No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Close Hotel

3AA Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
10 Long Street , Tetbury, GL8 8AQ
Nestled in the heart of the vibrant Cotswold town of Tetbury stands The Close Hotel, a contemporary take on country-house style, this former town house dating back to the 16th century oozes charm and sophistication.

Our aim at The Close Hotel is to make you feel welcome and relaxed from the moment you arrive, whether joining us for cocktails in the elegant bar, an afternoon by the fire or a well deserved weekend break.

Throughout the day The Brasserie, overlooking the walled garden and terrace, serves a relaxed and unpretentious menu of British dishes with a modern twist. In the evenings, the lights are dimmed, the candles lit and the atmosphere is intimate and relaxed, where you can choose from the extensive Brasserie menu or the sophisticated Dining Room dinner menu which showcases Head Chef David Brown’s flair and imagination and recently awarded 2 rosettes by The AA.

No two rooms at The Close are alike. Each of the eighteen bedrooms are individually styled to reflect its character and charm, some with views over the peaceful garden or historic Tetbury high street all stocked with luxury toiletries and quality bedding - promising a wonderful nights sleep! Each room features a flat-screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, and en suite bathroom.

Tetbury’s shops and restaurants are on the door step! Cirencester is a 20-minute drive away and Bristol can be reached in around 35 minutes by car. Parking is free of charge and can be found at the rear of the property and guests can enjoy complimentary WiFi throughout the Hotel.
Picture of The Close Hotel, Tetbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standards/Facilities
An hotel with above excellent standards! Staff extremely helpful and polite. Only downside limited car parking especially currently with a skip taking up a few valuable spaces!

Reviewed by
Linda L

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally OK
Spacious room. Good views of garden. Comfortable bed. Staff friendly and helpful.
Only thing that slightly blighted the stay was the poor quality of the cooked breakfast. Scrambled egg had been cooked some time ago and the bacon was so hard it was virtually inedible.
In all fairness the rest of breakfast, juice, fruit, toast, variety of preserves etc. was excellent

Reviewed by
Wendy R

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small things let down an otherwise lovely hotel (instant coffee, difficult shower and blinds)
small things let down an otherwise lovely hotel:
very surprised to find instant coffee sachets/low quality tea in room and no fresh milk.
blinds needed attention - one started to collapse when tried to raise it in the morning.
shower poor - hard to adjust - had partner swearing!

Reviewed by
R Yates

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FIne
All as expected

Reviewed by
v neat

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Beautiful hotel clove my location. Village is idyllic.

Reviewed by
K Hartley

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifully restored bar and restaurant and a lovely garden
We enjoyed our one night stay in this friendly hotel, and would like to return once the intended refurbishment of the bedrooms has taken place. Dinner and breakfast were both very good and the staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
Katrin W

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Treasure
We only booked this as we were attending a wedding in the town but what a treasure.
The car park was a little tight, reception lovely and the smell of woodfires were delightful. The charming staff took us up to our room which had loads of character. Very spacious and the bed was huge.
Breakfast was lovely and we chatted to another couple who had eaten there for dinner and said the food was amazing.
Only 2 little niggles, whilst the bed was huge the duvet only just reached the edge so we ended up squished together in the middle anyway and when I came to shower the last occupants used shower gel bottle was still there.

Reviewed by
Joanne Y

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay in lovely room and surroundings. Staff attentive and friendly. Meals good but porridge I had was heavy going, also bacon very hard. One night I had pan fried plaice which was tasty but a very small portion I thought with four small potatoes. A relaxing stay few days.

Reviewed by
P Plosky

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night at the Close
A very enjoyable stay. Friendly and helpful staff who took every trouble to make our stay enjoyable. Lovely room with all the facilities. Excellent breakfast. Well done the Close.

Reviewed by
Michael Boyd

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class as always
I have stayed at The Close on many occasions, & it has always been a very pleasant experience.

Reviewed by
Andy W

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next