No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pipers' Tryst Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
at The National Piping Centre30-34 McPhater St , Glasgow, G4 0HW
The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel is situated within the internationally renowned National Piping Centre, in the city centre of Glasgow. Housed within a beautifully restored Italianate church, The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel offers 8 cosy bedrooms, providing a home from home for tourists, locals and bagpipers alike!

The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel has undergone an exciting refurbishment in October 2012, which emphasizes the unique character of this Scottish hotel.

The Pipers’ Tryst is classified by The Scottish Tourist Board as a 3 star ‘Restaurant with Rooms.’ All 8 bedrooms are equipped with en suite bathrooms, LCD flatscreen TV, hairdryer, trouser press, and tea and coffee making facilities. Just minutes walk from subway, bus and rail links – the hotel provides the perfect central location for exploring all that Glasgow has to offer.

The hotel is partnered with The Pipers’ Tryst Restaurant which offers a taste of fantastic Scottish dining through out the day. The National Piping Centre exists to promote the highland bagpipe. Therefore, every purchase made in both The Pipers' Tryst Restaurant and Hotel goes forward to sustain teaching of the bagpipes within the centre, our annual Piping Live! festival and four star visitor attraction – The Museum of Piping.

Please note that The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel is closed between 10pm and 8am, therefore all check-ins must be prior to 10pm Monday to Saturday and must arrive prior to 6pm on Sunday. Special arrangements can be made with the hotel for late check-ins or early arrivals.
We have a separate guest entrance which is available for guests to come and go as they please.

The Pipers’ Tryst Hotel prides itself on attentive and friendly service, and we look forward to giving each of our guests a warm and hearty Scottish welcome!
Picture of The Pipers' Tryst Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midsold accommodation
Booked a double room for my wife & I as a wee treat for our 10th wedding anniversary (last minute deal : £60 b&b)....upon arrival I was informed it should be £80 ;(( I paid the extra £20 to save any embarrassment to my wife & I .
We were given the keys to room 8 & proceeded up the stairs to unpack & ready ourselves for our evening meal but alas as I opened the door I noticed the bed wasn't made & a bra n knickers were Lying upon the bed and a pair of converse trainers too.... I immediately closed the door & went to reception to inform them....they told me to wait a wee while as they had to remedy a twin set of beds in2 a double bed :((....I helped the chambermaid move the beds about in room 4 & went downstairs to join my wife in the bar waiting for about another 20 mins...
My good lady was not amused at this carry on :(((
It was quite unprofessional & not treated properly...the room was clean & the bed was comfy but I don't think I had value for money as the continental brekky was so basic I just had toast :(((
If you just want somewhere to crash with no frills & no fuss being made about you then this is yer place too book....

Reviewed by
F Carroll

From , Scotland
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient Small City Centre Hotel
Very friendly staff on arrival, but a bit strange checking in at the Bar and not at a Reception.
A bit disturbed that when I asked to check in, was told that I was only booked
for one person, whereas my Late Rooms booking confirmation clearly stated two people
and I was also told that instead of £60 I would have to pay £80, despite my booking confirmation
also stating £60.
The girl checking in had to go away and confirm that I would only be charged £60.
The room was clean and a reasonable size, but very warm and so had to keep the window open
and there was lots of noise from ventilation systems on roofs.
The view was well, not scenic, looking on to roofs of adjoining buildings.
A warning to anyone with physical restrictions, our room was up three flights of steep stairs
and there is no lift and no offer to help with luggage.
Due to the fact that there was a 50th Birthday Party private function on in the restaurant,
we couldn't sit for a drink in the bar in the evening.
Complimentary breakfast was good apart from the cerial, which was definitely not Kellogs !!
There is no parking provided and I had to pay £10 for a local car park.
On the plus side, yes there is one, as I said the staff are very friendly and the hotel is
very convenient for bars, restaurants and city centre shops.

Reviewed by
James B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Really lovely and comfortable room. Very clean, great location, massive double bed! Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Lorna T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glasgow nite out
Good room at nice price only negative point, £13 for a steak and not the best but the scallops were fantastic.
I would recommend this hotel if your looking for somewhere central.
First time but not the last.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

26/06/13
Myself & my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for a one night stay.
The hotel was easy to locate from the motorway. The parking is ok around the hotel was ok but if it is a busy time of the year you may have to park further away than you would like to.
The room was very clean & tidy & access to Glasgow city centre is on the doorstep.
The only complaint I really have is the only option for breakfast is the continental option. A cooked breakfast comes at a price, which considering the price of the room was a bit cheeky.
Overall a good stay though.

Reviewed by
Paul Park

From Aberdeen, Scotland
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable room and less than 5 minutes walk into the city centre made this an ideal location and good value for money. No complaints whatsoever.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing base to visit Glasgow
Quite basic but adequate accommodation with a clean,
comfortable room. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food well prepared and tasty. the hotel is well situated for easy access to railway stations and city centre.

Reviewed by
P H

From , England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunately had to cancel this stay

Reviewed by
Helen P

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

RECENT STAY
A very nice room which was clean and tidy. However, I would not have paid the usual £60 and felt that £40 was reasonable enough. The only down side was the incredibly creaky floorboards directly outside of my room and noisy guests which made sleep quite difficult. Only a continental breakfast was included which was average. It would have been nice to have the option of poached eggs at least!!

Reviewed by
M Gorman

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Pipers Tryst!
I had a lovely time at the Pipers Tryst. I'd call it a hidden gem. The location was surprisingly central. The bar/eatery was cosy and comfortable. My room was surprisingly spacious, well appointed and comfortable. Lots of hot water on tap. The staff we terrifically friendly, helpful and considerate. Wonderful. I'd definitely go back!

Reviewed by
Gillian Snedden

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next