You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Elder Lea House


Clough Lane Rastrick, Brighouse, HD6 3QH

Price From 241.24 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (13)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Andrew H

  • October 2016

Great - Hidden Gem

Fantastic B&B - I don't usually right reviews ...

but in this case I am making an exception as it is worth telling people about ... lovely little B&B just off the motorway so easy to get to and convenient for Halifax and Huddersfield. Rooms were great with a real attention to detail .. it has everything you need for a business stop over or a holiday ... I will defiantly go back on my next trip to the area. Doesn't do food in the evening but a nice pub (the four sons) just down the road is a great place to eat our (very reasonable too)

Response from hotel

Dear Andrew

Before our many thanks to Andrew just a correction, as booking last minute he didn't spot in our confirmation mail that we do soups & sandwiches in the evening.

Many thanks for making us an exception and writing such a great review which we both appreciate . Its always good when our attention to detail is publically

mentioned and our great location for business and pleasure.

Thank you for mentioning one of our 2 inns ,within walking distance that serve excellent food with a 10% discount to our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again.

David and Dawn

  • Brodie A

  • August 2016

What a lovely place to stay

The accommodation is amazing and run by a very friendly couple.

  • Carl W

  • May 2016

An oasis of quality service.

I was very pleasantly surprised at the level of care and service that David and Dawn provided during my one night stay.

The Victorian villa is amazing, clean and very elegently laid out, with the bedroom I had being large and spacious. Excellent breakfast served in a lovely dining room. Parking was available up the long drive, which I chose to reverse up to make it easier to get out in the morning. Many thanks for the friendly welcome and help in finding an evening meal locally. There are also a number of public houses close to the house which were very welcoming. Many thanks.

Response from hotel

Dear Carl

Many thanks for the great review and all of the positive comments about your

stay in your spacious luxury room with double bed (whether 1 or 2 guests)

Hopefully prospective guests will read your positive comments and book a stay

with us since we offer the best value for the highest quality in the area

Having local inns serving food within walking distance is a positive benefit of

our location as being close to the motorway and local towns.

Thanks again

David and Dawn

  • s uddin

  • March 2016

1 night stay

Stayed here for the night after travelling hours from Essex.

A nice warm welcome given by host David and Dawn. The house and room was spotless and cosy. Very quiet as well. No issues at all. The breakfast was amazing and check out was swift. Defo recommend this place.

Response from hotel

Dear Sahidha,

Many thanks for the wonderful review which we really appreciate and you comments about our quiet rooms, high standards of cleanliness and comfortable rooms.

So glad you liked our award winning breakfast and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks again,

David and Dawn

  • Helen M

  • March 2016

overnight stay

The hosts were extremely accommodating and helpful, with extra touches you don't get in a chain hotel, such as mineral water, biscuits in the room, and every effort made to supply gluten free products.

Response from hotel

Dear Helen,

Many thanks for the excellent review which we really appreciate, especially the comments on our GLUTEN free products and the EXTRAS we put in every guest bedroom to make their stay more enjoyable.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

David and Dawn

  • D Campbell

  • December 2015

Elder Lea House

Very friendly host who gave me very useful advice on the best routes to travel to avoid the worst of the traffic.

Excellent room with private bathroom next door. Very nice breakfast. They also had a very nice garden but unfortunately I did not have time to enjoy. Parking could be a challenge for some. There was insufficient width to turn a long vehicle round so I backed idown their long driveway to avoid backing out into traffic. I can recommend them.

Response from hotel

Thank you leaving us such a great review and its always nice when the complimentary extras we offer from electric blankets, sherry and even directions!, are recognised. So glad you enjoyed our award winning breakfast and hopefully when you return you will be able to sit our in our landscaped gardens with a drink.

David and Dawn

  • Arnold D

  • December 2015


What a great place to find.David and Dawn are top quality hosts and I found the experience faultless.

I only wish I could have stayed longer than a one night stopover. I'll be back !

Response from hotel

Dear Arnold,

Many thanks for leaving us the perfect score after your stay with us.

It is always special when a guest recognises the quality we offer at reasonable prices and passes that on to future guests.

We look forward to seeing you again.

David and Dawn

  • Z Osborne

  • August 2015

We were welcomed by David &Dawn and helped up to our room ,there was tea and coffee and a bottle o,

David and Dawn are a lovely couple who were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast was excellent,well presented .plenty of home made jam and marmalade and they catered for my Gluten Free as well. I wish I had found them earlier. Very enjoyable stay, thank you so much for everything.

Response from hotel

Many thanks for such a fantastic review which we really appreciate. We were happy to have gluten free items for your breakfast and glad you enjoyed Dawns home made marmalade and jams.

Thank you for mentioning our “nothing is too much trouble” way of treating every guest and we look forward to seeing you again.

David and Dawn

  • Nicola Stevens

  • May 2015

Lovely little house for an overnight stay near Leeds

I booked a last-minute stay at Elder Lea House last week so that my mother and I could attend a concert at the first direct arena in Leeds, which was approximately 25 minutes' drive away.

The owners, David and Dawn, were lovely - very welcoming and accommodating, and providing a personal touch with directions to York and recommendations for parking which was very helpful. The room was spacious and clean, with a large ensuite bathroom and picturesque views. The bed was higher than I am used to and reasonably firm but still comfortable. We were asked to order breakfast the evening before and we both ordered cooked half breakfasts, which was just the right amount once you also helped yourself to the cereals, yogurts and toast. Overall a very pleasant and stress-free experience with warm and welcoming hospitality, which was much appreciated.

Response from hotel

Many thanks for a wonderful review which we really appreciate, although not sure about us being "little!"

We always try to go "that extra mile" and it is great when guests recognise that and let future guests know, as it can make all the difference when prospective guests are looking for somewhere to stay locally.

For future guests its worth mentioning our beds are standard height and with quality pocket sprung mattresses which have received many great comments from other guests.

We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Leeds for a Concert.

David and Dawn

  • Claire Newman

  • May 2015

Absolutely lovely place to stay . Will definitely be back!

Thank you so much to my lovely hosts on Thursday night.

I stay in many hotels and this little B and B tops them all for cleanliness and service. It is certainly deserving of all its awards and accolades. The whole place is spotless, I am a troublesome gluten free customer but Dawn and David provided beautifully for my dietary needs, with lovely GF toast for breakfast with home made jam and marmalade, GF cornflakes and a lovely GF ham sandwich set out for me in the lounge when I arrived in the evening. Other fellow coeliacs will know that this can be almost impossible to find, even in some large hotel chains and is very much appreciated. My bed was sooooo comfy, with a good quality duvet, bedding and pillows....I slept like a log, which I rarely do when away from home. Thank you Dawn and David. You are doing a fantastic job and I will be back when I am next in the area x

Response from hotel

It is always lovely when guests mention our GLUTEN FREE products since we ask guests in our confirmation email to let us know of any special dietary needs.

As the guest kindly mentioned we offer a range of gluten free products in our Lite Bite Menu and for breakfast.

Thank you for mentioning our substantial Lite Bite menu available every evening and our home made breakfast items as well as our high standards of cleanliness and service.

So glad you slept well and its good to have our pocket sprung mattresses recognised again !

We look forward to seeing you again.

David and Dawn