Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 309 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

summer break
Very convenient place to stay in town centre . Close to shops 10 minutes walk to beach. Room service very good.

Reviewed by
Janet w

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, basic accommodation
Room was spacious, everything needed was provided; only room left situated right above outside terrace so noisy until 2.30am - book early to avoid this; surfaces dusty and shower mixer not working so hot water was scalding hot!
Staff were courteous and very helpful.

Reviewed by
P W

From Minehead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay in Minehead
Very good value room friendly staff could not find any fault at all.Would highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
S Isaacs

From Portland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay.
very pleasant hotel.

Reviewed by
phillip b

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great as long as you don't have kids!
Family room at front of hotel. Curtains off tracks, bulb missing from bed side lamp. Constant humming from extractor fan in bathroom aargh! People drinking outside, yes I know it's a pub but all the family rooms are at front, whose bright idea was that! Then woken up by crashing and banging at 3.15am, looked out of window to see wetherspoons delivery in progress! Possibly the worst nights sleep ever in a hotel!

Reviewed by
Denise M

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Welly
We did not need staff that much but were polite and friendly, the rooms were very very clean and the bathroom was huge but no bath mat so you do slide which is a safety issue. The hotel to be honest needs to be more family friendly lucky this time my sons were not with us.The price including 15% off was ok but meals of some sort could have been included, food was grand it was huge plates with great food.

Reviewed by
C Tuck

From Weston Super Mare, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
Have stayed at The Duke of Wellington a few times. Always have a pleasant stay. Things are not perfect as expected but staff go above & beyond if there is something wrong so I have no complaints at all for example: the kitchen was having a deep clean overnight & my room was above & woke me. The staff let me leave my stuff in my room & sleep in a different room & threw in breakfast & apologised lots. To me that was perfect & appreciated

Reviewed by
L Pike

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay at wetherspoons in minehead was a relaxing stay good food and drink all at veary go price
lclean and very good value

Reviewed by
pauline c

From Stone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overnight break
Had the family room for 5. Size was amazing. Clean, amazing shower! Only negative was bins being collected at 3.15am right under our window. Lots of noise outside :(

Reviewed by
K Pitt

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed our stay and the room was a lovely size.

Reviewed by
brian mycock

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.