No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Somerset House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Kents Bank Road , Grange Over Sands, LA11 7EY
Somerset House is an elegant 19th century stone-built former posting establishment designed for, and dedicated to, hospitality, comfort and refreshment.

Somerset House is a guest house providing top quality bed and breakfast accommodation, with a licensed bar . We provide 8 comfortable en-suite rooms with digital tv, power showers, [2 family rooms, 2 twin rooms,1 single and 3 doubles].

We are family friendly with high chair and cot, cycle friendly with tools, spares and secure, sheltered cycle storage, pet friendly, walker friendly with drying facilities, offer train station collection, free WiFi internet facilities, and ample parking in the vicinity. We even provide a local cyclist rescue service, for guests running late or having trouble with their bikes. We accept dogs and a charge will be applied.
Picture of Somerset House, Grange Over Sands at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somerset house is a fantastic place to rest your weary head after a day tramping the fells or whatever takes your fancy,theres plenty to do around grange,the welcome from geraldine was very warm and welcoming,it made you feel so at home,there was nothing she and her family wouldnt do for you,she gave us a few tips on where to eat,our boys really do need a good meal to quieten them down and the breakfast was fantastic,a wide range to choose from,we would definitely stay here again and recommend you take a look if you are considering staying in the area

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we greatly appreciate your comments. Regards, Geraldine & David

Reviewed by
Eddie S

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A well located,clean and comfortable B and B. Good food,and loved the breakfast coffee.
Friendly and helpful staff, The lounge/bar area was small, but there was a seating area outside
with an interesting street scene.

Reviewed by
michael owens

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal
Friendly, comfortable, perfect for our needs.

Reviewed by
Eric P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sommerset house
kind and friendly welcome, comfy beds really nice place to stay

Reviewed by
JULIE L

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly atmosphere
Geraldine was very welcoming and friendly, full English breakfast was great, our room (2) was large enough for us and was well equipped and very clean, the only downside to our stay was the smell of greasy cooking in our room as we were located near the kitchen

Reviewed by
I Dalglish

From Fleetwood, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay at Somerset House
Everything about our stay was wonderful:
Fantastic hosts, quiet location, comfy bed, beautiful room, great food, late checkout, not a single negative to add. My lady and I had an amazing time, we'd recommend you to anybody. Thank you.

Reviewed by
DOMINIC CREIGHTON

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

recommend to anybody
The Hotel was great, the food fabulous, the staff very friendly, and everything so clean all this made our stay excellent.

Reviewed by
Joan Wilkins

From London, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night only!!
We arrived to be greeted by Geraldine and her cat chicken. The B and B was cosy and full of character. We had to climb several flights of stairs as our family room was on the top floor. The room was comfy and beds nice, tv and wifi kept the children happy. The only down side was the ensuite shower room which was dirty and to be honest quite grotty. The tap kept falling to pieces and it was in need of decorating/replacing!! The breakfast was very nice and Geraldine was friendly. If the shower room was sorted this review would have been positive but it did make the experience less pleasant!!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. The shower was not dirty,but this is the last cubicle to be stripped of the grouting and sealant on our renovation programme. The tap was not broken.The four wings on the taps have screw heads which makes the tap easier to access if we have a problem. They can be re-screwed into position in a second.

Reviewed by
Anna P

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely clean stylish rooms. Home cooked food was delicious. Owners very friendly and welcoming

Reviewed by
L Scott

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
Very friendly service

Reviewed by
A Shaw

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next