Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 276 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family room
stayed in a family room with my 2 children for 1 night on a saturday night. Room large and clean. Only problem was the noise from outside, party goers didn't disperse until 3am. Family rooms should be situated on back.

Reviewed by
Maxine S

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room for the price
The accommodation is simple but reasonably comfortable; it is clean and everything works.
The only complaint is that there is a constant background hum from the hotel's extractor fans; it is not excessively loud, although for anyone staying in warm weather and wanting the window open it might be an issue.

Reviewed by
Gerry H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable
Friendly staff, good food, comfortable bed, good room

Reviewed by
Harry G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't go if you need to sleep at any time
I brought my family to stay at this hotel through laterooms.com on sat 22nd February 2014. We had a terrible stay: neither of the curtains would shut properly letting in light from the street lamps next to the windows,
A generator of some sort that sounded like a washing machine on full spin started at 10:30pm and went on till the morning,
The remote control for the tv didnt work,
The bedside lamps were broken,
We only had one pillow,
We had our two young children with us as we had the family room, the room they gave us was a small double room with a small single size hard sofa bed that our children had to share. The room was right at the top and front of the hotel. I just managed to settle our children down before the generator started, as we got into bed my children were woken up by people shouting from the hotels club, every noise was so load as the windows are old and let in all noise. We could all hear every word being shouted and the actual sound of fighting as their fists made contact with the other people. We heard three separate fights and our young children were so upset and traumatised by hearing this they were both crying.
In the morning when the staff were available i spoke to the manager and told her what a horrific night we had and explained all of the issues. She replied uncaringly "ow I'm sorry about that, was everything else ok?".
What everything else is there? Every service was not what i should have payed for as we were not made aware of this before we stayed. I payed £62.10 for this apparent family room. This hotel should not get away with treating their costumers so appallingly and terrifying young children and family's

Reviewed by
kerry s

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant staff and accommodation, the food is typical Wetherspoons but perfectly fine.

Reviewed by
N SMART

From England
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Hotel in Minehead
Have stayed at the Wellington Hotel many times over the past 30 years, never a bad stay. Staff should be trainning other hotel staff nation wide just to show just how a hotel should be run.

Reviewed by
GILLIAN B

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant!
Our accommodation was fantastic - a very large room with a separate hallway leading to a bathroom and a storage room. TV and tea making facilities. Comfortable beds - even the sofabed. One downside is that the room is at the front of the hotel and can be very noisy - one night was VERY noisy with deliveries and young people playing about on a temporary ice rink outside, but the other night was quiet (thankfully).

Reviewed by
J Alsop

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bedroom was for three people not for but staff turned a double bed into two people bed

Reviewed by
D Bates

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly atmosphere
Comfortable room, good food, friendly atmosphere

Reviewed by
Harry G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly
Comfortable room, good food, friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Harry G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next