You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

4

Wellington Square, Minehead, TA24 5NH

Price From 103.77 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (187)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • c wood

  • October 2014

Excellent

absolutely gorgeous room had a really nice time would absolutely stay again.

  • A Robinson

  • October 2014

Very acceptable accommodation and good value for money. Central location in Minehead

  • r aldis

  • October 2014

Duke of Wellington,Minehead.

Very welcoming,the staff were friendly and very good with our daughter.

Food/service was first rate,but our room,while it seemed clean and modern at first glance,was looking a bit tired in places,especially the bathroom which was very dark and gloomy with its dark floor and darkish walls.The lighting was not great though-with both bedside lamps on and ceiling light on,you still needed a torch to find anything. Due to the large shade around the ceiling bulb you only got any light if stood underneath it.The pillows were very thin and a bit uncomfortable. We would stay again though,perhaps a different room if it had better lighting/decor.

  • Steve M

  • October 2014

lovely stay

Fantastic .looked after well.room was clean and comfortable

  • Gerry H

  • October 2014

Decent room let down by noise

In most respects I have no complaints about the accommodation and would have been very comfortable but for the noise of night time deliveries to the hotel which completely spoiled a good night.

The problem started at about 3 am when what sounded like a large delivery truck arrived with much beeping as it reversed. Thereafter, for about 20 minutes, noisy trolleys were wheeled back and forth between the truck and the hotel building, immediately below the windows of a number of guest rooms, ensuring that anyone trying to sleep would be wide awake and irritated. I have mentioned this in a previous review but obviously no notice was taken of it. Surely it cannot be impossible to organise deliveries at a time when people are not trying to get some rest.

  • Marc W

  • October 2014

No Air Con

Like the other two Wetherspoons Hotels I've stayed in, (Weston-S-Mare and Monmouth), there is no air conditioning.

The rooms are lovely, but stiflingly hot. Breathing is a chore if you don't keep the windows open, but then you have to suffer road noise. Come on wetherspoons, sort yourselves out and become a real player in the hotel stakes. Get Air Con and really shake up the competition.

  • Janice Paterson

  • October 2014

Weekend in minehead

Would recommend to friends

  • Nigel M

  • October 2014

No night service

During our second night some fool left his bath running which sent water cascading through our bathroom light.

(Not the hotel's fault) However, when looking for help, apparently there is no receptionist or hotel manager after 9.00pm and it took a while before a young waiter was able to get the assistance of the bar manager. He arranged for an alternative (bigger) room and free breakfast. However, my wife got very little sleep as this room's double bed had all the springs in the mattress on her side broken. Did get discount from the hotel manager next day though. Thanks. The "fool upstairs" really spoilt our couple of days away but we will stay with Wetherspoons again.

  • Michael B

  • October 2014

Ideal place to stay...

Visited Minehead on business and it was a perfect place to stay.

Good location, good food and very nice staff. Thoroughly recommended...

  • Jim Hogan

  • October 2014

A "well used" hotel in need of some slight cosmetic treatment. and a new lift.

Being an elderly disabled person I contacted the hotel direct after booking for two nights on line with you and was assured that my condition would be catered for.

When we arrived we found we were allocated a second floor room with only a rickety chairlift from ground to first. After a problematical first night in a decent room we asked for a refund readily given and found alternative accomodation close by for the second night. The bar good and is the life and soul of the town but it needs a few bob spending on it.It should be made clear that it haas no lift and no car parking..