and the food, both breakfast & evening meals were cooked to perfection.
My constructive criticism is only in 2 areas.
Firstly our room had no chest of draws or built in pull out draws for loose clothing so it was all left in the suitcase & the net curtains had seen better days.
Secondly on both late evenings between 01:00 am & 03:00 am the we were all woken by the noise outside the building, fighting on both nights & the language was terrible considering we had a family room, our children are 3 & 7 & the disturbances were right below our window.
Maybe better security to move these kind of episodes along more quickly, it is a difficult one!
If we stayed again which I am sure we will, I would request a room in another part of the hotel if there is one for families.
Putting this aside I would have rated our overall experience at The Duke of Wellington 6 out of 6

Reviewed by
PAUL CHILDS

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
For £33 you can't complain, not that I could anyway. Clean, fresh room with very comfortable bed and linen. Large bathroom with excellent shower and cheap, hearty food downstairs. Always stay in a Spoons when I can

Reviewed by
Chris G

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spoilt only by other clientele
The room was clean, large and comfortable if a little too warm. There was a lack of hot water, but otherwise no complaints about the accommodation. However a group of teenagers in rooms either side of us, shouting, screaming, arguing & causing damage meant we had very little sleep. The staff (Duty Manager & Receptionist) were kind & helpful the following morning - we cannot praise them enough. We do wonder where the night Duty Manager was during the four hours of mayhem?

Reviewed by
Jacky W

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall review of Duke of Wellington room
The room was excellent and very good value for money. Good service from all staff. The only improvement I would suggest, is to improve the lighting in the room and bathroom, which was really dismal! A light over the mirror would be good and a main light in the bedroom! Otherwise a great stay. Thank you.

Reviewed by
A Bell

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st class
Everything about this hotel was 1st class, from the reception staff, room, bar staff, dining staff, position, I cannot praise it highly enough

Reviewed by
B John

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Excellent service from staff on reception lovely room will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
l lakin

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attentive service, friendly staff. Food delicious and served quickly

Reviewed by
Theresa Clark

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place

Reviewed by
s ormsby

From Bradford on Avon, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
The room was nice and comfortable. Bed comfortabLe. My only complaint is the bathroom needed updating, it had a nice shower but the bath wasn't very nice. It needs either to be re enamelled or replaced. The hot tap didn't work on the sink and no hooks to hang anything. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway but ideal for a budget stop over. Noisy til early hours due to nightclub in pub.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Great location. Only one thing that's annoying is the noise you get from the youngsters leaving the club between 2am and 3am! Definately recommend a room on the side of the hotel and not the front.

Reviewed by
ABBIE HAYLES

From Romney Marsh, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next