Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Somerset > Minehead Hotels > Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wellington Square , Minehead, TA24 5NH
The Duke of Wellington first opened in 1820 as a traditional coaching inn and posting house. The hotel is a main focal point of Wellington Square and the town centre of Minehead – a bustling seaside town, with attractions to suit a large range of people. It is home to West Somerset Railway, running several steam trains throughout the day, over the summer period. Minehead is also famously home to the family amusement park Butlins, where any of our guests could visit, after purchasing a day’s pass. Minehead is on the north coast of Somerset, boasting some fabulous sea views. It is also known as ‘The Gateway to Exmoor’, as it is nestled in the centre of Exmoor National Park.

Please note -The Lloyds No.1 music venue is on the side of the hotel and open until 2.30am on a Friday and Saturday. Some rooms may experience a degree of noise from the Lloyds No.1 bar. If you would prefer a quieter room, please advise, when making your reservation, however subject to availability.

Sofa beds in the family rooms are suitable up to the ages of 14 we can supply a z bed at an additional cost of £10.00 per night.

Please note if you or any of your party damage any bedding/linen we reserve the right to charge you £50.00 for specialist cleaning.

Picture of Duke of Wellington- a JD Wetherspoon Hotel, Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 273 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very good facilities very good great choice for breakfast but most items on the plate were cold

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor room
Poor lighting - unable to read a book.
TV too far from bed.
Not a single drawer in the room.
Radiators only warm, luckily the weather wasn't too cold.

Reviewed by
J Ross

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were working in minehead and usually through the company stop at travellodge, we share rooms which means one sleeps on the sofa bed so booking a family room with sofa bed wasn't a problem but on arrival the lady on reception after seeing two men moved us to a twin room. Big rooms big beds big tv and biscuits!! Wetherspoons are well known for value and offer the same at their hotels. Excellent

Reviewed by
m bedford

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stopover on way from Cornwall.
Although we arrived before the check in time we were dealt with promptly a d given our room. The room, although not very big was adequate , with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The only gripe we had was the lighting. Even with the two overhead lights and the bedside lamps on it was very dark. The bathroom lighting was adequate but there was no radiator so the towel used for showering in the evening was still damp in the morning. So saying we were beautifully warm in the bedroom. Our lunch and supper were very tasty and curiously served. Over all l think the reception and eating areas were in need of refurbishment but it is a very busy pub. Thanks to the staff for their kind attention and Mr. Tim Martin for providing excellent, very reasonably priced hotel accommodation. This was our second stay.

Reviewed by
Michael Chapman

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
We booked this last minute on Late Rooms and were pleasantly surprised.

Reviewed by
n hackeson

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, great staff,
First time in your hotels, we usually stay in premier inns, We found the accommodation better than premier inn, more spacious and homely. Carol and Ann on reception were fantastic, very friendly and helpful..I'm in the industry so I was impressed Breakfast could have been better, but overall...Great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Stuart Roughley

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good

Reviewed by
j law

From Tipton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
We asked for a quiet room as we knew that the was a nightclub nearby however the noise from outside carried on until 2.30am. If this was a quiet room I shudder to think what a normal room was like. Staff however were very apologetic and tried to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

Reviewed by
A Rowe

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb stay at duke of wellington
Stayed here on the 24th October, great food, lovely clean room, nice staff and good value for money- again the food was superb from breakfast to evening meal.
Only two minus points- bed was too hard and would not pay the full price, I think the rate on late rooms reflects what it should be adequately, 9-10 defo back again.

Reviewed by
D Acton

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Minehead stay over
very good value, big clean rooms with a good shower and facilities, perfect for a short stay in Minehead.

Reviewed by
Bruce Thompson

From Lightwater, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next