No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oak

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Station Road, , , South Brent, TQ10 9BE
Following our refurbishment completed in July 2008, we now have 5 brand new ensuite, sound insulated bedrooms, of which 3 are double and 2 are twin. All our rooms are furnished to a high standard with solid pine furniture, tastefully decorated with magnolia walls and neutral carpets, yet each is individually finished by Carol with it's own unique colour scheme, brought together with the thoughtful co-ordination of the soft furnishings. Recently inspected by the English Tourist Council we are very pleased to have been awarded 4 stars for the standard of our establishment. We have also been awarded a silver award making us one of the top inns in the South West.This achievement not only reflects the standard of the accommodation, but also the rest of the building, food and service. You can be assured of a restful and relaxing stay with us. We hope we have thought of everything needed to make your stay as comfortable as possible, there are hair dryers, alarm clocks, digital TV's, fans, tea & coffee making facilities and many other thoughtful additions. All the rooms are located on the first floor and are sound insulated to keep any noise from the rest of the building to an absolute minimum. Indeed, even with our extrovert quiz master on the microphone (quizzes are held on the first Thursday of each month) we are assured that our guests rest has been undisturbed! Now in the Michelin Eating out in pubs guide 2011 - one of only 530 pubs to make it into this guide based on our food - you can't pay to get into this guide.
Picture of The Oak, South Brent at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
We stayed here for one night, the room was clean, bed comfortable and the shower and bathroom was beautiful, way beyond our expectations.
The host was welcoming breakfast on sunday morning also of excellent quality and plenty of it, with a great choice, something for everyone.
Although we didn't spend as much time as we would have liked in the bar, there was an choice of great local beer, beautifully kept and all well worth a try.
Definitely a place to revisit.

Reviewed by
paul scriven

From WOKINGHAM, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the Oak inn South Brent
The Oak is a very traditional pub run by a really nice couple Andrew and Carol, and they work really hard to enjoy your stay the rooms upstairs are a really nice size really clean with great showers and although you are above a pub they have been soundproofed really well and you cannot here much noise,there is also an evening menu wich is good value and breakfast is pretty much what you want all in all really good value for money, but there is no car park but i always use the free public car park which is safe and only 2 min walk away.

Reviewed by
T Gould

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Return
I first stayed at the Oak in August 2011 and returned this weekend with my partner. It was just as good as the last time. The room was clean and spacious, good quality linens, very comfortable bed and very quiet except in the morning the gentle birdsong and the church bells which added to our experience. Carol and Andrew were very welcoming, We ate lunch at The Oak where the value of the quality food was exceptional. We also ate dinner and again were very happy with our salmon and watercress cream. Great breakfast too! I can find no fault. We will be back at this excellent, unpretentious but comfortable and hospitable inn. Thank you Carol and Andrew,

Reviewed by
Colin S

From West Wickham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed with the attention to detail in the room and bathrrom
We found this ideal for an emergency overnight stop.
Evening meal bar menu we thought limited.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review - we are glad you enjoyed the room. I was quite surprised that you felt our menu was restricted and feel I must explain our situation further. We are an independent family run business set in a quiet village on the edge of Dartmoor. Most of our business is local - either the villagers themselves or their family and friends. We offer everything fresh and cooked to order so we cannot have a large menu similar to a chain restaurant where the food is often ordered in already prepared and frozen so it can be just taken out and microwaved. We do not get much passing trade and do not need to offer mass produced frozen food. There are plenty of these places around and it was not what we wanted to do although it would certainly be a cheaper option for us as we wouldn't need trained chefs and there would be absolutely no wastage. We feel that having eight starters and seventeen main courses which are all cooked to order is the maximum we can offer without excess wastage or resorting to the frozen market. As everything is locally sourced where possible, freshly cooked and prepared from scratch on site we can cater for anyone's needs including any allergies. If we have the ingredients we are happy to offer anything not on the menu allowing us greater freedom than many chain pubs and restaurants. We hope this makes our situation clearer to all.

Reviewed by
Linda Yapp

From Caersws, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Splendid room
We decided to stay at The Oak after a few days camping. The four poster room was luxurious and had everything we could have wanted. The hosts were very friendly and the food delicious. We'd thoroughly recommend The Oak.

Reviewed by
Alex B

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
Good sized room with comfortable bed and sofa together with all other expected facilities.
Above all it was very clean

Reviewed by
Philip W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 nights stay over bank holiday weekend
The Oak is a very welcoming and delightful hotel. We were welcomed by the bar manager who went out of his way to make our arrival easy. He assisted with our bags and gave us detailed information about the hotel and where to park etc. which was very helpful. Nothing seemed to much trouble for him and we both really appreciated his efforts which I thought were exceptional. The hotel serves great food in a cosy environment with the accommodation having been comfortably and tastefully refurbished. Although the hotel has no parking, there is a free car park within a short distance and it is easy to park outside to unload bags etc. South Brent is a great spot to explore the Moors area and The Oaks well worth staying at. The breakfasts were fantastic! Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Linda R

From Melbourne, Australia
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room and great breakfast

Reviewed by
Alison B

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.