Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 285 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent site
Will use again

Reviewed by
peter s

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excel place to stay

Reviewed by
J Bennett

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is an excellent hotel
I couldn't fault 1 single thing about this hotel, from their warm welcome and helpfulness through to all the services they offer. Truly brilliant and very friendly.

Reviewed by
E Damsell

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

minehead
very clean room and facilities.
staff all exellent

Reviewed by
Doug Cobbett

From Dawlish, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My trip to sunny Minehead
JDW was very good value for both the room and the food. Nice comfortable double bed, great bath/shower, excellent value for money. Music a little load but to be expected for a large pub in a seaside resort. Would happily stay again!

Reviewed by
Kevin C

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

long weekend
Although we only stayed for two nights found the attitude ot the hotel staff and the accommodation excellent. The staff were both helpful and efficient and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was as pleasant as possible.

Reviewed by
Garry Pressey

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst night sleep!!
Had an awful nights sleep the noise outside until 3am from people staying at the hotel!! Followed by various car alarms being set off including my own that was parked at side of hotel set of by people drinking outside! Complained to receptionist in morning however did not appear to be in the least but interested!! Was planning on staying there for most of day but checked out at 8.30 couldn't wait to leave!!

Reviewed by
N Thomas

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very easy check in, helpful and informative. Room (108) good size, but very hot. Not helped by notice stating not to open windows due to pigeons. Didn't see any and slept with window open all night, unfortunately couldn't close on leaving as jammed. Also had fan on all night to try to reduce temperature in room. Bathroom ok, no shaving light only single room light. Nice power shower and good quality towels. Some noise from Lloyds bar disco from below and other guests in room above. Slept ok though, bed comfy and ample pillows. Good food from bar, very quick service and good value for money. Breakfast also good, however bar very busy with stag and hen weekends and groups from Butlins so get down there early. Overall a positive experience.

Reviewed by
bob s

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an enjoyable experience for all the family from age 9 to 85
The staff were so accommodating we did have to call on them quite a few times to operate the chairlift to take my mother in law up and down the stairs and always with a smile on their faces thank you for our most enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
edwina andrews

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
Our usual home from home.Lovely room large and very clean.Friendly and supportive staff.

Reviewed by
c pitman

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next