No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Down Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Ludlow Road , Bridgnorth, WV16 6UA
Set in the rolling Shropshire Hills just 3 miles from the historic town of Bridgnorth, The Down Inn is a family owned hotel serving great traditional food, we are renowned for our carvery.Its an absolute must for carvery lovers. We offer value for money in a relaxing atmosphere with open log fires and stunning views, and real ales.Our superbly appointed ensuite rooms opened in october 2008.Awarm friendly welcome awaits you.
Picture of The Down Inn, Bridgnorth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Possibly the best place I've stayed in years
My first reaction on seeing my room was "Surely this can't be just £50 per night!" Everything about the hotel was very high standard, convenient and luxurious, but friendly and helpful as well. I was sorry I was staying only one night!

Reviewed by
Alan F

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing and comfortable stay
One night only but a very relaxing experience. Bedroom and ensuite were light, large and well fitted. Bed was a bit lumpy! The Carvery was superb with a wonderful choice of vegetables, and though the Down was busy on a Friday the young staff were attentive and cheerful. The bar was comfortable, if somehat lacking in atmosphere. Breakfast was comprehensive and flexible in choice and cooked well. All together a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Phil A

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly place to stay
Excellent value and hospitable with great food

Reviewed by
Robin Neal

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Down inn
A really great experience,friendly staff nothing was to much trouble and very helpful.excellent food and accomodation.only stayed one night but will be going back soon for a longer stay.

Reviewed by
j davies

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel and service
great weather too

Reviewed by
ARTHUR A

From LINCOLN, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great country pub with fantastic rooms
What can be said about this place
Room excellent
Food excellent
Staff excellent
4th stay and we will be back as soon as possible many thanks Steve and his team.

Reviewed by
d edwards

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good size tidy/clean room and comfy bed.
Lovely dinner and sizeable portion.
Tv a bit on the small size.

Reviewed by
Leon S

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely character building, good food - ideal for Bridgnorth visitors
Welcoming, even though it was a busy time of year. Not the easiest to find but lovely location and handy for Bridgnorth/ surrounding areas.

Reviewed by
Louise D

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room good food
The Down is conveniently sited just outside Bridgnorth on the Ludlow Road with easy access to most of Shropshire. Good food (excellent carvery), real ale, comfortable rooms. The TV set may not be the largest but the WiFi is free and at a resonable speed. Recommended.

Reviewed by
J Parton

From Atherstone, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a lovely find
What a great Inn in the heart of the countryside. The staff were very welcoming . Our room was lovely and exceeded our expectation of a Country Inn. The décor was very tasteful and the room was lovely and warm. The only one criticism I have is regarding the bathroom. The shower partition did not open wide enough for one to be able to reach the taps comfortably and the shower itself had to be left facing the wall as otherwise it sprayed water everywhere and also it was placed extremely high up on the wall and for shorter people it was impossible to adjust.
The carvery was superb with a good choice of meats and vegetables . Breakfast was very good with a good choice . The Inn filled up very quickly on the Friday night obviously due to the ambience and the good food. I would certainly stay here again

Reviewed by
Sandra L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next