No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Yewdale Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Yewdale Hotel , Coniston, LA21 8DU
The Yewdale Hotel is a situated in the centre of Coniston and therefore central for the scenic delights of the Lake District. Built of local stone and slate in 1896, it was once part guest house and part bank.
Eight centrally heated bedrooms with en suite, tv and tea-making facilities, provide comfortable, restful accommodation, and an excellent Cumbrian breakfast starts the day.

In the bar and dining room fresh seasonal produce features on a varied menu that includes plenty of choice for vegetarians as well as children's dishes. In addition an extended bar menu is offered daily between 12 noon and 9pm. The hotel is open daily for breakfast, morning coffee, snacks, lunches, afternoon tea and evening meals. Non-residents are welcome. All interests are catered for in the area, and the owners and staff are on hand to offer advice and information on how to enjoy them to the full. Fishing, boating, canoeing, walking and pony trekking are all available on or around Coniston Water, and those with energy to spare can tackle the climb up the 2,600' Old Man of Coniston. The Ruskin Museum in the village celebrates the life and work of the Victorian artist John Ruskin, and a short ferry trip across the Lake takes visitors to Brantwood, Ruskin's home for the last 28 years of his life.
Picture of Yewdale Hotel, Coniston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and cosy.
The Yewdale Hotel staff are very good. The Hotel is clean and the food is good. Olly who works the bar etc etc . was very helpful. Jenny served b.fast etc etc . Overall a very good stay at a very good. well run Hotel.

Reviewed by
s gaskell

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year Break
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Yewdale Hotel over the New Year period. The room, and particularly the bed, was very comfortable, although slightly on the small side. The staff were great; very welcoming, helpful and professional. This hotel is a great base if you plan to do some walking or if, like us, you prefer a more relaxing time spent pottering round local villages and pubs.
The food was very good and we particularly enjoyed the breakfasts, although we did eat in the café and the bar at different times during our 4 day stay, and each time we found the food and service to be excellent - clean plates all round!
For the time of year, the prices were very reasonable. We will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Coniston.

Reviewed by
Laura G

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly small hotel
We found this small hotel very warm and comfortable to return to after a day on snowy hill, but the thing which really stood out was the friendly and helpful nature of every member of staff we met.
We also enjoyed two very good breakfasts and would have no hesitation in visiting again and recommending the Yewdale hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From Drumnadrochit, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Couldn't have asked for any more from our stay, staff were very friendly and the room was excellent. Price was outstanding too. I'll definitely be staying there again!

Reviewed by
Andrew N

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A weekend away
This was a second visit since we were very impressed on the first occasion.We had friendly helpful attention and an excellent room in the Yewdale Hotel which is situated in the heart of Coniston. The hotel is an excellent base from which to do a 'Wainwright' or two. The off-season evening meals were limited in choice but were good

Reviewed by
Lionel Sainsbury

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

November 2014
We stayed for one night and found the hotel and service excellent. The room was impeccably clean although a bit small. It would have been nice to have been on a lower floor rather than the top floor as we were told that we were the only guests that evening and it was a bit of a hike up all the stairs with our luggage. The breakfast was superb and the waitress very attentive. Would definitely return.

Reviewed by
Christine Lees-Metcalfe

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
The hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of the village and is really good value for money. We found all of the staff at the hotel to be very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was very clean and the food was great. We would definitely stay here again and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Reviewed by
Karen H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great acomadation
The staff were very freindly and very helpfull the food was great and the room was good with great views

Reviewed by
S Gent

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely old hotel in keeping with the village. Comfortable clean room with friendly staff. Definitely use this hotel again

Reviewed by
rosemary brown

From dumfries, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Having booked late we were very pleased with Hotel and staff. Room was lovely and fresh and clean. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Food good. We would deffinately stay again.

Reviewed by
J Frame

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next