You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

4

Wellington Square, Minehead, TA24 5NH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (156)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Andrew Corbett

  • March 2015

OK for the price but looking very tired

Spent three nights at this hotel.

The rooms were OK for the budget price and not as small as I had expected, although as is common with budget hotels there is never anywhere it keep more than a day's worth of clothes unpacked so you tend to live out of your suitcase. The room was also VERY hot, even in a cold March. The window could only be opened for 8 inches (apparently to stop pigeons getting in???) and it took a day and a half for the room to cool down to a comfortable temperature. The bathroom was quite roomy but the shower was slightly faulty which made controlling the temperature difficult. Our room was at the top of 2 very steep flights of stairs - not recommended for those of us with dickie tickers but I'm hoping the exercise did me some good. The hotel does not have a lift but there is a stair-lift to the first floor for the disabled. Not as convenient as a lift but OK for access. The pub itself is looking very tired. Worn out carpets and furniture, and very dark in some areas. To make up for it they do have some very nice beers and the food is OK for the budget - A typical Wetherspoons. The £2.99 "Full English" breakfast is not bad value at all and will keep most going. Don't expect cordon-bleu

  • J Betteridge

  • March 2015

Street noise quite noticeable at night but otherwise reasonable value for the money.

Would stay there again

  • Violet rose N

  • March 2015

room

the room was very small

  • Phil C

  • March 2015

stay in minehead

we had a great time.

Could not fault our accommodation -thank you very much.

  • Mike A

  • March 2015

Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

Pub.

  • paul l

  • March 2015

Excellent

This hotel was perfect except if I stayed again I would ask for a quieter room.

Its above a pub so too be expected. Also the lighting in the bedroom was too dim but apart from that it was good.

  • Gwen F

  • March 2015

On the whole very Happy, disappointed to find there was one dirty pillow, which we felt was not there fault, which they immediately rectified and compensated us for it.

Good experience food good value for money. One member of Bar Staff''s attitude was disappointing.

  • A Joy

  • March 2015

Great Hotel !

Lovelly place to stay .

  • Chris G

  • February 2015

Very Good

For £33 you can't complain, not that I could anyway.

Clean, fresh room with very comfortable bed and linen. Large bathroom with excellent shower and cheap, hearty food downstairs. Always stay in a Spoons when I can

  • PAUL CHILDS

  • February 2015

Constructive criticism to a near perfect stay

Overall our 2 night stay was very enjoyable.

All staff were very friendly, helpful, happy to assist and the food, both breakfast & evening meals were cooked to perfection. My constructive criticism is only in 2 areas.

Firstly our room had no chest of draws or built in pull out draws for loose clothing so it was all left in the suitcase & the net curtains had seen better days. Secondly on both late evenings between 01:00 am & 03:00 am the we were all woken by the noise outside the building, fighting on both nights & the language was terrible considering we had a family room, our children are 3 & 7 & the disturbances were right below our window.

Maybe better security to move these kind of episodes along more quickly, it is a difficult one. If we stayed again which I am sure we will, I would request a room in another part of the hotel if there is one for families. Putting this aside I would have rated our overall experience at The Duke of Wellington 6 out of 6