Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 308 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute weekend away
Centrally located for shops and a 5 to 10 minute walk to the sea front. Try to avoid rooms overlooking the church yard and outside pub siting area as this is treated as part off the Nightclub which is only open on Friday and Saturday nights until 2am. If you are a night club going person, heavy sleeper or can avoid Friday and Saturday night stays or put up with 2 out off Say a 7 night say being disturbed then it is a great place to stay.

Reviewed by
K Willis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and pleasant
Stayed there with my wife overnight, the bed was a bit hard and I think that was the only negative thing about our stay. The staff are helpful and friendly and the food is cheap and quite good.

Reviewed by
Bruce H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Home from Home
I always stay here at the Duke of Wellington in Minehead. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Try it and you'll agree!! You won't be disappointed!!

Reviewed by
Janet Salari

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Hotel
We have stayed here as a family on 3 occasions now and every time gets better. The staff are extremely friendly, the food is lovely and is just generally a happy place to be.

Reviewed by
Louise S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel

Reviewed by
elizabeth sufffolk

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for one night stay for when your working away but more chips with my steak please!
The room was clean and very spacious. The room was value for money for us as we booked on line and so saved £20. More chips with my steak though please!

Reviewed by
julia Masters

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good standard of room but if you'll be staying during summer ask for room at first floor,
rooms have no I/C so it's mean it's really hot in rooms.

Reviewed by
J Lewandowski

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money but
OK - lovely central location, great friendly welcome, keen price, clean spacious room, no aircon but two fans [wouldn't normally be an issue but we were there on really hot day/night]. Good selection of ales and ciders at bar. Ordered 2 evening meals from the menu, paid, had them served and then when we pointed out that the salsa sauce listed on the menu was missing we were told that it was no longer available. Small point but an important one. Tell the customer before you take them money not after if you can not deliver goods as described!!! Breakfast was fab. i'd not hesitate to stay again - but I would be sure to ask if I was likely to get what I was being charged for.

Reviewed by
huw p

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value accomodation
We found that the room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The children aged 12 and 16 slept on a sofa bed which was adequate. The food was great value for money and we couldn't fault it. The only complaint that we had was because it was so hot in the room we had the windows open all night which meant we could hear a lot of noise from outside. especially when the deliveries came early hours of the morning! Having said that, we would still stay their again!!

Reviewed by
j cooper

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Duke of Wellington Minehead
The hotel is situated in the centre of Minehead which makes all of the attractions and shops within easy walking distance.
The staff are polite and welcoming and always serve you with a friendly smile.
I would recommend the hotel to all.

Reviewed by
Kenneth West

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next