No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Greensands Guesthouse

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Reading Road, East Hendred, , Wantage, OX12 8JE
Greensands B&B is situated on the A417 between Wantage and Rowstock and adjacent to the picturesque village of East Hendred in South Oxfordshire. Set amidst what used to be a major fruit growing area the countryside beckons you to take time off from work and explore. THE ANNEXE - Within a short stroll from Greensands we have built a new annexe to provide more accommodation. The Annexe is actually situated on the edge of the village and only a short walk from the three wonderful inns that serve food. Despite this tranquil and rural setting Greensands and the Annexe are only 5 minutes drive from Both Harwell and the Diamond Project as well as Milton Park, one of the largest business parks in the County. Didcot station is only 4 miles drive away and the city of Oxford can also be easily reached within 20 minutes drive down the A34. Situated a few miles South of the Ridgeway and the Berkshire Downs which is a wonderful area to explore on foot or by bike. Greensands is located on the edge of the village of East Hendred, A picturesque village nestled at the foot of the Berkshire downs and a wonderful gateway through which to explore the Ridgeway and the surrounding open countryside. The village of East Hendred itself has won many awards for it's beauty and is a mix of architecture running back though time with an abundance of thatched cottages and timber framed buildings. It also boasts three public houses who all serve food, a village shop and Post Office along with a church with a faceless clock! Our guest house has been awarded a 3 Star rating from the AA. This does not include the Annexe.
Picture of Greensands Guesthouse, Wantage at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate but disappointing
At the time of booking, the use of a separate annexe is not made clear.
The accommodation in the annexe was a clean, light and spacious room but with a number of shortcomings. The bed was very low and narrower than we are used to. It was the only thing in the room to sit on if you wished to relax or work. Although there was a lounge area if required. There was no bedside tables on which to put your cup of tea (highlighted by the stains on the carpet) or drawers for personal items. There were two over large wardrobes with a useless narrow bedhead shelf. Our room on the A417 road side of the annexe suffered from extensive traffic noise well into the night. The bathroom would benefit from a shelf for toothbrushes etc. and lack of a blind left one feeling exposed. However the cooked breakfast were very good although menu availability was noticeable. Not the best B&B we have used in the area.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional
Very quiet overnight. The room I stayed in the bed had seen better days and the pillows were lumpy. Linen was clean. Needs a mirror near a plug socket. Could just with a little TLC and some maintenance to sort out the tap. Breakfast was lovely and the hosts chatty and lovely.

Reviewed by
Caroline F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Greensands - a nice setting but disapppointing first night
I had booked a double room with ensuite but when we were shown the room - it definitely wasn't a double (clues: one glass and one cup by the kettle, and the bed must have been a four-footer). Too tired to comment at the time. It was the hottest day of the year and we'd had a marathon journey. I ended up sleeping on the floor! Only giving in when I fell out of bed! However they changed our room for the second night to one of their annexes which was more comfortable.

Reviewed by
Carolyn C

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, did the job.
We stayed for 1 night as we were at a wedding nearby. The owners are really friendly and helpful. The accommodation itself is nice, clean and fuss-free. The only drawback is how close it is to the motorway so can be a little bit noisy.

Reviewed by
P Abraham

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely guesthouse in beautiful location
The Guesthouse is set in beautiful countryside. There was ample parking, and the room itself was great- I had booked a single en suite room, yet was given a large room with both a double and single bed. Everywhere was clean, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the breakfasts were delicious.

Reviewed by
Kathryn F

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pit Stop
Clean, comfortable, lovely breakfast. Fitted my needs perfectly on this occasion. Only negative was hearing the occupants in other rooms. Not very sound proof.

Reviewed by
R Frost

From Saffron Walden, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, good value and friendly service
After a long day working in Oxford, Greensands was a very pleasant place to rest up before going home the next day. The 'annexe' has a HUGE garden - a great space to stretch the legs and if you want to go further, the village if East Hendred is all but surreal in its beauty.
The breakfast at Greensands was excellent :-) More than enough to fuel the drive home...
If there was a down side, it was the bathroom... The fittings looked a little tired (and not too well secured) and limescale on the shower head was well past the point of needing to be seen to...
That said, I would be more than happy to stay at Greensands again..

Reviewed by
Steven S

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room, although clean and tidy, was on the small side by trhe fact there was no room for a bedside table on one side of the bed.

Reviewed by
Patricia Noakes

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, friendly and comfortable
One night stop. Place looked brand new and room was comfortable. No hairdryer in room was only thing missing but apart from that it is certainly better than most Premier Inn's or similar I have stayed in. I didn't have the opportunity to enjoy it but there are extensive gardens and lots of garden games etc so I'd imagine it is a great place to stop for families. Very fast breakfast service which was just as well as they only start to serve at 8am and I needed to be elsewhere at 8.45!

Reviewed by
Nicola P

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellant value for money, room was clean , bright and comfortable. Sue the breakfasts were great and l enjoyed our little chats. Would stay again

Reviewed by
Denise L

From Didcot, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next