No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Down Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Ludlow Road , Bridgnorth, WV16 6UA
Set in the rolling Shropshire Hills just 3 miles from the historic town of Bridgnorth, The Down Inn is a family owned hotel serving great traditional food, we are renowned for our carvery.Its an absolute must for carvery lovers. We offer value for money in a relaxing atmosphere with open log fires and stunning views, and real ales.Our superbly appointed ensuite rooms opened in october 2008.Awarm friendly welcome awaits you.
Picture of The Down Inn, Bridgnorth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Gem
We only stayed for one night at The Down Inn at the end of a week in Wales and what a fantastic end to our holiday. Our room was large, very clean and comfortable with ample tea, coffee, milk and biscuits and it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were amazing but the secret of The Down Inn is the food. We had the famous Carvery and it lived up to its name, the food was fantastic, thick slices of meat, eight different vegetables and a wonderful gravy and the batter puddings were homemade. The atmosphere in the Inn was friendly and lively. Breakfast was very tasty and more than ample, all served with lots of smiles. Never have I left an overnight stay so full. The Inn is situated a few miles from Bridgnorth in beautiful countryside. A very tranquil setting

Reviewed by
Rowena N

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good in dependant pub/hotel
good location please staff

Reviewed by
john kelly

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very warm welcome, we felt very relaxed and had a lovely two day break. The room was very clean with everything you could want. The food was lovely and plenty of it.

Reviewed by
pam mcmahon

From Brixham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great country pub clean and tidy big room with great ensuite big breakfast real ale what more could one ask for would recommend this one.

Reviewed by
Tony A

From Christchurch New Zealand, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Gathering in Bridgenorth
Excellent stay. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Accommodation was spacious, comfortable and clean. The hotel was very busy all weekend which reflected the high esteem that locals have for the quality of food and service. This did not intrude on our stay. Unfortunately, the state of the carpet on the staircase that you are taken up on your arrival did not offer a good first impression but this is easily overlooked and did not retract from the overall stay and would not prevent us from going back.

Reviewed by
J Peat

From Alford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Down Inn, Bridgnorth

Reviewed by
Michelle Bell

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class accommodation with good service and excelent food.
Enjoyed my stay and woul use again if I had business with in that area.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Seagrave

From BEDFORD, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent

Reviewed by
Salman Shaikh

From karachi, Pakistan
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Down Inn - review following a 1 night stay
We were looking for somewhere to stop for a night after a busy day out with two children. Booked a room on Lateooms about 4 weeks previously. Lovely peaceful location, plenty of parking, spacious room, comfortable beds. Superb 'filling' breakfast the next day. Will definitely return.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Possibly the best place I've stayed in years
My first reaction on seeing my room was "Surely this can't be just £50 per night!" Everything about the hotel was very high standard, convenient and luxurious, but friendly and helpful as well. I was sorry I was staying only one night!

Reviewed by
Alan F

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next