Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel


Wellington Square, Minehead, TA24 5NH

Price From 81.47 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (205)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Brad M

  • September 2014

Very good value for money. We had a very large and clean room

  • David R

  • August 2014

execellent stay

Our experience of staying at the Duke of Wellington Hotel Minehead,Somerset was very good and would recommend this hotel.we would stay again.

the rooms were nice,staff very helpful and polite,meals were nice good on price as well as drinks.very nice hotel of historical charm and character enjoyed the stay

  • K Willis

  • August 2014

Last minute weekend away

Centrally located for shops and a 5 to 10 minute walk to the sea front.

Try to avoid rooms overlooking the church yard and outside pub siting area as this is treated as part off the Nightclub which is only open on Friday and Saturday nights until 2am. If you are a night club going person, heavy sleeper or can avoid Friday and Saturday night stays or put up with 2 out off Say a 7 night say being disturbed then it is a great place to stay.

  • C Penny

  • August 2014

Pleasantly surprised!!

Booked as a spur of the moment last minute decision to take the kids to butlins for the day.

Googled b&b in mine head and this was only option available. Reviews looked ok so thought we'd give it a go. After a very busy & fun filled day down the road at butlins we headed to the hotel around 6pm. After a warm welcome, carted the kids & bags up 2 flights of stairs (no lift) to a clean, spacious & excellent value for money room. On a par with a Premier Inn or Travel Logde I could not fault the room for £49. Topped off with Good food & excellent service in the pub downstairs. Anyone looking for a great day out with the kids & a cheap overnight stay I would highly recommend.

  • J Critchley

  • August 2014

Fantastic hotel fantastic venue fantastic price.

  • n hedden

  • August 2014

Looks impressive from the outside. . . .

A lovely old building that really looks impressive and inviting but once inside my heart started to sink.

It just all felt a bit jaded, dull, characterless and "un-special" with long depressing corridors, locked fire doors on each level and a room with no view. At least the bed was big and comfortable(quite hard though, which suited me!) with clean sheets. The outside of the toilet was dirty and the carpet had a few bits here and there but other than that it seemed fairly clean. So if you're literally needing a bed for the night it's ok but I definitely would not stay here again- I would rather pay a bit more for somewhere nicer. In the restaurant a had a Caesar Salad which I can honestly say was the Vilest substance I have ever willingly put in my mouth-Never again!!!!!

  • Glyn P

  • August 2014

Excellent efficient staff food and accommodation really good value

All round good value

  • D Bodley

  • August 2014

Good hotel

Pro's: Nice hotel room, good bathroom facilities and I was pleasantly surprised to see a large and small fan were provided.

Whilst I did not make use of the opportunity, I was impressed that wetherspoons food and drink could be purchased to the room. Con's: No breakfast included in price of room, toothpaste was not provided and the room was quite costly.

  • H Nurse

  • August 2014

Sunny Minhead

A lovely stay, nice looking room however its position right by a fire escape somewhat spoiled the view.

Quite hot room too, unable to open the window far but two fans provided.

  • A Phillips

  • August 2014

Central Location

Great location, great price, would def stay again