Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 309 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Location
Great location, great price, would def stay again

Reviewed by
A Phillips

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
I was very impressed with my stay. The room was excellent - a good size , comfortable beds , very clean, very helpful , friendly receptionist

Reviewed by
june h

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent efficient staff food and accommodation really good value
All round good value

Reviewed by
Glyn P

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looks impressive from the outside. . . .
A lovely old building that really looks impressive and inviting but once inside my heart started to sink. It just all felt a bit jaded, dull, characterless and "un-special" with long depressing corridors, locked fire doors on each level and a room with no view. At least the bed was big and comfortable(quite hard though, which suited me!) with clean sheets. The outside of the toilet was dirty and the carpet had a few bits here and there but other than that it seemed fairly clean. So if you're literally needing a bed for the night it's ok but I definitely would not stay here again- I would rather pay a bit more for somewhere nicer.
In the restaurant a had a Caesar Salad which I can honestly say was the Vilest substance I have ever willingly put in my mouth-Never again!!!!!

Reviewed by
n hedden

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunny Minhead
A lovely stay, nice looking room however its position right by a fire escape somewhat spoiled the view. Quite hot room too, unable to open the window far but two fans provided.

Reviewed by
H Nurse

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this was one of the smaller rooms we have stayed in bigger and better rooms in this hotel

Reviewed by
thomas w

From Burnham on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no hooks on doors,also need higher shelving.
my grandson scalded himself as he reached up and grabbed a scalding cup of coffee.
we put everything on top of wardrobe.
had to ask for extra pillows.
stayed in wetherspoons in weston s mare much nicer room.

Reviewed by
rebecca j

From Westbury on Severn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice large room and comfortable bed. Room could do with Air Con as it was very hot, thankfully weather was not as hot as it had been recently

Reviewed by
S C

From Runcorn, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

had a great time
accommodation was clean comfortable and in the center of town , food was cheap and very nice , staff were pleasant and the receptionist went above and beyond to help , i would recommend this hotel and look forward to returning soon .

Reviewed by
alison r

From Porth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised!
to be honest, i wasnt expecting very much given the price paid. There was dust in the room and the bed wasnt great but these are only negative i can find. Bath was lovely, lady on reception was fab,food was great and location in minehead is brilliant. would definatly stay here again when next in the town.

Reviewed by
James T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next