No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Belgrave Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
61 CITY ROAD , CHESTER, CH1 3AE
Because we are small, (thirty three bedrooms), we are able to attend to all your needs as they arise, thus making your stay in Chester as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Nothing is too much trouble for our friendly staff, who will ensure you are made to feel ‘at home’ for the duration of your visit.
Our Olde Worlde dining room serves a full English Breakfast in the morning and the relaxed atmosphere of our elegant Regency Bar enables residents to unwind in congenial surroundings after a hard day’s work or a hard day shopping and sightseeing.
All our bedrooms have private facilities (some with showers, some with baths, so you can state your preference), colour tv, tea/coffee making amenities , radio, intercom, central heating and direct dial telephone.

Coach parties and Group bookings welcome
Picture of The Belgrave Hotel, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor hotel
Cold shower I informed staff of problem with shower they told me to fiddle with it still never worked I stayed for 4 nights when I checked out at 630 I was going to ask for a refund because I never had a hot shower on my stay there was no one at reception to speak to

Reviewed by
Gary Wilson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, lovely staff
Room was comfortable and well equipped, decorated very well which was a bonus!

Reviewed by
C O'Neill

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 males visiting Chester to commute to the open golf championship at Hoylake
good reception. rooms were available on arrival at 12.00pm. Excellent value for money for 3 males
not requiring high star rating.

Reviewed by
geoff p

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrific!
The worst hotel experience I have ever endured. Upon arrival (which was late at night, otherwise I would not have stayed in this place) the whole place smelled horrible - of mold, rubbish, smoke and just horrid. So did my room. It was filthy, even the bath. Light fitting hanging from the ceiling, TV no reception.
Breakfast - stone cold and horrible.
Really, this place should be visited by the environmental health.

Reviewed by
Jacqui P

From Horley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly buy basic
Friendly staff and service,
However the room was outdated, tired, and worn.
The shower was merely a rubber bath tap hose attachment (very disappointing/annoying).
Located opposite the train station, and close to good car parks.

Reviewed by
Steven M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic...you get what you pay for...
Lovely welcome. Room was basic and weathered. Beds need changing as like sleeping on springs...but room was needed after a night out and it did it's job! Breakfast was ok...beans were watery and cold but bacon was good quality...for a cheap hotel in Chester it did us ok.

Reviewed by
C Duncan

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

easter break
the bed linen was clean and so was the bathroom. This is usually all im bothered about as i only use it as a base. The people who run the hotel are very friendly, it is in an ideal location 10 minute walk from the centre.

Reviewed by
g price

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

holiday stay
heating in the room and bathroom wasn't on, making it feel really cold. Shower going cold and on/off all the time.
No lift up to the 2nd floor.

Reviewed by
G Clements

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed at the belgrave hotel before and always go back staff and management very good easy for Chester city centre generally good hotel.

Reviewed by
R Smith

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the money, you cant go wrong...........
Stayed mid week. Rooms very dated, as is furniture throughout hotel. Receptionist very friendly, on doorstep to city and sheets, towels/soap very clean. Drink making facilities in rooms. Parking nearby £5 all day. Drop off 1 hr stay outside front doors. Not sure how noisy it would be at weekend but seemed to have lots of footsteps along corridors until about 1.00am. That said had a comfortable stay. Mattresses not the best but protectors in place and for money paid was great value for one night.

Reviewed by
TONY B

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next