Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel


Wellington Square, Minehead, TA24 5NH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (207)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Martine G

  • November 2014

Surprisingly lovely hotel

This hotel cost almost nothing so I wasn't expecting much but it was a last minute booking.

But hubby and I where pleasantly surprised how nice it was.

The hotel is fab the beds so comfy and clean the rooms are small but very well laid out.

The staff where lovely.

At 2am on a Sunday night one of our friends got separated from his crowd an the wonderful night staff found him a room an said just pay before you go.

The food was also really good and cheap.

Being in a wetherspoons I was worried about the notice from the bar.

However I didn't hear a thing the sound proof fire doors meant I could sleep in, I was shocked to find a very packed pub when I left the hotel floor.

  • John B

  • November 2014

Rooms need heating and decorated!

Room was a good size but that was all that was good.

The room we got was 101 and it was in a poor state. There was a great big dirty damp patch on the ceiling right above the bed with bits flaking off. Good job I don't sleep with my mouth open. The view was on to a fire escape. The room was cold with poor lighting and no heating in the bathroom. Staff failed to deal with some idiots who we're swearing and causing a nuisance to other guests who we're having a meal. These idiots should have been challenged but instead we're ignored by the staff which did not help the matter. On the plus side the food was of a good standard and reasonably priced.

  • M Clay

  • November 2014

Nice but noisey

Nice comfy room, good value for money, but a bit noisy due to the music venue next door.

  • Jayne S

  • November 2014


Would recommend.

  • Andrew Palmer

  • November 2014

Weekend stay at Butlins and used this for one nite stay over.

We found that there was no lift, so not really suitable for family with young children, room was very dusty and cobwebs where noticeable.

We had no second quilt for the bed settee and had to go and request this from down stairs. The only way you could drink in the bar if you had children was to buy food which if your stopping at the place is really not acceptable. We had breakfast in the morning and twice they failed to get the order right after I requested to swop some items on the big breakfast, my missus just couldn't be bothered and left her food in the end, see we where not over impressed. It was extremely noisy with the night club next door but that was the least of our problems as you can see.

  • Alf Chamberlain

  • November 2014

Very tired hotel. Badly in need of revamp.

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (stayed 2 previous occasions before).

the hotel badly needs a good clean up, very tired and dull. The bedroom we stayed in 104 had a great cobweb on the ceiling directly above the bed.along with a great huge damp patch, so very upsetting, I would have complained to manager, but he was never about. Would think twice about going back, unless they change many things.

  • Colin M

  • November 2014

Having stayed here before we were just as pleased with a great stay

  • S Earl

  • November 2014

Great location

The bedrooms are very large and have the essential equipment.

The reception staff are extremely helpful and our son loved them.

Good location with plenty to do in Minehead and all within easy walking distance.

The hotel has no parking but free residential areas are not too far away and caused us no problems.

  • james c

  • November 2014

room was a bit small, but it was value for money

  • Julie P

  • November 2014

Value for money

Surprised to see how big the room was and the bathroom was massive .

Great value for the price we paid. The bed was extremely comfortable which aided a good nights sleep.

We will definitely stay there again. Recommended.