No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Belgrave Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
61 CITY ROAD , CHESTER, CH1 3AE
Because we are small, (thirty three bedrooms), we are able to attend to all your needs as they arise, thus making your stay in Chester as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Nothing is too much trouble for our friendly staff, who will ensure you are made to feel ‘at home’ for the duration of your visit.
Our Olde Worlde dining room serves a full English Breakfast in the morning and the relaxed atmosphere of our elegant Regency Bar enables residents to unwind in congenial surroundings after a hard day’s work or a hard day shopping and sightseeing.
All our bedrooms have private facilities (some with showers, some with baths, so you can state your preference), colour tv, tea/coffee making amenities , radio, intercom, central heating and direct dial telephone.

Coach parties and Group bookings welcome
Picture of The Belgrave Hotel, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed at the belgrave hotel before and always go back staff and management very good easy for Chester city centre generally good hotel.

Reviewed by
R Smith

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the money, you cant go wrong...........
Stayed mid week. Rooms very dated, as is furniture throughout hotel. Receptionist very friendly, on doorstep to city and sheets, towels/soap very clean. Drink making facilities in rooms. Parking nearby £5 all day. Drop off 1 hr stay outside front doors. Not sure how noisy it would be at weekend but seemed to have lots of footsteps along corridors until about 1.00am. That said had a comfortable stay. Mattresses not the best but protectors in place and for money paid was great value for one night.

Reviewed by
TONY B

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very small. Toilet shower very very small. Very noisy early morning.

Reviewed by
R Smith

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed for one night in a twin room with a friend and we were out most of the time. It was OK!
The room was nice, little old town hotel, but quiet and good location!

Reviewed by
L Ivanov

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for the price
Got a single (twin) room with breakfast for £34. Not bad but pretty basic hotel as you'd imagine. For one night perfectly adequate though. And it's very close to the train station - about one minute's walk.

Reviewed by
chris g

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful. You get exactly what you pay for.
My girlfriend and I came to stay over new years and had a limited budget and The Belgrade hotel was in our price range. It was very easy to find from the station, about 2 minutes away. The lady on reception was very cheerful and gave us a front door key to allow us in if we were out late. Before entering our room, the hall lights were off and had you use our phones to find where the room was (room 11). The double room we booked also had a single bed as well in it, but that wasn't problem as we used it as storage for our bags, because the chest of drawers were inaccessible due to the extra bed. The sink was in the main room and the bathroom was a cubicle containing the toilet and shower. The room was fairly large though and the t&c facilities and tv were fine. The bedding however wasn't that nice and like with other parts of the hotel and room, need to be modernised and refurbished. It was very well situated to town, around 5 minutes from the centre, and found places to eat and drink plentiful. The breakfast was very nice, though we would have liked it to have been between 8-10 rather than 8-9 because after new years eve, it would have been nice to have a longer lay in. Overall, the hotel was cheap and cheerful, but could do with a refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very welcoming.
Very friendly staff, extremely helpful with our queries.
Our bedroom probably needed modernising, but we had a very good nights sleep.
The decor from the entrance hall up the stairs was very fresh, lovely colours.
Breakfast next morning was perfect. Certainly set us up for shopping.
Excellent value for money, and parking almost outside after 5pm and all day Sunday, which was just what we needed.
Will certainly stay there again when visiting Chester

Reviewed by
Sheila Haskett

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break chester
the hotel was conveniently located near the station.the staff were friendly and very helpful.the room was slightly scruffy but clean and had tv and tea making facilities,the bed was comfortable.the breakfast was buffet style and ok,I prefer freshly cooked to order.it was a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
P Smith

From London, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate if you're on a budget.
I was allowed to check in late and they were polite with fair customer service but I had to ask about breakfast as this information was not forthcoming. Room had adequate facilities.

Reviewed by
S Islam

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin!!
We paid £68.95 for a twin room,we weren't looking for anywhere expensive or fussy to stay and that's what we got.Really friendly staff that were happy to help with any queries we may have had,comfortable bed in a reasonable sized room with plenty of storage and hanging space for clothing.delicious breakfast in the morning,dunno how they cook the bacon but it was lush!!would definitely stay again but I did have a couple of niggles,no mirror in the bedroom only the bathroom,not good when you have 2 ladies getting ready for a night out!and the toilet made hell of a racket for a while after being flushed,with the age of the building though it's a given that there would be some noises that add character to the building ;) thank you for looking after us,we'll see you again no doubt :)

Reviewed by
R Morris

From Newtown, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next