No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Greensands Guesthouse

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Reading Road, East Hendred, , Wantage, OX12 8JE
Greensands B&B is situated on the A417 between Wantage and Rowstock and adjacent to the picturesque village of East Hendred in South Oxfordshire. Set amidst what used to be a major fruit growing area the countryside beckons you to take time off from work and explore. THE ANNEXE - Within a short stroll from Greensands we have built a new annexe to provide more accommodation. The Annexe is actually situated on the edge of the village and only a short walk from the three wonderful inns that serve food. Despite this tranquil and rural setting Greensands and the Annexe are only 5 minutes drive from Both Harwell and the Diamond Project as well as Milton Park, one of the largest business parks in the County. Didcot station is only 4 miles drive away and the city of Oxford can also be easily reached within 20 minutes drive down the A34. Situated a few miles South of the Ridgeway and the Berkshire Downs which is a wonderful area to explore on foot or by bike. Greensands is located on the edge of the village of East Hendred, A picturesque village nestled at the foot of the Berkshire downs and a wonderful gateway through which to explore the Ridgeway and the surrounding open countryside. The village of East Hendred itself has won many awards for it's beauty and is a mix of architecture running back though time with an abundance of thatched cottages and timber framed buildings. It also boasts three public houses who all serve food, a village shop and Post Office along with a church with a faceless clock! Our guest house has been awarded a 3 Star rating from the AA. This does not include the Annexe.
Picture of Greensands Guesthouse, Wantage at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exelent
Motel was smart and clean. However I felt that it was a bit pricey.

Reviewed by
S Day

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
The only negative point I have is that they didn't have marmalade one morning, otherwise it was exactly what I would expect and the accommodation was significantly better than I have experienced in many hotel chains.

Reviewed by
James T

From Montreux, Switzerland
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet location - perfect !
Stayed in the annexe accommodation. Booked a single room for one night, but on arrival was given a family room. Very clean and spacious, lovely size bathroom. Would recommend, can't comment on the breakfast as the bed was so comfy I slept in and decided to miss the breakfast!!

Reviewed by
R Andersen

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A delightful experience
Set in a picture postcard village Greensands Guest house was an excellent choice for an overnight stay whilst in the area. The bedroom and facilities were very good and the breakfast everything that you could hope for with nothing too much trouble.

Reviewed by
Mary B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfied
I cannot fault this accomadation in any way. The room was everything that was advertised, large self contained and clean. The full English breakfast was cooked fresh every morning to your own preference, there was also a choice of cereals, fruit juices and yoghurts.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, I telephoned in advance to say our arrival would be an hour later than expected, we arrived about 2215 and this was no problem. One of the staff members was there to greet us show us to our room. We were given her mobile telephone to contact her if we needed anything else after she left.
We will be booking this accommodation again later in the year.

Reviewed by
Craig B

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate clean accommodation but lacking in areas.
Although the room was clean, reasonably large and light there were a number of shortcomings that were slightly annoying as clearly it had been furnished cheaply. The bed was only a double and was very soft (some might like it - we prefer medium to firm). There were no bedside cupboards or tables - just a shelf above the bed at quite a height - so nowhere to put cups of tea, alarms etc. The wardrobe was of adequate size (and plenty of hangars) but made of cheap white melamine so look tacky, there were no drawers and the overbed cupboards (also white melamine) were just for boxing in and not usable.
Luckily we were on non-road side of the annex and on 1st floor so we could have windows open - the place is right by a reasonably busy road and so would have been noisy on other side and with patio doors in rooms downstairs it would have been a risk to leave them open for air. The floorboards in the corridor need fixing as they are very squeaky and noisy when anyone walked on them.
On plus side the shower was decent with good spray (always important) and breakfast was pleasant and well cooked, although compared to other guest houses the selection of non-cooked items wasn't great. Also some good pubs (although slightly pricey for both food and drink) within walking distance and the village was very pretty.
All in all served its purposes but we have stayed in a lot better and more comfortable B&Bs for a lot less. Overall rating would be adequate.

Reviewed by
S Barrett

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
excellent room with a great outlook of a manicured garden,friendly staff,good food,pubs within a few minutes walk.

Reviewed by
ray pye

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
Neil K

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to stay
I have never enjoyed travelling alone as much as I enjoyed my stay at Green Sands. Beautiful surounding gardens, room was very clean, very attentive/friendly staff.Food made fresh each morning. Excellent. I shall be returning with my little Westie.

Reviewed by
Julia Heywood

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had stayed at this accommodation before in the main house and had been very impressed. The room was fine but I paid extra to have my own bathroom only to find that I didn't have hot water for the shower.
I was also disappointed with the breakfast which had been lovely last time I stayed but was not as good and I was given a tiny portion. Interestingly, the men seemed to be given bigger breakfasts!
Very disappointed overall.

Reviewed by
Sue W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next