No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Belgrave Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
61 CITY ROAD , CHESTER, CH1 3AE
Because we are small, (thirty three bedrooms), we are able to attend to all your needs as they arise, thus making your stay in Chester as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Nothing is too much trouble for our friendly staff, who will ensure you are made to feel ‘at home’ for the duration of your visit.
Our Olde Worlde dining room serves a full English Breakfast in the morning and the relaxed atmosphere of our elegant Regency Bar enables residents to unwind in congenial surroundings after a hard day’s work or a hard day shopping and sightseeing.
All our bedrooms have private facilities (some with showers, some with baths, so you can state your preference), colour tv, tea/coffee making amenities , radio, intercom, central heating and direct dial telephone.

Coach parties and Group bookings welcome
Picture of The Belgrave Hotel, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester break
Very basic. Very cold in room, did complain and lady on reception did bring a little fan heater up but it was very noisy, shower was cold so didn't use it. Very bazar but the curtains didn't match. The plus points was that the bed was very comfy, and hotel in good position, wouldn't stay again prefer something a little better quality.

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From Doncaster, England
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best price ever for a functional basic stay over
If you need a bed for the night, a room that is functional and basic then you can't go wrong.

Reviewed by
N Pay

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not bad for price
Clean room apart from few things left in drawers.
noisy girls in corridors trying key in wrong doors.
apart from that staff friendly bedroom/bathroom very clean.
very close to station and centre.

Reviewed by
John M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
1 min from train station, is good value for money. Room need updating, but you get what you pay for. Good welcome, very helpful. It is a decent enough option as Chester is very overpriced on the whole.

Reviewed by
Liam T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel!
Friendly staff; comfortable rooms; close to both train station and town centre. To sum up: A great little hotel!

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor hotel
Cold shower I informed staff of problem with shower they told me to fiddle with it still never worked I stayed for 4 nights when I checked out at 630 I was going to ask for a refund because I never had a hot shower on my stay there was no one at reception to speak to

Reviewed by
Gary Wilson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, lovely staff
Room was comfortable and well equipped, decorated very well which was a bonus!

Reviewed by
C O'Neill

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 males visiting Chester to commute to the open golf championship at Hoylake
good reception. rooms were available on arrival at 12.00pm. Excellent value for money for 3 males
not requiring high star rating.

Reviewed by
geoff p

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrific!
The worst hotel experience I have ever endured. Upon arrival (which was late at night, otherwise I would not have stayed in this place) the whole place smelled horrible - of mold, rubbish, smoke and just horrid. So did my room. It was filthy, even the bath. Light fitting hanging from the ceiling, TV no reception.
Breakfast - stone cold and horrible.
Really, this place should be visited by the environmental health.

Reviewed by
Jacqui P

From Horley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly buy basic
Friendly staff and service,
However the room was outdated, tired, and worn.
The shower was merely a rubber bath tap hose attachment (very disappointing/annoying).
Located opposite the train station, and close to good car parks.

Reviewed by
Steven M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next