Reviews - Greensands Guesthouse


Reading Road, East Hendred,, Wantage, OX12 8JE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Brano L

  • September 2015

Nice stay

Comfy bed, very nice b'fast.

Nicely hidden away.

  • R Walker

  • September 2015

Found a gem here

Well, I spotted this place a few weeks ago, read the mixed reviews and decided against it, so opted to stay somewhere else which was slightly more expensive.

This time round I had to make a late booking, this was close to where I needed to work, so I took the plunge and booked it. I'm glad I did. This place is a little gem. When I arrived, they saw I am a tall chap and I'd booked the single room. They had a double room available and upgraded me to it at no extra cost. I had a wonderful welcome, with the hostess advising me of where the best places in the lovely quaint little village were to eat. My room was absolutely fine, clean, spacious, views onto the large garden. Hot water, TV, toiletries, making facilities etc. I was in the annex, close to the main road. I'd read some reviews saying it was a bit noisy. It wasn't. You could hear the traffic if you really tried during rush hour, but there were no disturbances. The welcome at breakfast was great, the food was hot and plentiful. There was ample car parking. The only minor negative was that the wifi wasn't available in the Annex. To be fair, it said this on the literature prior to booking, so can't be a cause for complaint. the hostess advised me I could use the dining room, where there was wifi if I needed it. This was great value for money and I'd would definitely stay again if I'm in the area.

  • Trevor L

  • September 2015

weekend stay

This was a 1 night stay whilst attending a wedding.

A bit expensive for one night, but breakfast was quite tasty and the service was very good. Nice location for a country retreat.

  • Jordan M

  • August 2015

Awful stay here. What has happened?

I work at Newcastle University and as part of our PhD postgraduate avenues of study, training courses are offered at the nearby Rutherford Appleton Laboratory campus.

I am in charge of carting down the doctoral students from Newcastle to Oxford and for several years we used this establishment. We would have a pleasant stay, talk to the kind gentleman in charge who actually used to work at the RAL campus whilst paying our bills then head back up north. The last occasion was completely different. I was attending a RAL training course along with 2 doctoral students and therefore agreed to drive us all down. We booked into Greensands online and set off down from Newcastle. About 5 minutes from arrival I got a missed call on my mobile (I was unable to answer as I was driving). We eventually arrived, and was greeted by a flustered young woman with 2 kids running around. She asked who we were and when I told her, she said she had just left me a voicemail and that I should probably disregard it. She marked myself and one of my companions down and then confusingly looked at the third member of the group and asked who he was. He explained, but she had no indication that he had made a booking to stay there. He produced a computer print out of his booking, along with an email conversation of him checking his reservation two days previous and an employee from Greensands actually confirming his reservation. Still she had no booking for him, and actually said she had no idea who had confirmed the booking via email (conveniently . . . ). Given that the B&B was fully booked, she tried contacting a few other places in the area but to no avail. Rather than, you know, sending my colleague 200 miles back up to Newcastle, I agreed to split my booking with him. We then discovered that we were not to be given the rooms we had actually booked, but other rooms due to overbooking. We were moved over to the other building, different to that we had booked in (the establishment is split over two buildings some 200 metres apart linked by a country road with no pedestrian walk way) and shown our rooms. One on the first floor, one on the ground floor. We grabbed a few essentials from the local Sainsbury's then went to sleep to start our training course the following morning. We got up and I checked my voicemail from the previous evening to discover a rather irate and rude call from the woman (with kids screaming in the background) asking where we were, even though we arrived at five to 6 and had stipulated that we would arrive by 6. We all agreed that the breakfast we had was definitely smaller than the last time we had stayed, then set off to our training course. That evening, we decided to walk to a local pub for our evening meal so that I could have a few drinks along with everyone else. We walked down to the Plough and ordered several meals and drinks. After a good feed and 4 pints of lager or so we decided to walk back up to the rooms. Upon returning, we found a giant swarm of ants had broken into the ground floor flat and was carrying off whatever it could forage through the hole it had entered in the corner of the room. And when I say swarm, I am not talking about the odd 3 or 4 scout ants, I am talking about a continuous stream of at least 100 ants at any given time in a long line stretching 2 metres across the carpet. I called the mobile number given in the room for contacting the B&B owner and the young woman answered. I told her what was going on and she said she would come and take a look, in a mild tone of distinct indifference. About 30 minutes later she arrived and was rather shocked herself at the situation once she had seen it. She asked us to pack our belongings as we could be moved over to the other site and we should meet her there. I told her that I couldn't drive us there as I was over the limit, and rather grumpily she agreed to ship us there in her car. So I left my car at one site and was moved to the other and was shown to a single room, as was my colleague who I had been forced to share a room with, even though suddenly there were two free single rooms for us to occupy. The following day I (rather dangerously) walked along the country road to get my car and we finished our training course and were presented with the bill. The colleague whom Greensands had 'no reservation' for was charged for virtually a full stay even though he had been forced to share my room for almost his entire stay. On returning home, I discovered in the whole upheaval of being moved rooms I had misplaced my coat. I contacted Greensands immediately and was told by the woman that she would look for it. A couple of days later I called again and was told that the cleaner HAD found my coat in one of the wardrobes and that if I sent a forwarding address it would be shipped on. Naturally I offered the postage cost. A few weeks past and I hadn't received anything. I contacted the woman and was told it hadn't been shipped yet as the cleaner had placed it in a locked cupboard and she didn't have the key (right.......). She apologised and said it would be shipped that weekend. Two weeks later I called and a man answered. I asked him what on earth was going on with my coat and was told it was unlike the woman not to have forwarded something on and he would investigate and get her to call me back. A few days later I had heard nothing and so just decided to call the woman. I have yet to this day speak to the woman again or receive my coat back. If I call from my mobile number the call is immediately dropped. The stay here cost me a £40 coat and quite frankly, almost my sanity. We travel down to Oxford 4 to 5 times a year and I will not be staying here again. I have subsequently starting booking all of our doctorals into Byways further up the motorway. This establishment used to be awesome. God knows what happened to it . . . . Bring back the old guy who used to run it like clockwork . . . .

