You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Greensands Guesthouse

3

Reading Road, East Hendred,, Wantage, OX12 8JE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Sam Dearing

  • June 2016

Little Gem in East Hanney.

I recommend this hotel to all.

Lovely setting. Staff are great, prepared to go the extra mile for you. For 55 quid for a family with Brecky is great. Not the Ritz but not that kind of money either. Clean, quiet with countryside all round and a Gourmet Pub a mile away, I'll be back.

  • Patricia Noakes

  • June 2016

Whilst the room was bright and clean there was a significant lack of drawer space.

  • Sam Dearing

  • May 2016

Quiet and Pleasant

All good.

Budget accomodation with good full English Breakfast. Staff good and very obliging. Gardens well groomed.adequate off road secure parking. A small fridge would be an asset. Extra blanket would be good for cold nights. Overall very satisfied with pleasant stay.

  • A hough

  • April 2016

Very good and good value would stay again

  • N Juggins

  • March 2016

Great B&B

This was my second stay here, on both occasions I had room 5 with an adjacent bathroom.

The room is spacious and comfortable.

  • m jodie

  • November 2015

green sands

There really isn't anything negative I can tell you about, as the whole experience was very good.

I stayed in room 5 of the main house which does not have a ensuite, but does have a private bathroom opposite and I noticed when you use the shower, you end up soaking the carpet as a result of water coming out of shower head and running down the hose and then down the edge of the bath on to the floor.

  • Brano L

  • September 2015

Nice stay

Comfy bed, very nice b'fast.

Nicely hidden away.

  • R Walker

  • September 2015

Found a gem here

Well, I spotted this place a few weeks ago, read the mixed reviews and decided against it, so opted to stay somewhere else which was slightly more expensive.

This time round I had to make a late booking, this was close to where I needed to work, so I took the plunge and booked it. I'm glad I did. This place is a little gem. When I arrived, they saw I am a tall chap and I'd booked the single room. They had a double room available and upgraded me to it at no extra cost. I had a wonderful welcome, with the hostess advising me of where the best places in the lovely quaint little village were to eat. My room was absolutely fine, clean, spacious, views onto the large garden. Hot water, TV, toiletries, tea.coffee making facilities etc. I was in the annex, close to the main road. I'd read some reviews saying it was a bit noisy. It wasn't. You could hear the traffic if you really tried during rush hour, but there were no disturbances. The welcome at breakfast was great, the food was hot and plentiful. There was ample car parking. The only minor negative was that the wifi wasn't available in the Annex. To be fair, it said this on the literature prior to booking, so can't be a cause for complaint. the hostess advised me I could use the dining room, where there was wifi if I needed it. This was great value for money and I'd would definitely stay again if I'm in the area.

  • Trevor L

  • September 2015

weekend stay

This was a 1 night stay whilst attending a wedding.

A bit expensive for one night, but breakfast was quite tasty and the service was very good. Nice location for a country retreat.

  • Jordan M

  • August 2015

Awful stay here. What has happened?

I work at Newcastle University and as part of our PhD postgraduate avenues of study, training courses are offered at the nearby Rutherford Appleton Laboratory campus.

I am in charge of carting down the doctoral students from Newcastle to Oxford and for several years we used this establishment. We would have a pleasant stay, talk to the kind gentleman in charge who actually used to work at the RAL campus whilst paying our bills then head back up north. The last occasion was completely different. I was attending a RAL training course along with 2 doctoral students and therefore agreed to drive us all down. We booked into Greensands online and set off down from Newcastle. About 5 minutes from arrival I got a missed call on my mobile (I was unable to answer as I was driving). We eventually arrived, and was greeted by a flustered young woman with 2 kids running around. She asked who we were and when I told her, she said she had just left me a voicemail and that I should probably disregard it. She marked myself and one of my companions down and then confusingly looked at the third member of the group and asked who he was. He explained, but she had no indication that he had made a booking to stay there. He produced a computer print out of his booking, along with an email conversation of him checking his reservation two days previous and an employee from Greensands actually confirming his reservation. Still she had no booking for him, and actually said she had no idea who had confirmed the booking via email (conveniently . . . ). Given that the B&B was fully booked, she tried contacting a few other places in the area but to no avail. Rather than, you know, sending my colleague 200 miles back up to Newcastle, I agreed to split my booking with him. We then discovered that we were not to be given the rooms we had actually booked, but other rooms due to overbooking. We were moved over to the other building, different to that we had booked in (the establishment is split over two buildings some 200 metres apart linked by a country road with no pedestrian walk way) and shown our rooms. One on the first floor, one on the ground floor. We grabbed a few essentials from the local Sainsbury's then went to sleep to start our training course the following morning. We got up and I checked my voicemail from the previous evening to discover a rather irate and rude call from the woman (with kids screaming in the background) asking where we were, even though we arrived at five to 6 and had stipulated that we would arrive by 6. We all agreed that the breakfast we had was definitely smaller than the last time we had stayed, then set off to our training course. That evening, we decided to walk to a local pub for our evening meal so that I could have a few drinks along with everyone else. We walked down to the Plough and ordered several meals and drinks. After a good feed and 4 pints of lager or so we decided to walk back up to the rooms. Upon returning, we found a giant swarm of ants had broken into the ground floor flat and was carrying off whatever it could forage through the hole it had entered in the corner of the room. And when I say swarm, I am not talking about the odd 3 or 4 scout ants, I am talking about a continuous stream of at least 100 ants at any given time in a long line stretching 2 metres across the carpet. I called the mobile number given in the room for contacting the B&B owner and the young woman answered. I told her what was going on and she said she would come and take a look, in a mild tone of distinct indifference. About 30 minutes later she arrived and was rather shocked herself at the situation once she had seen it. She asked us to pack our belongings as we could be moved over to the other site and we should meet her there. I told her that I couldn't drive us there as I was over the limit, and rather grumpily she agreed to ship us there in her car. So I left my car at one site and was moved to the other and was shown to a single room, as was my colleague who I had been forced to share a room with, even though suddenly there were two free single rooms for us to occupy. The following day I (rather dangerously) walked along the country road to get my car and we finished our training course and were presented with the bill. The colleague whom Greensands had 'no reservation' for was charged for virtually a full stay even though he had been forced to share my room for almost his entire stay. On returning home, I discovered in the whole upheaval of being moved rooms I had misplaced my coat. I contacted Greensands immediately and was told by the woman that she would look for it. A couple of days later I called again and was told that the cleaner HAD found my coat in one of the wardrobes and that if I sent a forwarding address it would be shipped on. Naturally I offered the postage cost. A few weeks past and I hadn't received anything. I contacted the woman and was told it hadn't been shipped yet as the cleaner had placed it in a locked cupboard and she didn't have the key (right.......). She apologised and said it would be shipped that weekend. Two weeks later I called and a man answered. I asked him what on earth was going on with my coat and was told it was unlike the woman not to have forwarded something on and he would investigate and get her to call me back. A few days later I had heard nothing and so just decided to call the woman. I have yet to this day speak to the woman again or receive my coat back. If I call from my mobile number the call is immediately dropped. The stay here cost me a £40 coat and quite frankly, almost my sanity. We travel down to Oxford 4 to 5 times a year and I will not be staying here again. I have subsequently starting booking all of our doctorals into Byways further up the motorway. This establishment used to be awesome. God knows what happened to it . . . . Bring back the old guy who used to run it like clockwork . . . .