Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 285 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We've stayed here three times now. Fantastic value for money, staff are very pleasant & helpful. The food was ok nothing gourmet (rather burnt burger!) but we like it as it is very central.

Reviewed by
Trish Poole

From Winscombe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Seventh time here, brilliant couldn't fault the place. Back again in two months should get a season ticket!

Reviewed by
m bater

From Cowbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bargain
Excellent value for money and good location. Mattress a bit hard.

Reviewed by
Kelvin C

From Marazion, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value
Every thing you need on doorstep

Reviewed by
BARRY STREET

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extra night away
We chose JD's as we had not stayed before at one but do look to use JD's for drinks and food when we come across them, as with all JD's the qualityof drinks and food we find excellent.
But what a let down the room we stayed in was, (room 105 )., this room was far to small to be classed as a double, one side of the bed was against a wall, therefore a climb was required to get out of bed.
The shower and toilet were very compact at least, not what we expected overall.

Reviewed by
Tony D

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value for money!
We have stayed at this hotel a number of times. It provides fantastic value for the money. Our room was huge with a separate hallway, bathroom and storage room. The staff are very, very friendly, especially the reception girls - Lindsey, Carol and Ann. They always greet you with a smile and are extremely helpful. Brilliant! I would definitely recommend this hotel, and Minehead, to anyone who fancies a few days away in the Minehead area. Hoping to stay again very soon with half term just around the corner.

Reviewed by
J Alsop

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brief stay in Minehead
All staff very helpful and accomodating. Rooms simply decorated and very good value for money. We stay here because of its very conveneient location, right in the middle of town, its easy to walk anywhere.

Reviewed by
C Jacobs

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at an excellent price
Ive stayed here 3 times now and will definately be coming again. Its a pleasant short walk through the town centre to the sea front.
The staff are always friendly and helpful and the family room we had this time was warm, spacious and clean. The shower has always been hot and powerful.
We've eaten here before and their is plenty of choice.
Only bad point is there is no parking but we have always been lucky enough to get a space close by on the roadside.

Reviewed by
k scrivens

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Escape from a nearby holiday camp...
The hotel, staff and the location of the hotel was great. I was slightly concerned when I arrived on Friday to be greeted by an army of bouncers (who were more than charming). Unfortunately the noisy club goers at the small hours were not welcome and I was unable to block it out for 2 nights as the windows, beautiful sash, were not double glazed. I would definitely stay again though- with ear plugs!

Reviewed by
M Mackie

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We Have stayed at this hotel numerous times.
We love this hotel, comfortable clean rooms, great service, friendly helpful staff and very good value for money.

Reviewed by
John Humphreys

From Buckingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.