No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Yewdale Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Yewdale Hotel , Coniston, LA21 8DU
The Yewdale Hotel is a situated in the centre of Coniston and therefore central for the scenic delights of the Lake District. Built of local stone and slate in 1896, it was once part guest house and part bank.
Eight centrally heated bedrooms with en suite, tv and tea-making facilities, provide comfortable, restful accommodation, and an excellent Cumbrian breakfast starts the day.

In the bar and dining room fresh seasonal produce features on a varied menu that includes plenty of choice for vegetarians as well as children's dishes. In addition an extended bar menu is offered daily between 12 noon and 9pm. The hotel is open daily for breakfast, morning coffee, snacks, lunches, afternoon tea and evening meals. Non-residents are welcome. All interests are catered for in the area, and the owners and staff are on hand to offer advice and information on how to enjoy them to the full. Fishing, boating, canoeing, walking and pony trekking are all available on or around Coniston Water, and those with energy to spare can tackle the climb up the 2,600' Old Man of Coniston. The Ruskin Museum in the village celebrates the life and work of the Victorian artist John Ruskin, and a short ferry trip across the Lake takes visitors to Brantwood, Ruskin's home for the last 28 years of his life.
Picture of Yewdale Hotel, Coniston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly small hotel
We found this small hotel very warm and comfortable to return to after a day on snowy hill, but the thing which really stood out was the friendly and helpful nature of every member of staff we met.
We also enjoyed two very good breakfasts and would have no hesitation in visiting again and recommending the Yewdale hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From Drumnadrochit, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Couldn't have asked for any more from our stay, staff were very friendly and the room was excellent. Price was outstanding too. I'll definitely be staying there again!

Reviewed by
Andrew N

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A weekend away
This was a second visit since we were very impressed on the first occasion.We had friendly helpful attention and an excellent room in the Yewdale Hotel which is situated in the heart of Coniston. The hotel is an excellent base from which to do a 'Wainwright' or two. The off-season evening meals were limited in choice but were good

Reviewed by
Lionel Sainsbury

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

November 2014
We stayed for one night and found the hotel and service excellent. The room was impeccably clean although a bit small. It would have been nice to have been on a lower floor rather than the top floor as we were told that we were the only guests that evening and it was a bit of a hike up all the stairs with our luggage. The breakfast was superb and the waitress very attentive. Would definitely return.

Reviewed by
Christine Lees-Metcalfe

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
The hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of the village and is really good value for money. We found all of the staff at the hotel to be very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was very clean and the food was great. We would definitely stay here again and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Reviewed by
Karen H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great acomadation
The staff were very freindly and very helpfull the food was great and the room was good with great views

Reviewed by
S Gent

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely old hotel in keeping with the village. Comfortable clean room with friendly staff. Definitely use this hotel again

Reviewed by
rosemary brown

From dumfries, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Having booked late we were very pleased with Hotel and staff. Room was lovely and fresh and clean. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Food good. We would deffinately stay again.

Reviewed by
J Frame

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

They don't have the parking capacity to match the rooms and you risk upsetting the owner...
On arrival the car park boasts 4 spaces although to park 4 vehicles you block in 2. If you go out and don't take your car, you have to leave your keys at reception in case you're blocking another vehicle, I'm not sure how the insurance would work if your car was damaged or caused damage to another, if one of the staff moved your vehicle. I didn't leave my keys whilst in the bar and suffered the wrath of the owner for not doing so. Needless to say I parked on a nearby road for the rest of the stay. On the outside of the Yewdale; time and money had been invested in enticing outside custom to the pub/cafe area. Sadly this wasn't continued throughout the hotel area and to paying residents. The bathroom was dated, required grouting and the windows a decent wash. We had to put a towel behind the headboard of our teenage sons single bed. as it was knocking against the wall every time he turned over. The room was tired and a stark contrast to the rest of the hotel. There was an apparent lack of housekeeping with the room receiving limited attention. The staff were friendly enough but found the owner quite rude. Not worth the money,but nice area.

ManagementResponse

We have 5 parking spaces for the use of guests on site at their option. I am fully insured to move vehicles should this be necessary. Countless hotels and other establishments operate this policy in connection with valet parking, so we are no different in this respect. Alternative FREE parking is available in the village and we can always advise guests who are unable to find a space in our car park. Therefore you are not obliged to use our car park and leave your keys, this is entirely at your option and our website draws to attention to the limited parking available on site. Our policy of operating a ‘leave the key’ procedure has always worked perfectly until you arrived and discourteously parked behind the car of another guest without notice to Reception when you checked in. This resulted in the other guest waiting around 15 minutes while we tried to locate you. I feel justified in being somewhat curt when we eventually found you but did apologise later. Clearly you let this entire incident ruin your holiday as you then sulked and ignored me for the rest of your stay. Your room is a favourite among regular guests who enjoy the panoramic views to the local fells. It seems you did not notice this but instead decided to critique the work of our window cleaner who had attended the previous week. You complain of a loose headboard on your son’s bed. In our experience, most guests politely draw our attention to such deficiencies in order that we can carry out the necessary maintenance without detracting from their enjoyment of a peaceful night’s sleep. If you had spoken to me or another member of staff about this, you would have realised how passionate we are about ensuring the comfort and enjoyment of all our guests throughout their stay and we always go out of our way to correct any issues. Finally, in answer to your comment about value, you paid only £32 p.p. in August (high season), including unlimited breakfast. Our food is all freshly prepared and we take pride in the quality of our ales. Many of our guests return often and most comment on the excellent value we provide. Hopefully, you will choose another establishment for your next holiday in the Lakes. Jeff & Susie Hart, Proprietors

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great spot for a short break
Yewdale Hotel was a good choice for a short break for a few nights. Breakfast in the Y café was very good and the room was very comfortable. The bar area and seating outside in the sunshine made for a lovely evening especially with an excellent choice of beers.

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next