Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

4

Wellington Square, Minehead, TA24 5NH

Price From 138.10 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (237)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jim Hogan

  • October 2014

A "well used" hotel in need of some slight cosmetic treatment. and a new lift.

Being an elderly disabled person I contacted the hotel direct after booking for two nights on line with you and was assured that my condition would be catered for.

When we arrived we found we were allocated a second floor room with only a rickety chairlift from ground to first. After a problematical first night in a decent room we asked for a refund readily given and found alternative accomodation close by for the second night. The bar good and is the life and soul of the town but it needs a few bob spending on it.It should be made clear that it haas no lift and no car parking..

  • K Burr

  • October 2014

Very pleasant stay

  • Maria D

  • October 2014

Very easy to find, staff very polite

Happy with my over night stay

  • Jordan L

  • October 2014

Excellant location for my needs

I booked the room as i had a interview with Butlins, i did call the hotel to see where the location was and it was 10 minutes up the road for Butlins, they also told me they could not beat the price i had using late rooms so i saved myself £10.

it was a nice hotel staff friendly and very helpful.

  • Amanda H

  • September 2014

Minehead Wetherspoons

Hotel good - room large.

Unfortunately beds hard but requested 2nd duvet and this helped. Breakfast ok but evening meal not so good, also sorted by management so giving good rating for service.

  • j smith

  • September 2014

Not good

If you want to get drunk with the locals and end the night in a punch up!!!.

this is a good place to stay. If you want to avoid fights, swearing, shouting and run of the mill super lager drinkers than dont stay here.

  • Chris Lunn

  • September 2014

outdated

lovely staff and very helpful.

the place is outdated and needs bringing in to 21st century.asked for a quiet room but it was noisy every night as the room was above the side where tables were outside.we had to come home a day early as my partner had hardly slept all week.

  • Sheila B

  • September 2014

short break away......not wanting to travel far.

Not a townie lover so used the hotel as base for Dunster castle,Porlock and Lynton and Lymouth .Was very pleased with choice of food and value.Rooms big and clean.Staff very helpful and friendly.Did not have de-caff coffee,semi skimmed milks or low fat spreads.Did think I'd rather have those than clean towels everyday.

  • Jim F

  • September 2014

Initial greet friendly, shame about duty night porter

Informative friendly greet at hotel but no on site parking so recommend drop bags first and then park 5 minutes away at long stay NCP.

Room ok but humid but fans were provided which helped. Room clean with good shower. Senior manager had good customer front of house skills, but his night porter could be better placed back of house away from public. It spoiled my stay at the hotel as overall it's not a bad place. Better staff would have received a better review, but I was apologised to by the manger and he assured that duty night porter incident would be addressed. I doubt I will see the matter addressed personally, but I hope other future customers are dealt with a little more respectfully as paying customers.

  • Sue W

  • September 2014

Fabulous staff and a nice atmoshpere, i would stay at the Duke of Wellington again,bedroom was comfy