Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 293 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break away......not wanting to travel far.
Not a townie lover so used the hotel as base for Dunster castle,Porlock and Lynton and Lymouth .Was very pleased with choice of food and value.Rooms big and clean.Staff very helpful and friendly.Did not have de-caff coffee,semi skimmed milks or low fat spreads.Did think I'd rather have those than clean towels everyday.

Reviewed by
Sheila B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Minehead Wetherspoons
Hotel good - room large. Unfortunately beds hard but requested 2nd duvet and this helped. Breakfast ok but evening meal not so good, also sorted by management so giving good rating for service.

Reviewed by
Amanda H

From Crewkerne, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous staff and a nice atmoshpere, i would stay at the Duke of Wellington again,bedroom was comfy

Reviewed by
Sue W

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good
If you want to get drunk with the locals and end the night in a punch up!!!! this is a good place to stay. If you want to avoid fights, swearing, shouting and run of the mill super lager drinkers than dont stay here.

Reviewed by
j smith

From Banstead, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very helpfull.
only bad point I have is no car parking at hotel. You either need to park in a road if you are lucky or walk to a pay and display car park.

Reviewed by
M Abbott

From Badminton, England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

outdated
lovely staff and very helpful. the place is outdated and needs bringing in to 21st century.asked for a quiet room but it was noisy every night as the room was above the side where tables were outside.we had to come home a day early as my partner had hardly slept all week.

Reviewed by
Chris Lunn

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good weekend away
We had an offer stay 2 days get third free
Place very clean, room very clean, No food included but food there very good
Room small, bath damaged and the room round the loo was very limited
Would i go back , yes

Reviewed by
P Collins

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not to happy customer
Found the receptionist not to friendly when I arrived , she explained the price I was paying for the room did not include breakfast. For the price I paid I thought it would. No wonder if I booked two nights get one free. One big problem with my room, I'm sure it was above the kitchen people were moving catering trolleys around at quarter past three in the mornings You can get B&B in Minehead for about thirty pound a night.
I would not stay there again, parking is a real problem.

Reviewed by
Gary S

From Alberton, South Africa
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Wonderful rooms, shower amazing, lovely and clean, perfect!

Reviewed by
Karen C

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We would stay there again comfortable helpful staff

Reviewed by
B Masters

From SELSEY, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next