Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel


Wellington Square, Minehead, TA24 5NH

Price From 73.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (207)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Marc W

  • October 2014

No Air Con

Like the other two Wetherspoons Hotels I've stayed in, (Weston-S-Mare and Monmouth), there is no air conditioning.

The rooms are lovely, but stiflingly hot. Breathing is a chore if you don't keep the windows open, but then you have to suffer road noise. Come on wetherspoons, sort yourselves out and become a real player in the hotel stakes. Get Air Con and really shake up the competition.

  • Janice Paterson

  • October 2014

Weekend in minehead

Would recommend to friends

  • Nigel M

  • October 2014

No night service

During our second night some fool left his bath running which sent water cascading through our bathroom light.

(Not the hotel's fault) However, when looking for help, apparently there is no receptionist or hotel manager after 9.00pm and it took a while before a young waiter was able to get the assistance of the bar manager. He arranged for an alternative (bigger) room and free breakfast. However, my wife got very little sleep as this room's double bed had all the springs in the mattress on her side broken. Did get discount from the hotel manager next day though. Thanks. The "fool upstairs" really spoilt our couple of days away but we will stay with Wetherspoons again.

  • Michael B

  • October 2014

Ideal place to stay...

Visited Minehead on business and it was a perfect place to stay.

Good location, good food and very nice staff. Thoroughly recommended...

  • Jim Hogan

  • October 2014

A "well used" hotel in need of some slight cosmetic treatment. and a new lift.

Being an elderly disabled person I contacted the hotel direct after booking for two nights on line with you and was assured that my condition would be catered for.

When we arrived we found we were allocated a second floor room with only a rickety chairlift from ground to first. After a problematical first night in a decent room we asked for a refund readily given and found alternative accomodation close by for the second night. The bar good and is the life and soul of the town but it needs a few bob spending on it.It should be made clear that it haas no lift and no car parking..

  • K Burr

  • October 2014

Very pleasant stay

  • Maria D

  • October 2014

Very easy to find, staff very polite

Happy with my over night stay

  • Jordan L

  • October 2014

Excellant location for my needs

I booked the room as i had a interview with Butlins, i did call the hotel to see where the location was and it was 10 minutes up the road for Butlins, they also told me they could not beat the price i had using late rooms so i saved myself £10.

it was a nice hotel staff friendly and very helpful.

  • Amanda H

  • September 2014

Minehead Wetherspoons

Hotel good - room large.

Unfortunately beds hard but requested 2nd duvet and this helped. Breakfast ok but evening meal not so good, also sorted by management so giving good rating for service.

  • j smith

  • September 2014

Not good

If you want to get drunk with the locals and end the night in a punch up!!!.

this is a good place to stay. If you want to avoid fights, swearing, shouting and run of the mill super lager drinkers than dont stay here.