Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel


Wellington Square, Minehead, TA24 5NH

Price From 75.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (217)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Peter W

  • December 2014

Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

The room was nice and comfortable.

Bed comfortabLe. My only complaint is the bathroom needed updating, it had a nice shower but the bath wasn't very nice. It needs either to be re enamelled or replaced. The hot tap didn't work on the sink and no hooks to hang anything. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway but ideal for a budget stop over. Noisy til early hours due to nightclub in pub.


  • December 2014

Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

Great location.

Only one thing that's annoying is the noise you get from the youngsters leaving the club between 2am and 3am. Definately recommend a room on the side of the hotel and not the front.

  • A hobbs

  • December 2014

Room Review

Very clean room with everything required.

Very spacious and quiet even with the pub below. Great shower and en-suite facilities along with fans and extra pillows bedding.

  • S Drew

  • December 2014

Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

great stay, cheers!

  • Richard M

  • November 2014

Well done Duke

Stayed just the one night due to work posting, staff really approachable and helpful, fare is typical Wetherspoons, excellent value and really well done also.

Would not hesitate it going back

  • K barlow

  • November 2014


Was cheap but comfy and value for money

  • Martine G

  • November 2014

Surprisingly lovely hotel

This hotel cost almost nothing so I wasn't expecting much but it was a last minute booking.

But hubby and I where pleasantly surprised how nice it was.

The hotel is fab the beds so comfy and clean the rooms are small but very well laid out.

The staff where lovely.

At 2am on a Sunday night one of our friends got separated from his crowd an the wonderful night staff found him a room an said just pay before you go.

The food was also really good and cheap.

Being in a wetherspoons I was worried about the notice from the bar.

However I didn't hear a thing the sound proof fire doors meant I could sleep in, I was shocked to find a very packed pub when I left the hotel floor.

  • John B

  • November 2014

Rooms need heating and decorated!

Room was a good size but that was all that was good.

The room we got was 101 and it was in a poor state. There was a great big dirty damp patch on the ceiling right above the bed with bits flaking off. Good job I don't sleep with my mouth open. The view was on to a fire escape. The room was cold with poor lighting and no heating in the bathroom. Staff failed to deal with some idiots who we're swearing and causing a nuisance to other guests who we're having a meal. These idiots should have been challenged but instead we're ignored by the staff which did not help the matter. On the plus side the food was of a good standard and reasonably priced.

  • M Clay

  • November 2014

Nice but noisey

Nice comfy room, good value for money, but a bit noisy due to the music venue next door.

  • Jayne S

  • November 2014


Would recommend.