No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Greensands Guesthouse

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Reading Road, East Hendred, , Wantage, OX12 8JE
Greensands B&B is situated on the A417 between Wantage and Rowstock and adjacent to the picturesque village of East Hendred in South Oxfordshire. Set amidst what used to be a major fruit growing area the countryside beckons you to take time off from work and explore. THE ANNEXE - Within a short stroll from Greensands we have built a new annexe to provide more accommodation. The Annexe is actually situated on the edge of the village and only a short walk from the three wonderful inns that serve food. Despite this tranquil and rural setting Greensands and the Annexe are only 5 minutes drive from Both Harwell and the Diamond Project as well as Milton Park, one of the largest business parks in the County. Didcot station is only 4 miles drive away and the city of Oxford can also be easily reached within 20 minutes drive down the A34. Situated a few miles South of the Ridgeway and the Berkshire Downs which is a wonderful area to explore on foot or by bike. Greensands is located on the edge of the village of East Hendred, A picturesque village nestled at the foot of the Berkshire downs and a wonderful gateway through which to explore the Ridgeway and the surrounding open countryside. The village of East Hendred itself has won many awards for it's beauty and is a mix of architecture running back though time with an abundance of thatched cottages and timber framed buildings. It also boasts three public houses who all serve food, a village shop and Post Office along with a church with a faceless clock! Our guest house has been awarded a 3 Star rating from the AA. This does not include the Annexe.
Picture of Greensands Guesthouse, Wantage at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a very pleasant room however I was in a room which had disabled facilities which was absolutely fine but there wasn't a mirror other than a very small one above the sink. Therefore as an abled bodied person I couldn't check my appearance but for a disabled person it would have been extremely difficult.

Reviewed by
L Parker

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accomodation in beautiful grounds
Nice, clean, spacious room, set in beautiful gardens. Breakfast was excellent, with really nice lady serving

Reviewed by
Barrie Matthews

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
I stayed here for one night on a work related stay. The room allocated to me was a really good size with a great view over a lovely garden and really quite. Breakfast in the morning was really nice also. There is parking and great pubs really close by. I had a really good stay here and would definately return.

Reviewed by
K Murray

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location couple of nice pubs in village (no footpath for first part of walk but manageable) The hotel was clean and well cared for, only really down side was the bathrooms were a bit chilly and noise travelled easily through the hotel ( you couldn't pass wind without everyone in the hotel been aware of it) Breakfast was very nice served early which is ideal for a working visit.

Reviewed by
N Barber

From Malton, England
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Originally booked for 3 nights, but stayed for further 3 nights, cannot fault, excellent service, accommodation and friendly service, will definitely be staying again later in year.

Reviewed by
Angelina H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good stay with excellent service
Lovely accommodation and very friendly service. Good breakfast, cooked to order so only the bits we wanted! Bathroom very clean but could do with a bit of an overall and paint job!

Reviewed by
J J

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief stay at the Greensands Guesthouse
Really liked this place because everyone one was so friendly and helpful - real home from home feel. Just what was needed after a very hassled day.
One thing that needs to improve is the confusion over having the guesthouse on two sites - which site I was staying in was not made clear through the Late Rooms online booking process so I ended up at the wrong site as did the taxi driver who cam to collect me next morning.

Reviewed by
M King

From Billingshurst, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I really wanted somewhere cheaper and more basic with no breakfast, but there was nowhere near enough. Turned out to be good value after all because I was able to use the well-equipped kitchen to cook my own supper instead of eating out. There are 2 good pubs within a short walk though. Comfortable room. Beautiful quiet village (with shop) & countryside. I came for work but wished I could stay longer for pleasure. Beware: the bus service to this village is very poor. You need plenty of time to walk if you have no car, or £13+ for a taxi to Didcot.

Reviewed by
Victoria Boothman

From Guildford, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5