No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Slaters Country Inn

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Stone Road, Baldwins Gate, , Newcastle under Lyme, ST5 5ED
Slater's Country Inn has a high reputation for quality food, all meals are freshly prepared and cooked on the premises. Bar meals are available all day, every day. The ever popular Steak and Kidney pie is always on the menu although Chef Mike Spink does change the menu to reflect the season and the produce that is available locally. The coffee shop situated within the Craft Villages is open Tues to Sun and Bank Holidays, offering hot and cold beverages, cakes, pastries, paninis and sandwiches and a home-cooked carvery on Sundays. Slater's Hotel adjoins the Inn and provides twelve exceptionally appointed rooms with en-suite facilities. All rooms are of a superior standard with first floor bedrooms having Queen sized beds and the ground floor bedrooms having twin beds. Room Facilities, Television, Tea and coffee making facilities, Trouser Press (hotel only) and ironing facilities, Hairdryer.
Picture of Slaters Country Inn, Newcastle under Lyme at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

H

Reviewed by
J Hamilton

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stress Free Stay
I was booked in to stay for 2 nights. Hotel is in a very peaceful & beautiful location even though on a main road into Newcastle - under - Lyme.
Room was very comfortable & relaxing, also the Wi-Fi connection was excellent and I was able to complete my business notes every night.
The food was very good value for money, the steak & kidney pie was well worth it.
I would recommend this hotel and I will be staying there again when in the area.

Reviewed by
B Houlders

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and am never disappointed with my stay. Excellent value for the money.

Reviewed by
A Gee

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You would be really hard pushed to say anything negative about Slaters

Reviewed by
Paul Waddon

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice country escape away from the town, a little difficult to get to, large sized room.
My only complaint is that there was a live band on the Sat evening, that began at 10.30pm, & finished with rowdy guests owing to a football match also.
As i was there on a 3 day intensive study course starting at 9 & finishing at 5pm & 7 months pregnant, perhaps not so great as i needed my rest! ( room was opposite the main bar ground floor)
Also there were no local eatery's if you were not found of what was on offer within the compound.

Reviewed by
j Gill

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For anything in the Stoke Area - Choose Slaters
Fantastic accommodation.
Great food.
Quiet and peaceful.
So what if it is a bit out of town !

Reviewed by
John Morrison

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stop on way to Oxford.
Found Slaters Country Inn following quick search on Internet encounter to Oxford from Scotland. what a hidden gem, the accommodation was clean and well presented. The evening meal was fantastic, as was the breakfast. Highly recommended, would definitely stay again when passing through location again.

Reviewed by
Steve L

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden away
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room would benefit from a little modernisation, but it was cosy. The food at the bar was amazing.

Reviewed by
Berenice P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good deal
We stayed here very good value , a bit slow on sunday at 8.30am for breakfast but very clean. good shower great bed and good beer and food well done

Reviewed by
stephen boyer

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great night
despite this hotel hosting a wedding reception we were not troubled at all and had a lovely evening and night in a ground floor room

Reviewed by
M Carter

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next