  • David T

  • August 2015

Our visit to the grandchildren

Generally good, although a lot of traffic noise and would prefer a wider bed!

  • John M

  • July 2015

good quality and value

Great location near Wantage and best value in the area

  • Ben G

  • June 2015

Good Room

This guesthouse is located in an easy to find location, the room was clean, if a little rough around the edges but very adequate.

Breakfast started early enough (7.45) so I could partake before leaving which was excellent and not what I usually find. Overall I would recommend these lodgings, especially if you want to visit oxford (20 minutes down the road) by car but dont want to pay the expensive hotel rooms in the city.

  • N Crew

  • December 2014

Adequate for needs but wouldn't stay for longer

On arrival the sat nav took me to the annex building which was like a ghost town.

Despite there being a bell to ring the building appeared empty and there was only a mobile number to ring for queries, I think that a sign directing to you to the main buildng for check in would be most useful. Getting to the main building, which is off the main road and clearly signed, again there is a lack of signage regarding reception and check in, I had to ring to find out where to go. The room was adeqaute, nice comfy bed at least, but the boiler was in a cupboard in my room (number 5) which consequently kept me awake well into the night - not great for an early start for work in the morning. It was clean and tidy, free wi fi which was very good, and the grounds are stunning - even in Winter. I didn't have time for a proper breakfast during my stay so can't comment on the food, but there was a good selction of yogurt, fruit, cereal and drinks in the morning and a choice of cooked breakfast options, I had fried egg on toast one mornign which was very tasty.

  • H Baldwin

  • December 2014

Greensands Guesthouse

This B&B is such good value for money; the room was nothing special but was more than adequate.

The man who I presume is the owner and who checked me in offered to drive me to my job interview the next morning as it was nearby which was very kind and above and beyond anything I expected. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - excellent customer service!

  • Stephen G

  • December 2014

Base for some hiking

Picked it because of its convenient location for where we needed to be.

Room was big. Bed was two singles pushed together which meant there was a crack down the middle - less than ideal for snuggling up but it wasn't too bad. Room was really cosy warm, but the bathroom was like a fridge and we couln't find a way to get it warmer. Shower was really not in great working order which was a shame. Service and breakfast was good, just as you'd expect. Good amount of safe off road parking.