Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 273 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

xmas break
have no complainents,just comments,pillows were to soft and need to be made a bit better,but that is just our preference not a complaint,and maybe a bit more warddrobe space,bathroom excellent,staff were great could not do enough for us,food very good.....

Reviewed by
jim rookes

From Lancing, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Friendly and great value for money

Reviewed by
C Stroud

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Back in the Wellington after 47 years!
As a Minehead-born lad, my parents often took me to the Wellington Hotel, as it was then. Wetherspoons have done a great job - loads of space, two good bars and an excellent choice of beer. Our bedroom was huge, with a very comfortable bed, excellent bedding and nice fluffy towels. The shower and bath were excellent. A faultless stay.

Reviewed by
R Ferris

From Banstead, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice surprise
We didn't really expect too much for the price, and were really impressed by the quality and comfort of our room. We asked for a quiet room away from the club entrance and we got what we wanted, with no noise problem at all. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the bar food exceptionally good value for money. We will definitely go again, thanks for a great stay.

Reviewed by
elisabeth s

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Room was brilliant but window was very drafty.

Reviewed by
S Howard

From North Walsham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
I was recommended this Hotel and glad I was. I had my reservation due to the central location and thought it would be loud but I was wrong. The room was very spacious and bathroom was too. Both very clean the minor cobweb but with ceilings that high you'd need a ladder to get them. The staff were very friendly and polite and very accommodating when I decided to extend my stay by one night directly with them they matched the price on late rooms and kept the same room for me. Overall I would say that the hotel offers a very high standard for the price and would stay here again even with it having a lot of competition as it being a seaside resort

Reviewed by
S Reynolds

From North Walsham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for what was required.

Reviewed by
E Driver

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely spotless room.bath lovely n deep.power shower fab

Reviewed by
Angela V

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value accommodation
Fairly basic but clean and well attended rooms. Very busy bars and dining areas as open to the public as it is a Weatherspoons, but always plenty of room
Only criticism was that there was only one set of keys available which proved difficult as you needed a key to get through the fire door before reaching your room. This proved awkward when we went out separately.

Reviewed by
Susan O

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glad to get a room
We booked with little advance notice and got a room with no problem. It was perfectly adequate, though hardly luxurious. My only complaint is that we had to park several blocks away and lug our bags to the hotel in the dark. If there's a hotel car park, we weren't told about it.

Reviewed by
S Olsen

From McFarland, USA
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.