No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hornsbury Mill

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Eleighwater , Chard, TA20 3AQ
In 5 acres of peaceful, landscaped water gardens, deep in the heart of Somerset, this charming 19th- century watermill combines beautiful original features and traditional character with modern comforts.

Today, Hornsbury Mill has been beautifully converted into a 4-star hotel, with the historic mill’s stunning original features carefully preserved and sensitively integrated. Beautiful original wooden beams and historic stonework combine with contemporary facilities, such as wireless internet access.

All of the hotel’s cosy en suite rooms are individually designed and decorated in a traditional country style. Each room has its own unique charm and some of them have pretty window seats, where you can enjoys views down to the stream.

A generous full English or a continental breakfast is included in the price.

You can enjoy a delightful lunch or a candlelit dinner in the Mill Restaurant, as the original waterwheel turns beside you. The restaurant offers modern English cuisine and nearly all the ingredients are sourced from local suppliers and farms, including organic vegetables, local beef, trout and Somerset cheeses.

In the heart of Somerset, just 2 miles (3.2 km) from Chard and on the edge of the Blackdown Hills, Hornsbury Mill provides an idyllic setting for a luxurious and relaxing break.
Picture of Hornsbury Mill, Chard at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Height Restrictions
Stayed in room 9, top floor clean comfortable room but no good if you are over 5ft 5in due to beams.

Reviewed by
Louise D

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money: excellent food and a warm welcome. Will stay again!

Reviewed by
Keith W

From SLEAFORD, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

End of a long day
Staff were great and tried very hard, however one waitress/bar person is not enough, we were kept waiting for periods without service. This was no fault of the staff, they just needed some help.
I had be allocated the disabled room as the booking for two rooms had not been processed, which was fine. The room could benefit from double glazing as noise from outside woke me.
Overall pleasent stay, good value, would stay again.

Reviewed by
James C

From Solihull, England
Who stayed in November 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
AT LAST, a hotel that actually still believes in good old fashioned customer service.
Chloe and her staff could not do enough to make me feel both welcome and valued as guest at their hotel. All of the staff were friendly and attentive and I would certainly stay here again, in fact I look forward to it!
The only 'issue' I had was with the size of the shower cubicle in my room. I am not a particularly big guy but I really struggled in it! :(

Reviewed by
Dave Foster

From Woking, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From York, England
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a treat
We loved Hornsbury Mill and were sorry to have to leave

Reviewed by
Linda C

From Woodford Green, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super
We stopped off here and were pleasantly suprised, what a find! What a lovely little hotel with exceptionally friendly staff, peaceful setting and wonderful views, enhanced by the peacocks and ducks! Very Pretty and would definately come again.... and im picky! Only critism is the fake flowers, fresh would be much nicer and go with the beautiful surroundings, snip some of your exquisite roses and use those!!! Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Martin P

From England
Who stayed in July 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.