Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel


Wellington Square, Minehead, TA24 5NH

Price From 93.11 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (214)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Critchley

  • August 2014

Fantastic hotel fantastic venue fantastic price.

  • n hedden

  • August 2014

Looks impressive from the outside. . . .

A lovely old building that really looks impressive and inviting but once inside my heart started to sink.

It just all felt a bit jaded, dull, characterless and "un-special" with long depressing corridors, locked fire doors on each level and a room with no view. At least the bed was big and comfortable(quite hard though, which suited me!) with clean sheets. The outside of the toilet was dirty and the carpet had a few bits here and there but other than that it seemed fairly clean. So if you're literally needing a bed for the night it's ok but I definitely would not stay here again- I would rather pay a bit more for somewhere nicer. In the restaurant a had a Caesar Salad which I can honestly say was the Vilest substance I have ever willingly put in my mouth-Never again!!!!!

  • Glyn P

  • August 2014

Excellent efficient staff food and accommodation really good value

All round good value

  • D Bodley

  • August 2014

Good hotel

Pro's: Nice hotel room, good bathroom facilities and I was pleasantly surprised to see a large and small fan were provided.

Whilst I did not make use of the opportunity, I was impressed that wetherspoons food and drink could be purchased to the room. Con's: No breakfast included in price of room, toothpaste was not provided and the room was quite costly.

  • H Nurse

  • August 2014

Sunny Minhead

A lovely stay, nice looking room however its position right by a fire escape somewhat spoiled the view.

Quite hot room too, unable to open the window far but two fans provided.

  • A Phillips

  • August 2014

Central Location

Great location, great price, would def stay again

  • june h

  • August 2014


I was very impressed with my stay.

The room was excellent - a good size , comfortable beds , very clean, very helpful , friendly receptionist

  • rebecca j

  • August 2014

no hooks on doors,also need higher shelving.

my grandson scalded himself as he reached up and grabbed a scalding cup of coffee. we put everything on top of wardrobe. had to ask for extra pillows. stayed in wetherspoons in weston s mare much nicer room.

  • thomas w

  • August 2014

this was one of the smaller rooms we have stayed in bigger and better rooms in this hotel

  • James T

  • August 2014

Pleasantly surprised!

to be honest, i wasnt expecting very much given the price paid.

There was dust in the room and the bed wasnt great but these are only negative i can find. Bath was lovely, lady on reception was fab,food was great and location in minehead is brilliant. would definatly stay here again when next in the town.