Reviews - Ardwick house hotel


31 York Street central, Blackpool, FY1 5AQ

Price From 31.52 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (23)

65% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • claire h

  • September 2015

Lovely Couple shame about the hotel

Whilst Sue and Steve are a lovely couple who couldnt do enough for you, the hotel is really dated and not very clean.

There are 16 rooms, none of them with ensuite, the toilet for our room which we shared with the 3 others rooms on our level was down a flight of stairs. The bathroom down another 2 flights of stairs!. Rooms are like a step back in time, furniture from 30+ years ago, mattress which is just springs, creaky bunk beds which made a noise every time you moved on them. A tv that is tiny, didnt work and looked like it should be in a museum. Rooms are also very small. The 3 rooms next to our's were groups of young people on a night out, so very noisy beforehand and in the early hours when they got home (to be fair Steve did have a word with them about being quiet)

I think if this hotel had a total refurb and was for either youngsters partying or for families (not fair on either to mix the two) this would be a superb hotel. It is in an excellent location and the owners are really lovely. BTW no parking except in a car park across the road for £10 a night, factor that in with your stay, didnt know this beforehand!

  • Alison M

  • August 2015

Ardwick House hotel

It was a basic room and met our needs.

Wouldn't stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Dave Eggbeer

  • April 2015

Avoid at all costs

Really don't like giving bad reviews but just couldn't be avoided here.

The accommodation was like living in something in the Fifties. Unclean and not worthy of the three star rating. Also came the non refundable deposit so my friend who booked it was ripped off as well as unhappy with the standard. Avoid and turn elsewhere as there is a lot better places in Blackpool.

  • Kathleen Keane

  • February 2015


Short stay made fab by susan&steve.


  • A Bell

  • February 2015

Ardwick house hotel

Had A Brilliant Stay, Relaxing & Fantastic Friendly Owners

  • W Potter

  • October 2014

Good value for money! Excellent hosts, we'll be back, thank you!

We booked this last minute as we we got tickets for a show in Blackpool and needed to find accommodation fast.

Upon arrival our hosts were very friendly and welcoming and showed us to our standard double room which was basic, but clean. Everything we needed though for a cheap stopover. There are no en-suites, but the communal toilets and showers were clean, and we were able to borrow a towel as we had forgotten ours. Breakfast was just what we needed after a night out. Lots of choice, and we enjoyed it very much.

Location was ideal, just a 5 minute walk to the town center (we got a taxi back which wasn't much at all), and we had a walk down to the beach the day that we left which was literally at the end of the road.

  • Emma S

  • October 2014

Absolutely fantastic! Couldn't fault it at all!

I recently stayed with Susan and Steve at the Ardwick House hotel and can honestly say I had a fantastic time.

I booked just the one night as a little break away and wish I'd of booked for longer but couldn't due to work etc. On arrival at the hotel I was greeted very friendly by both Susan and Steve, I was given my key and directed to my room which was lovely and clean, smelt very rest. It wasn't en-suite but I didn't mind at all as the toilet and shower room was just outside, which I must add were very clean and did have a selection of toiletries available inside (which came in handy after forgetting my shampoo) there are hand towels provided in the room and if bath towels are needed you just need to pop and ask for one. The hotel is situated on a street pretty much facing central pier which was a perfect location as it is in walking distance to pretty much everywhere, fantastic for me as the town is just a few minutes walk away and I enjoyed doing abit of shopping. I found the hotel itself very clean and spent a lot of time sat in the bar talking to Susan and Steve aswell as a few other guests who were also staying there, so very welcoming. On arrival at the hotel I also realised I hadn't booked breakfast with my booking but they did allow me to just add it on which a good decision I made as the breakfast was absolutely delicious, very fresh. There was a variety to choose from such as fresh fruit, yogurts, cereal and a full English breakfast. Aswell as toast, tea, coffee and fresh orange juice. I couldn't fault this hotel at all and will definitely be going back to stay, thank you Susan and Steve for making me feel so welcome, especially when staying on my own.

  • Bethany C

  • September 2014


The hotel was local in town and very close to the promenade so there was lots to do and see without all the walking, taxis and buses.

The first impressions of the hotel were very clean and welcoming.... almost like being at home.

I stayed in a single room which was a smoking room however there was no smell - just fresh linen and a very clean room. I was provided with a hand towel and just had to ask if I needed a bath towel. My room was not on suite but there were some very clean communal toilets and showers at the end of the corridor. Showers were stocked with shampoo's and shower gel.

At breakfast there was plenty choice and everything was freshly cooked. Delicious.

There is a well stocked bar and a lovely, welcoming bar area were I was able to speak to other guests and the staff. The staff couldn't do enough for you and were extremely friendly.

  • Richard B

  • September 2014

poor housekeeping

friendly welcome....

only 2 hand towels provided for the whole weekend, room smelt of stale cigarette smoke, no clean bed linen and no replacement tea, coffee, milk etc

  • darren r

  • September 2014

an appauling experience , mould on the toast , single room turned into a double , never again !!!