Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 304 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money but
OK - lovely central location, great friendly welcome, keen price, clean spacious room, no aircon but two fans [wouldn't normally be an issue but we were there on really hot day/night]. Good selection of ales and ciders at bar. Ordered 2 evening meals from the menu, paid, had them served and then when we pointed out that the salsa sauce listed on the menu was missing we were told that it was no longer available. Small point but an important one. Tell the customer before you take them money not after if you can not deliver goods as described!!! Breakfast was fab. i'd not hesitate to stay again - but I would be sure to ask if I was likely to get what I was being charged for.

Reviewed by
huw p

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value accomodation
We found that the room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The children aged 12 and 16 slept on a sofa bed which was adequate. The food was great value for money and we couldn't fault it. The only complaint that we had was because it was so hot in the room we had the windows open all night which meant we could hear a lot of noise from outside. especially when the deliveries came early hours of the morning! Having said that, we would still stay their again!!

Reviewed by
j cooper

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Duke of Wellington Minehead
The hotel is situated in the centre of Minehead which makes all of the attractions and shops within easy walking distance.
The staff are polite and welcoming and always serve you with a friendly smile.
I would recommend the hotel to all.

Reviewed by
Kenneth West

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very clean and spacious room,and en-suite.
couldn't have asked for anything more.
a wonderful break.

Reviewed by
S Foster

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

D of W
Lovely stay, cheerful, friendly staff, clean spacious accommodation and perfect chance to catch up with family and friends in Minehead

Reviewed by
D Spencer

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Who needs Premier Inn?
V.friendly and helpful staff.Large,bright room with good standard of housekeeping.Overall v.good value for money.Air con. in rooms would be nice.

Reviewed by
Colin T

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

too hot
The hotel was ok, but my only drawback was it was too hot, the rooms.

Reviewed by
m tingley

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Re visiting old haunts
The hotel was just as I remembered it .. I used to work there (1973/4) when it was privately owned. It makes a great base to have for exploring the area. We were down on a visit catching up with very
old friends and acquaintances so it was first class for us. The staff were all extremely helpful and the food was great. Thanks to all !!!

Reviewed by
Angela Warrington

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and value
Excellent value for money especially as we got 3 nights for the price of 2. Good location in centre of Ilfracombe but no dedicated parking. Free on street outside overnight and staff recommended free all day street parking about 10 mins walk away. Staff very friendly and helpful. Liked the notices about not leaving windows wide open as pigeons might fly in! Good sized room but lighting for reading in bed poor and only 1 comfy chair to move into better lit area.

Reviewed by
Wendy A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

if in Mind head stay here
Modern, large rooms very clean soft pillows and quiet, stayed here before and would recommend highly. Breakfast not included but very cheap but quality breakfast served if required.

Reviewed by
p fowkes

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next