Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 285 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an enjoyable experience for all the family from age 9 to 85
The staff were so accommodating we did have to call on them quite a few times to operate the chairlift to take my mother in law up and down the stairs and always with a smile on their faces thank you for our most enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
edwina andrews

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful welly
staff friendly and polite accomodation clean and comfortable food excellent and great value for money great selection of ales all round winner .

Reviewed by
Ian Jewell

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Our usual home from home.Lovely room large and very clean.Friendly and supportive staff.

Reviewed by
c pitman

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noise at 6.30am

Reviewed by
c dean

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fit for a Duke!!
The Duke of Wellington in Minehead is a home from home. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. I wouldn't stay anywhere else but here!!

Reviewed by
Janet Salari

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent family hotel
Very welcoming when we arrived.we stayed in a family room.excellent huge room/bathroom.lovely in everyway.we ate downstairs friendly staff lovely food and v cheap.would definitly book again..

Reviewed by
lesley h

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
A clean comfortable room. Maybe time to turn down the heating but not a real problem. No dedicated parking, but on street parking is free from 6pm to 9am and we parked outside the hotel. Wetherspoon's breakfast charged separately.

Reviewed by
R Taylor

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The people working on reception were very welcoming in iur arrival and very helpful. It was before 2pm but that wasn't a problem and we were able to check in. The room was spacious and very clean with nice bedding on both beds. It was noisy at times during the night due to deliveries as other people have said but nothing too bad and not for long.

Reviewed by
KATHRYN L

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money and location
Reception staff friendly and helpful.room clean and comfortable.location excellent.this is third time we have stayed here and will be comming back again.

Reviewed by
Barbara C

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cleen and quiet even if there is a night club next door you did not hear it

Reviewed by
p parker

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next