Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 304 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
absolutely gorgeous room had a really nice time would absolutely stay again.

Reviewed by
c wood

From Rowley Regis, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was clean and spacious and staff helpfull. Ideal place at the top of town where there are plenty of pubs around and a fab indian accross the road which went down well after a good session on the real ale. I would come back again a lot cheaper than butlins may i ad.

Reviewed by
stuart t

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a little tender love and care!
My room was adequate for my needs. The room had everything I needed, from a hair dryer to an ironing bord and iron. The bathroom was big and spacious, but my room was a bit dusty and the bathroom needs a little re- vamp! So it was OK I think.

Reviewed by
S P

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Duke of Wellington stay
The staff were all very good, helpful and all had a smile on faces, special praise for receptionist who told us about non paying parking _ again thanks one and all

Reviewed by
A Payne

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
Fantastic .looked after well.room was clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
Steve M

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Duke of Wellington,Minehead.
Very welcoming,the staff were friendly and very good with our daughter. Food/service was first rate,but our room,while it seemed clean and modern at first glance,was looking a bit tired in places,especially the bathroom which was very dark and gloomy with its dark floor and darkish walls.The lighting was not great though-with both bedside lamps on and ceiling light on,you still needed a torch to find anything! Due to the large shade around the ceiling bulb you only got any light if stood underneath it.The pillows were very thin and a bit uncomfortable. We would stay again though,perhaps a different room if it had better lighting/decor.

Reviewed by
r aldis

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent room let down by noise
In most respects I have no complaints about the accommodation and would have been very comfortable but for the noise of night time deliveries to the hotel which completely spoiled a good night. The problem started at about 3 am when what sounded like a large delivery truck arrived with much beeping as it reversed. Thereafter, for about 20 minutes, noisy trolleys were wheeled back and forth between the truck and the hotel building, immediately below the windows of a number of guest rooms, ensuring that anyone trying to sleep would be wide awake and irritated. I have mentioned this in a previous review but obviously no notice was taken of it. Surely it cannot be impossible to organise deliveries at a time when people are not trying to get some rest.

Reviewed by
Gerry H

From Malvern, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Air Con
Like the other two Wetherspoons Hotels I've stayed in, (Weston-S-Mare and Monmouth),
there is no air conditioning.
The rooms are lovely, but stiflingly hot.
Breathing is a chore if you don't keep the windows open, but then you have to suffer road noise.
Come on wetherspoons, sort yourselves out and become a real player in the hotel stakes.
Get Air Con and really shake up the competition.

Reviewed by
Marc W

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in minehead
Would recommend to friends

Reviewed by
Janice Paterson

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal place to stay...
Visited Minehead on business and it was a perfect place to stay. Good location, good food and very nice staff. Thoroughly recommended...

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Bewdley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next