No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
at The National Piping Centre30-34 McPhater St , Glasgow, G4 0HW
The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel is situated within the internationally renowned National Piping Centre, in the city centre of Glasgow. Housed within a beautifully restored Italianate church, The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel offers 8 cosy bedrooms, providing a home from home for tourists, locals and bagpipers alike!

The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel has undergone an exciting refurbishment in October 2012, which emphasizes the unique character of this Scottish hotel.

The Pipers’ Tryst is classified by The Scottish Tourist Board as a 3 star ‘Restaurant with Rooms.’ All 8 bedrooms are equipped with en suite bathrooms, LCD flatscreen TV, hairdryer, trouser press, and tea and coffee making facilities. Just minutes walk from subway, bus and rail links – the hotel provides the perfect central location for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer.

The hotel is partnered with The Pipers’ Tryst Restaurant which offers a taste of fantastic Scottish dining through out the day. The National Piping Centre exists to promote the highland bagpipe. Therefore, every purchase made in both The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant and Hotel goes forward to sustain teaching of the bagpipes within the centre, our annual Piping Live! festival and four star visitor attraction – The Museum of Piping.

Please note that The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel is closed between 10pm and 8am, therefore all check-ins must be prior to 10pm Monday to Saturday and must arrive prior to 6pm on Sunday. Special arrangements can be made with the hotel for late check-ins or early arrivals.
We have a separate guest entrance which is available for guests to come and go as they please.

The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel prides itself on attentive and friendly service, and we look forward to giving each of our guests a warm and hearty Scottish welcome!
Picture of The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunately had to cancel this stay

Reviewed by
Helen P

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

RECENT STAY
A very nice room which was clean and tidy. However, I would not have paid the usual £60 and felt that £40 was reasonable enough. The only down side was the incredibly creaky floorboards directly outside of my room and noisy guests which made sleep quite difficult. Only a continental breakfast was included which was average. It would have been nice to have the option of poached eggs at least!!

Reviewed by
M Gorman

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Pipers Tryst!
I had a lovely time at the Pipers Tryst. I'd call it a hidden gem. The location was surprisingly central. The bar/eatery was cosy and comfortable. My room was surprisingly spacious, well appointed and comfortable. Lots of hot water on tap. The staff we terrifically friendly, helpful and considerate. Wonderful. I'd definitely go back!

Reviewed by
Gillian Snedden

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Food,Sunny Room But Bad Plug Holes
Overall it was a pleasant place to stay with a lovely Sunny Room, positioned well for Glasgow City Centre and the food was excellent. Staff were very helpfull and carried my suitcase up to the top floor.
Let down the ''Drains in the Bathroom Ensuite'' could do with a good dose of bleach and hairs from the last customer was left in the plug hole. I had to pull them out and wipe round with toilet paper then pour mouth wash down the drain. A bit bleaching on the grouting in the shower area would be advised, to take into consideration as well.
''I'ts a shame'' as I would say that this was the only related area that let the Hotel side down for cleanliness.
I would stay again if they paid more attention to cleanliness to plug holes in their ensuite.

Reviewed by
P Vass

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay
This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel recently and both were exceptional. This is a small hotel and extremely well run. The staff are polite and nothing is too much bother to them. They are attentive and polite. The meals are out of this world and reasonable too. Everything was cooked fresh with fantastic service. The rooms are lovely and very clean with everything you could wish for available. I have no hesitation to recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Reviewed by
K Simpson

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in Glasgow
Excellent hotel, more than adequate room for the price, centrally located, excellent staff and excellent food. You have to be a bit of a mountain goat to get to the rooms, but it does save on gym fees.

Reviewed by
W Orrell

From , England
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great find in a city
I was delighted with my choice of hotel.
Charming, warm welcome, full explanation of dining details, early departure breakast, map for finding station in the morning etc. Room, with view of side street only but SO quiet, was well furnished and the bath was huge! I enjoyed my meal and the choice was varied. I would have liked a enough light to read (on one's own in a restaurant) but otherwise ery nice small eatery. location excellen for city.

Reviewed by
susan b

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just stayed for one night and booked last minute. good value for money and evening meal ecellent. very near to shops in Sauchihall street. breakfast basic but all that we needed.

Reviewed by
Jean R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent apart from very noisy floorboards in bathroom and hallways.

Reviewed by
Yvonne P

From Scotland
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just perfect

Reviewed by
T Clark

From Muir of Ord, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next