Reviews - Yewdale Hotel


Yewdale Hotel, Coniston, LA21 8DU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (47)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jonathan S

  • April 2015

Short Break

Can't fault the accommodation and service

  • Diane Clark

  • April 2015

Easter Break Away

Absolutely fabulous break.

Geoff and his team were very welcoming and friendly. We hope to go back again soon. Thank you very much. Regards

Chris and Diane Clark

  • Anne B

  • April 2015

great place to stay

Comfortable bed, very clean.

Central location. Nice staff, very helpful!

  • E Gell

  • April 2015

Reasonable room but added extras

The room was of an ok standard for the price and very clean.

The lady who checked us in was lovely and very friendly however the lady at breakfast was stressed and seemed to be doing everything including moving cars and check out. On checking out we went to pay the additional cost for having a dog with us ( please note nothing is provided for dog unlike other pet friendly hotels) and we're told it was £20 then when we queried this were rudely told it just needed paying so we dod. When we got home and queried this we were advised it was )10 for dog and £10 for travel cot. The cot was shabby, no bottom sheet was provided and just an old/worn quilt with it. As we were only there one night we just put baby in with us and didn't use however if we had known at the time it was £10 we could have brought our own (clean with bedding) or asked for it to be removed from room.

  • t newton

  • April 2015


  • R Hawman

  • March 2015

Yewdale Hotel

Nice hotel, staff were brilliant and the hotel was very warm

  • Brenda T

  • March 2015

Great for a short break

Stayed here for a walking break in the Lakes.

Good value central pub with rooms, very friendly staff and efficient service at breakfast. Pleasant room warm comfortable and clean with excellent bathroom.Good bar meals available in the evening.

  • Laura G

  • January 2015

New Year Break

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Yewdale Hotel over the New Year period.

The room, and particularly the bed, was very comfortable, although slightly on the small side. The staff were great; very welcoming, helpful and professional. This hotel is a great base if you plan to do some walking or if, like us, you prefer a more relaxing time spent pottering round local villages and pubs. The food was very good and we particularly enjoyed the breakfasts, although we did eat in the café and the bar at different times during our 4 day stay, and each time we found the food and service to be excellent - clean plates all round. For the time of year, the prices were very reasonable. We will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Coniston.

  • s gaskell

  • January 2015

Warm and cosy.

The Yewdale Hotel staff are very good.

The Hotel is clean and the food is good. Olly who works the bar etc etc . was very helpful. Jenny served etc etc . Overall a very good stay at a very good. well run Hotel.

  • Andrew H

  • December 2014

Really friendly small hotel

We found this small hotel very warm and comfortable to return to after a day on snowy hill, but the thing which really stood out was the friendly and helpful nature of every member of staff we met.

We also enjoyed two very good breakfasts and would have no hesitation in visiting again and recommending the Yewdale hotel to others.