No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Greensands Guesthouse

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Reading Road, East Hendred, , Wantage, OX12 8JE
Greensands B&B is situated on the A417 between Wantage and Rowstock and adjacent to the picturesque village of East Hendred in South Oxfordshire. Set amidst what used to be a major fruit growing area the countryside beckons you to take time off from work and explore. THE ANNEXE - Within a short stroll from Greensands we have built a new annexe to provide more accommodation. The Annexe is actually situated on the edge of the village and only a short walk from the three wonderful inns that serve food. Despite this tranquil and rural setting Greensands and the Annexe are only 5 minutes drive from Both Harwell and the Diamond Project as well as Milton Park, one of the largest business parks in the County. Didcot station is only 4 miles drive away and the city of Oxford can also be easily reached within 20 minutes drive down the A34. Situated a few miles South of the Ridgeway and the Berkshire Downs which is a wonderful area to explore on foot or by bike. Greensands is located on the edge of the village of East Hendred, A picturesque village nestled at the foot of the Berkshire downs and a wonderful gateway through which to explore the Ridgeway and the surrounding open countryside. The village of East Hendred itself has won many awards for it's beauty and is a mix of architecture running back though time with an abundance of thatched cottages and timber framed buildings. It also boasts three public houses who all serve food, a village shop and Post Office along with a church with a faceless clock! Our guest house has been awarded a 3 Star rating from the AA. This does not include the Annexe.
Picture of Greensands Guesthouse, Wantage at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate for needs but wouldn't stay for longer
On arrival the sat nav took me to the annex building which was like a ghost town. Despite there being a bell to ring the building appeared empty and there was only a mobile number to ring for queries, I think that a sign directing to you to the main buildng for check in would be most useful. Getting to the main building, which is off the main road and clearly signed, again there is a lack of signage regarding reception and check in, I had to ring to find out where to go.
The room was adeqaute, nice comfy bed at least, but the boiler was in a cupboard in my room (number 5) which consequently kept me awake well into the night - not great for an early start for work in the morning. It was clean and tidy, free wi fi which was very good, and the grounds are stunning - even in Winter. I didn't have time for a proper breakfast during my stay so can't comment on the food, but there was a good selction of yogurt, fruit, cereal and drinks in the morning and a choice of cooked breakfast options, I had fried egg on toast one mornign which was very tasty.

Reviewed by
N Crew

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Greensands Guesthouse
This B&B is such good value for money; the room was nothing special but was more than adequate. The man who I presume is the owner and who checked me in offered to drive me to my job interview the next morning as it was nearby which was very kind and above and beyond anything I expected. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - excellent customer service!

Reviewed by
H Baldwin

From Malton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Base for some hiking
Picked it because of its convenient location for where we needed to be. Room was big. Bed was two singles pushed together which meant there was a crack down the middle - less than ideal for snuggling up but it wasn't too bad. Room was really cosy warm, but the bathroom was like a fridge and we couln't find a way to get it warmer. Shower was really not in great working order which was a shame. Service and breakfast was good, just as you'd expect. Good amount of safe off road parking.

Reviewed by
Stephen G

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very reasonably priced service and in my opinion very good value for money

Reviewed by
R Jones

From yeovil, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly welcome and a very pleasant room in the main house, not the Annex. Unfortunately, I had a room overlooking the road which is busy with lorries.
An easy walk (about 10 minutes) to a choice of pubs with good food and beer.

Reviewed by
John F

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and Practical
We were staying overnight for a wedding at the Cold Harbor Barn nearby. Our host met us at our taxi and showed us our room and facilities. He was also really helpful in getting us taxi information for our journey later. Our room was basic but clean and comfortable. It was great value for money, especially as we were quite late in booking.

Reviewed by
H Campbell

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for Harwell

Reviewed by
K weston

From Mold, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate but disappointing
At the time of booking, the use of a separate annexe is not made clear.
The accommodation in the annexe was a clean, light and spacious room but with a number of shortcomings. The bed was very low and narrower than we are used to. It was the only thing in the room to sit on if you wished to relax or work. Although there was a lounge area if required. There was no bedside tables on which to put your cup of tea (highlighted by the stains on the carpet) or drawers for personal items. There were two over large wardrobes with a useless narrow bedhead shelf. Our room on the A417 road side of the annexe suffered from extensive traffic noise well into the night. The bathroom would benefit from a shelf for toothbrushes etc. and lack of a blind left one feeling exposed. However the cooked breakfast were very good although menu availability was noticeable. Not the best B&B we have used in the area.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional
Very quiet overnight. The room I stayed in the bed had seen better days and the pillows were lumpy. Linen was clean. Needs a mirror near a plug socket. Could just with a little TLC and some maintenance to sort out the tap. Breakfast was lovely and the hosts chatty and lovely.

Reviewed by
Caroline F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Greensands - a nice setting but disapppointing first night
I had booked a double room with ensuite but when we were shown the room - it definitely wasn't a double (clues: one glass and one cup by the kettle, and the bed must have been a four-footer). Too tired to comment at the time. It was the hottest day of the year and we'd had a marathon journey. I ended up sleeping on the floor! Only giving in when I fell out of bed! However they changed our room for the second night to one of their annexes which was more comfortable.

Reviewed by
Carolyn C

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next