No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
at The National Piping Centre30-34 McPhater St , Glasgow, G4 0HW
The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel is situated within the internationally renowned National Piping Centre, in the city centre of Glasgow. Housed within a beautifully restored Italianate church, The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel offers 8 cosy bedrooms, providing a home from home for tourists, locals and bagpipers alike!

The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel has undergone an exciting refurbishment in October 2012, which emphasizes the unique character of this Scottish hotel.

The Pipers’ Tryst is classified by The Scottish Tourist Board as a 3 star ‘Restaurant with Rooms.’ All 8 bedrooms are equipped with en suite bathrooms, LCD flatscreen TV, hairdryer, trouser press, and tea and coffee making facilities. Just minutes walk from subway, bus and rail links – the hotel provides the perfect central location for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer.

The hotel is partnered with The Pipers’ Tryst Restaurant which offers a taste of fantastic Scottish dining through out the day. The National Piping Centre exists to promote the highland bagpipe. Therefore, every purchase made in both The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant and Hotel goes forward to sustain teaching of the bagpipes within the centre, our annual Piping Live! festival and four star visitor attraction – The Museum of Piping.

Please note that The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel is closed between 10pm and 8am, therefore all check-ins must be prior to 10pm Monday to Saturday and must arrive prior to 6pm on Sunday. Special arrangements can be made with the hotel for late check-ins or early arrivals.
We have a separate guest entrance which is available for guests to come and go as they please.

The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel prides itself on attentive and friendly service, and we look forward to giving each of our guests a warm and hearty Scottish welcome!
Picture of The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise an issue
Possibly this was just an issue in our room (Room 5) but the noise of some kind of vent above our room meant that it really was not a peaceful stay. We should have asked to move rooms, but I had assumed when we first got there that the noise must be coming from outside and that shutting the window would deal with it - but it didn't.
Also, breakfast is served 8-10am. We went down very last minute but were there at 9.55am and there was no bread/toast available which was a bit disappointing.

Reviewed by
Aileen M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't be more helpful
Stayed during Commonwealth Games so the room price had been inflated. I would have rated it as better value I suspect if it hadn't been charged £200 for one night! For that price I would expect 5* luxury but left feeling ripped off.
What I did get was a room which was fine but the bathroom could have done with a more thorough clean.
However, the staff were lovely, helpful beyond the cause which made all the difference and I would stay again at normal prices.

Reviewed by
Victoria B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality accommodation with wonderful staff
Wonderful mixture of original and modern features in the rooms and in the bar/restaurant area. Rooms and en-suite bathrooms are clean, well-maintained, pleasingly furnished & decorated, & spacious. The huge bed was very comfortable. The high point is the helpfulness of the staff. We were allowed to check-in early (to change our clothes for a wedding) and then a taxi was booked for us. Everything is done with friendliness, professionalism & huge smiles. On this occasion, we didn't take breakfast, apart from coffee, but, from a previous visit, I remember the quality of the food with great pleasure.

Reviewed by
John Walker

From Wishaw, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money hotel. Friendly welcome, very clean, great food.

Reviewed by
B Scullion

From Pewsey, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
Very nice quiet hotel with good sized rooms

Reviewed by
A Noble

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend
I would definitely stay in this hotel again and would have no hesitation in recommending this to others. A very small, friendly and welcoming hotel

Reviewed by
E Kennedy

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel and great location
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Pleasant room, friendly staff and great location in Glasgow.

Reviewed by
Frederic G

From Wavre, Belgium
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel well deserves to be "Small City Hotel of the Year". The hotel and room were clean and inviting. The staff are all extremely welcoming. It is a daunting experience for a single woman to eat alone in a public restaurant, but the staff always make it an enjoyable experiance. The food is second to none, You must ensure you eat at this establishment, the food is excellent and freshly prepared to order.

Reviewed by
K Simpson

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great little find
A very nice small hotel with very nice rooms & en-suite facilities. A very nice in-house restaurant with good food.
Just a short walk from the bus station and the town centre.
We will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
David W

From Orkney, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean warm room. Comfortable bed. No noise could be heard. Nice warm bath/shower.

Reviewed by
NICOLA E

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next