No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Elder Lea House

5Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Clough Lane Rastrick, Brighouse, HD6 3QH
Elder Lea House is the only 5 Star Gold Award (Visit Britain graded) accommodation in the area offering high quality accommodation at reasonable prices. Elder Lea is a restored former Victorian mill owner's home set in award winning landscaped gardens close to the M62 Huddersfield, Halifax and major Yorkshire towns/cities.
Ideal for business guests we are also close to tourist attractions including Last of the Summer Wine, Bronte country and the Yorkshire/Derbyshire Dales. Accommodation is in large luxury en-suite rooms with quality furnishings,comfortable beds with pocket sprung mattresses to ensure a good nights sleep and every extra, including sherry. Single occupancy is in a luxury double en-suite room at no extra charge.
There is free broadband Internet access in every room, an office and lounge for guests to relax in. On-site car parking. Continental and Vegetarian breakfasts are comprised of the best local ingredients and are judged excellent by the Visit Britain Inspector. Snacks from our Lite Bite Menu are available on request.
A local inn serving excellent evening meals is only a few minutes walk away with other restaurants locally. Transport is available from nearby towns/railway stations and Leeds Bradford and Manchester airports on request and local taxis are readily available and inexpensive. At Elder Lea House nothing is too much trouble...........just ask
Picture of Elder Lea House, Brighouse at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 99% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay, was superb, very welcoming, and helpful. The breakfast was a great start to the day
Will definitely be returning

ManagementResponse

We really appreciate you giving us such an excellent review for our service and breakfast. It was lovely having you both stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. David and Dawn

Reviewed by
Paul Critcher

From Swanley, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and attentive

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for giving us such nice comments which we appreciate We will make sure your eggs and bacon are very lightly done for your next visit now we know how you prefer it! David and Dawn

Reviewed by
T Fisher

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit of luxury next to the M62
I was a woman travelling alone, and felt safe and looked after. I had "Meadow View" room, with a big comfy bed, and a pretty stunning bathroom. Breakfast was extremely nice, with choices, and the owners lived on the premises in a separate area and were very helpful and kind. I had a key and could come and go as I pleased. Very clean. There is a guest sitting room. The garden's very highly kept, with lovely plants, and a fun tree which has been cut in an umbrella shape, and has a seat round the trunk, so you can sit on the bench and peer out at the garden from under the branches. Probably one could sit there in the rain and stay dry, although I didn't get a chance to test that! [One thing to note - if you want to eat there in the evening, it's worth phoning ahead the day before to see what your options are.]

ManagementResponse

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such great comments especially that the area is "safe" for single ladies and you enjoyed your home cooked breakfast and luxury room. Information about places to eat locally and our own Lite Bite evening menu is provided in the confirmation email sent to guests. Thank you again, David and Dawn

Reviewed by
L Gibson

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B for extended business trip
Booked the suite on late rooms rate which proved very good value for money indeed. Was in the area for several days so wanted something above the average bed for the night, Elder Lea House was perfect. Hosts were very attentive, even researched and printed out several options for running routes in the area according to my spec for off road trails and hills! Great breakfast, well equipped spacious bedroom, huge bathroom and free Wi-Fi.

ManagementResponse

Thank you from us both for such an excellent review and your comments about,value for money,above average,great breakfast and perfect for your stay,which we really appreciate. Glad the running routes were helpful as we are always happy to print out local information for guests. We both look forward to seeing you again and good luck in the Alps! David and Dawn

Reviewed by
K Williams

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem in Brighouse
A very warm welcome from David and Dawn, despite my late arrival. Cosy room with all you could ask for, and and very good breakfast. Wish I had discovered this earlier - will be back.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for leaving us such a great review which is really appreciated by us both. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you visit family here. David and Dawn.

Reviewed by
David G

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect stay
David and Dawn made me feel welcome from the moment I arrived. Nothing was too much trouble at all, the room had everything I needed and was very comfortable. Although they only served breakfast and light snacks, they have a discount deal with a pub five minutes walk away, where the food (and the beer) was excellent too, for guests. All in all, a great, restful place to stay.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for leaving us such a great review as we appreciate time is not always available to do so. We are so pleased you like your luxury room and our service. Our "snacks" actually consist of a wide choice of home made soups and hearty sandwiches. We look forward to seeing you again. David and Dawn

Reviewed by
Lynne M

From Gedney Drove End, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good find.
Took pot luck on Elder Lea House, seeing good reviews from other travelers, and was not disappointed. Easy access from the motorway network, a warm welcome, comfy bed and good breakfast. Just what I need when out on the road.

ManagementResponse

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a good review,which we really appreciate. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again. David and Dawn.

Reviewed by
John S

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy bed and Lovely Breakfast
Lovely owners who make you feel very comfortable. Nothing is too much hassle for them. The Room was perfect with a comfy bed and powerful shower. Breakfast was lovely and sets you up for the day ahead perfectly!! Will definitely be returning and recommending to colleagues.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for the great review it really is appreciated as we understand with such busy lives it is not always possible to have the time to do one. We look forward to seeing you again and many thanks for the recommendations to your colleagues. David and Dawn

Reviewed by
Ceri H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in Brighouse
Hosts very welcoming and friendly, even gave me some cakes for lunch the following day!

ManagementResponse

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us such an excellent review after your stay with us. Hope the training you were giving next day went well and we are glad you enjoyed the home made cakes. Thank you, David and Dawn

Reviewed by
nick stephens

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the life !
What a delightful experience. My Brother and I stayed only for one night between house removals. Only wish we could have stayed for longer and certainly hope to go back, sooner rather than later. Charming and helpful host and hostess with two aged but lovely cats, welcoming drinks in our rooms and an excellent breakfast.

ManagementResponse

It was lovely to meet you and many thanks for such a wonderful review which is much appreciated. We are glad that the move went well and we both look forward to seeing you again soon. David and Dawn

Reviewed by
Peggy L

From Richmond , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next