Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 285 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buisness trip
Hotel acceptable and clean but noisey because it is part of a large pub complex .

Reviewed by
J Bretherton

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stay of two nights - one good - one bad
We have stayed at this hotel before and had a good break so we booked again for a couple of nights.
They do warn that the hotel has a nightclub and that some noise can be expected which has never caused an issue before and the third party noise of nightclubbers leaving and the odd boy racer did not disturb our sleep.
What did disturb our sleep, however, was Wetherspoons own delivery that rocked up at 3.30am. The driver seemed to take a pride in the amount of noise he was making and we heard EVERY trolley cage being rolled up the path, empty cages being rolled back down the path and then systematically slammed into the back of a van until 4.30am - at which point, trying to get to sleep was futile. I'm amazed local residents have not complained to the local council.
Having already paid for the room for both nights, I had no way of negotiating a reduced / nil rate for the wasted night of the worst nights sleep I haven't had in a hotel.
There is no parking but the public car park is not far away so that is not an inconvenience as there is plenty of room to drop cases / bags off at hotel and get checked in before parking up.
Foodwise, there were little bits missing from most meals we had such as no naan breads with the curry because they had ran out and there was a little messing about at breakfast due to them running out of breakfast pancakes.

Reviewed by
adrian l

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wetherspoons standard which is fine
wetherspoons accom used to be good value but theyre starting to get a bit silly now, would only use if laterooms late deals. For the price they charge youd think you'd at least get breakfast (which is served in all spoons from early doors anyway, so its no skin off their nose really
good quality decor and accom though
late eves sometimes difficult to get attention at recep as staff double up on bar, so fri eves at 20:00 may be difficult to get acknowledged.
street parking but free for 1 hour I think.
local late bar downstairs.
make sure you keep key and booking conf on you when you go out or risk that doorstaff might not let you in later on.

Reviewed by
Steve L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pre Butlins stay
Lovely large family room, comfy beds and excellent and friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
M Byrne

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel and room were great, however, due to the fact the building is quite old, it was very noisy at night as the windows were only single glazed. When a delivery was being made over the road at 5:30 in the morning it felt like it was coming through our window, dispute the fact we were on the second floor

Reviewed by
Emily C

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy
The room was very nice and the hotel well situated. Ample parking not to far away. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
gordon sanderson

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Centrally located, lovely place, parking not always easy

Reviewed by
Julie S

From Ebbw Vale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room not as advertised
the room i booked on line said there was a power shower in the room what a disappointment the shower it was shocking it only just trickled out so was very very disappointed with that.. we ate four meals each during our stay and three were prefect could not fault them at all but the last night fish and chip where really shocking the fish was uneatable and i should have sent it back....one last thing first night i we were there i had to clean the cob webs off the ceiling before we could go to bed and there was five off them not just one.

Reviewed by
d watson

From whittlesey, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The duke of Wellington
The bed was okay but we were kept awake by other, drunk guests screaming and shouting in the corridor at 2.30 am so didn't have a great night sleep.

Reviewed by
A Jenkins

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was modern, clean and comfortable with an en suite, all necessary facilities i.e free easily accessible wifi, hair dryer, towels, tea and coffee. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and I felt very welcomed there. It was very noisey at night with people outside the bar below, I wondered if customers were told to leave the area outside after it shutting at 2am, as it seemed to carry on a while after this time. All in all I enjoyed my stay very much and knew I had very approachable, friendly staff to speak to if I needed anything. Thanks!

Reviewed by
Jane M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next