Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 293 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This could be so much better....
On the plus side...
Great price
Newly refurbished (or at least smartened up)
Handy for an evening meal
The negatives...
Unbelievably hot so a poor nights sleep
Window was open (see above) and noisy air conditioning unit located below (keep in the empty pub nice and cool throughout the night no doubt!)
Overall I guress you get what you pay for but as I was hoping to sleep through the night that didnt work too well!

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Buntingford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheerful place a little small
room like a sauna, tired old place but handy to town.

Reviewed by
T Kerr

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money. We will use this hotel again.
We found our room very good, an additional lounge chair and some drawer space would have been useful.

Reviewed by
p cooke

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent site
Will use again

Reviewed by
peter s

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excel place to stay

Reviewed by
J Bennett

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is an excellent hotel
I couldn't fault 1 single thing about this hotel, from their warm welcome and helpfulness through to all the services they offer. Truly brilliant and very friendly.

Reviewed by
E Damsell

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

minehead
very clean room and facilities.
staff all exellent

Reviewed by
Doug Cobbett

From Dawlish, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My trip to sunny Minehead
JDW was very good value for both the room and the food. Nice comfortable double bed, great bath/shower, excellent value for money. Music a little load but to be expected for a large pub in a seaside resort. Would happily stay again!

Reviewed by
Kevin C

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

long weekend
Although we only stayed for two nights found the attitude ot the hotel staff and the accommodation excellent. The staff were both helpful and efficient and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was as pleasant as possible.

Reviewed by
Garry Pressey

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst night sleep!!
Had an awful nights sleep the noise outside until 3am from people staying at the hotel!! Followed by various car alarms being set off including my own that was parked at side of hotel set of by people drinking outside! Complained to receptionist in morning however did not appear to be in the least but interested!! Was planning on staying there for most of day but checked out at 8.30 couldn't wait to leave!!

Reviewed by
N Thomas

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next