Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 284 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pre Butlins stay
Lovely large family room, comfy beds and excellent and friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
M Byrne

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel and room were great, however, due to the fact the building is quite old, it was very noisy at night as the windows were only single glazed. When a delivery was being made over the road at 5:30 in the morning it felt like it was coming through our window, dispute the fact we were on the second floor

Reviewed by
Emily C

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy
The room was very nice and the hotel well situated. Ample parking not to far away. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
gordon sanderson

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Centrally located, lovely place, parking not always easy

Reviewed by
Julie S

From Ebbw Vale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room not as advertised
the room i booked on line said there was a power shower in the room what a disappointment the shower it was shocking it only just trickled out so was very very disappointed with that.. we ate four meals each during our stay and three were prefect could not fault them at all but the last night fish and chip where really shocking the fish was uneatable and i should have sent it back....one last thing first night i we were there i had to clean the cob webs off the ceiling before we could go to bed and there was five off them not just one.

Reviewed by
d watson

From whittlesey, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was modern, clean and comfortable with an en suite, all necessary facilities i.e free easily accessible wifi, hair dryer, towels, tea and coffee. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and I felt very welcomed there. It was very noisey at night with people outside the bar below, I wondered if customers were told to leave the area outside after it shutting at 2am, as it seemed to carry on a while after this time. All in all I enjoyed my stay very much and knew I had very approachable, friendly staff to speak to if I needed anything. Thanks!

Reviewed by
Jane M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The duke of Wellington
The bed was okay but we were kept awake by other, drunk guests screaming and shouting in the corridor at 2.30 am so didn't have a great night sleep.

Reviewed by
A Jenkins

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent overall
Excellent overall. Got the room for £36 the day before. Only one niggle...... Everytime anyone turned a tap on the maserator kicked in with a noisey clonk! Stayed on the 2nd floor so it may nit happen on the 1st floor.

Reviewed by
G Quinn

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced
We stayed for one night for £59.00 and £69.00 rooms that didnt include breakfast. We found a lot of B & B's in Minehead/Porlock that were cheaper than this and included breakfast. Also it was very noisy and we wernt aware that The Duke stayed open until 2 am.

Reviewed by
debbie davies-potter

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late night disco
Everything was excellent until about 11pm when some sort of a very noisy 'disco' started up in the rooms below me room (112 ) this must have kept all your customers awake until it finished around 2.30 -3am even then there were people still outside in the forecourt making a noise.
This is not what your guests expect from a Wetherspoon hotel.

Reviewed by
P Cockburn-Mercer

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next