Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel


Wellington Square, Minehead, TA24 5NH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (207)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Chris Lunn

  • September 2014


lovely staff and very helpful.

the place is outdated and needs bringing in to 21st century.asked for a quiet room but it was noisy every night as the room was above the side where tables were outside.we had to come home a day early as my partner had hardly slept all week.

  • Sheila B

  • September 2014

short break away......not wanting to travel far.

Not a townie lover so used the hotel as base for Dunster castle,Porlock and Lynton and Lymouth .Was very pleased with choice of food and value.Rooms big and clean.Staff very helpful and friendly.Did not have de-caff coffee,semi skimmed milks or low fat spreads.Did think I'd rather have those than clean towels everyday.

  • Jim F

  • September 2014

Initial greet friendly, shame about duty night porter

Informative friendly greet at hotel but no on site parking so recommend drop bags first and then park 5 minutes away at long stay NCP.

Room ok but humid but fans were provided which helped. Room clean with good shower. Senior manager had good customer front of house skills, but his night porter could be better placed back of house away from public. It spoiled my stay at the hotel as overall it's not a bad place. Better staff would have received a better review, but I was apologised to by the manger and he assured that duty night porter incident would be addressed. I doubt I will see the matter addressed personally, but I hope other future customers are dealt with a little more respectfully as paying customers.

  • Sue W

  • September 2014

Fabulous staff and a nice atmoshpere, i would stay at the Duke of Wellington again,bedroom was comfy

  • M Abbott

  • September 2014

Staff very helpfull.

only bad point I have is no car parking at hotel. You either need to park in a road if you are lucky or walk to a pay and display car park.

  • P Collins

  • September 2014

A good weekend away

We had an offer stay 2 days get third free

Place very clean, room very clean, No food included but food there very good

Room small, bath damaged and the room round the loo was very limited

Would i go back , yes

  • Gary S

  • September 2014

Not to happy customer

Found the receptionist not to friendly when I arrived , she explained the price I was paying for the room did not include breakfast.

For the price I paid I thought it would. No wonder if I booked two nights get one free. One big problem with my room, I'm sure it was above the kitchen people were moving catering trolleys around at quarter past three in the mornings You can get B&B in Minehead for about thirty pound a night. I would not stay there again, parking is a real problem.

  • Karen C

  • September 2014


Wonderful rooms, shower amazing, lovely and clean, perfect!

  • c corp

  • September 2014

excellent stay

Pillows were a little flat could do with another or bring your own but bed comfy

room big and spacious

  • B Masters

  • September 2014

We would stay there again comfortable helpful staff