Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 285 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed our stay and the room was a lovely size.

Reviewed by
brian mycock

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over night in Minehead
Fair play weatherspoons, value for money, room was clean, comfortable, large, I did get a little hot during the night, but not unbearable. Bar staff didn't seem to have a sence of humour, didn't listen to what you said, hence meal order was a little wrong, but to be honest for the money paid was great, keep iy up weatherspoons.

Reviewed by
Michael Lewis

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic, would stay again
Absolutely loved this hotel, the room was spotless, tea and coffee etc.

Reviewed by
Steven H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant as usual
Only stayed one night on this occasion having stayed 3 nights last July. Hotel is well situated and again was excellent value for price paid. Minehaed itself is very pleasant and The Duke Of Wellington is situated very close to shops and a 15 min walk to lovely clean beaches.

Reviewed by
Stephen Cook

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, tidy and good value for money.
Clean, tidy and good value for money. Rooms could do with air con or at least a fan as very warm as facing the sun all day.

Reviewed by
C Stokes

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Problems with flush in toilet

Reviewed by
gerry cunningham

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Good value hotel, very comfortable and very spacious rooms. Nice and clean. Fan provided which was welcome as a hot night.

Reviewed by
Sara Farrington-Carter

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheerful place a little small
room like a sauna, tired old place but handy to town.

Reviewed by
T Kerr

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This could be so much better....
On the plus side...
Great price
Newly refurbished (or at least smartened up)
Handy for an evening meal
The negatives...
Unbelievably hot so a poor nights sleep
Window was open (see above) and noisy air conditioning unit located below (keep in the empty pub nice and cool throughout the night no doubt!)
Overall I guress you get what you pay for but as I was hoping to sleep through the night that didnt work too well!

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Buntingford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money. We will use this hotel again.
We found our room very good, an additional lounge chair and some drawer space would have been useful.

Reviewed by
p cooke

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next