No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Scafell Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Rosthwaite Borrowdale, Keswick, CA12 5 XB
The Scafell Hotel is located in the very heart of Borrowdale, considered by many as England's finest valley. The hotel is surrounded by mighty fells, tranquil meadows and crystal clear waters.

The Hotel is situated almost at the foot of Great Gable and the Scafell Massif and is, therefore, an excellent centre for walking either in the valley, along river banks, the Derwentwater lake shore,the fells or on Lakelands highest peaks. For those wishing to tour around it is an ideal centre from which to visit other Lake District locations. Those who are content with gentle rambling or just lazing on restful lawns fringed by trees amidst imposing scenery will be equally happy staying here. The comfortable bedrooms, beautifully decorated and some furnished with traditional antique furniture, are all equipped with private facilities,TV, radio and tea / coffee making facilities. The public rooms have been tastefully furnished, including the elegantly re- furnished lounge and restaurant where one can enjoy excellent fare prepared by skilled chefs. Under the direction for the past 37 years of the owner,Miles Jessop and now Managing Director Andrew Nelson who together with the management and staff of the Scafell Hotel offer an efficient and friendly service, so making this comfortable Hotel a perfect base for exploring the Lake District.
Picture of Scafell Hotel, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet room in a very comfortable country hotel with residents' bar, separate lounge and good restaurant. I really enjoyed my weekend stay.

Reviewed by
Colin O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only an overnight stay but a great place to stay ,good value top service and food ,would fully recom
Staff polite and friendly v well run would thoroughly recommend

Reviewed by
richard clancy

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in beautiful location
We spent two nights at the hotel and had a great time, helped by the fantastic weather. The room was comfortable, and the food and friendly service in the Riverside Bar were excellent. Only downside was the poor wifi in the hotel.

Reviewed by
D Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent situation and attractive premises
We were taking part in a sponsored mountain climbing event and found the hotel very conveniently situated. A very relaxed yet efficient atmosphere. We'd happily go again and will probably do so.

Reviewed by
William Clarke

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short breakaway
First time off staying here and highly recommended, the staff were fantastic friendly and really helpful, the room was really nice very clean, the restaurant was second to none, great quality food, breakfast to was really nice to, will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
J McPhail

From , England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation
This is the second time we have stayed at Scafell and once again the accommodation, service and food has been excellent. The room was first class with everything you need. The staff are a credit to the hotel, very friendly and welcoming and always had time to speak with you. Breakfast was exceptional and catered for all.

Reviewed by
Andrew O

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great short stay
A lovely traditional hotel, in a quiet location (no mobile phone coverage!) with great views. The breakfasts are very good with a choice of continental (fruit, cheese, cold meats) or a more traditional full English. There is a lounge for guests, which although we did not use it, would be ideal if you just want to sit and relax looking at the views of the fells. Within a couple of miles there are walks to suit the energetic or less energetic, or Keswick is only 20 minutes away if you want somewhere a bit busier.

Reviewed by
R Harris

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and rooms cosy and modern. After an extremely wet hike up Hellvellyn the staff take your wet boots and clothing and dry overnight ready for the morning.

Reviewed by
S Winter

From Consett, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A last minute visit.
A late trip to Lake District to meet up with friends walking Coast to coast. Having just returned from a 4week tour of USA and Canada we found the quaint but very cramped. To get yo one side of the bed you had to side step round the desk. The double bed was small. We enjoyed the one night, the bar food was good and I believe the beer was tasty. Breakfast was 1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon etc. the price we felt was expensive for what we got.

Reviewed by
Joyce R

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful !
Perfect location with friendly staff, comfortable rooms and fabulous breakfast.

Reviewed by
janet M

From Settle, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next