No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Station Road Thatcham , Newbury, RG19 4QL
The Swan at Thatcham is typical of the hostelries of old where there’s always a warm welcome. The hotel is situated just a few miles outside of Newbury in the delightful village of Thatcham, and offers five newly refurbished en-suite rooms in a converted stable block.

There is plenty to explore in this beautiful part of Berkshire, including the Kennet and Avon Canal, Lambourn, known as the valley of the Racehorse and not forgetting Newbury Racecourse itself - just a few minutes drive away.

At The Swan, food is served all day and we offer a varied lunchtime and evening menu. Meals can be taken in the lounge and bar or for a quieter experience in our restaurant. All of our food can be accompanied by a fine selection of cask ales, wines and soft drinks.

Picture of The Swan by Marstons Inns, Newbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family visit

Reviewed by
Martin Kelley

From Barking, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms small but adequate, could do with a little more hoovering behind the doors perhaps. The level crossing claxon could annoy, but we did not really find it a problem, I would ask for an upstairs room as soundproofing between upper floor and ceiling not good. Overall positive for a one or two night stay.

Reviewed by
Philip T

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room and good quality - although a queue to check in at a busy bar

Reviewed by
Lisa S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant surprise
All much better than expected for the money paid.

Reviewed by
john willis

From Harpenden, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding stay
We used the room for staying one night after a wedding. Comfortable, Clean room.

Reviewed by
Vivien B

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

B&b
Room very good. Clean with good tea facilities. Breakfast could be a little earlier on sat morning but we'll looked after &every tasty. Over all very good value.

Reviewed by
Julia G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the first time I had stayed in a B&B alone so quite nervous. No need really friendly and helpful hosts

Reviewed by
s whittaker

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

V. Good
Very good - would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
A Ford

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, great size bathroom. Excellent breakfast. The restaurant was full but the landlady very kindly made a table up for us and the food was brilliant.

Reviewed by
Wendy W

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a one night stay
Room small, over priced in my opinion, but ok for a one night stay after a family party. Room could have been cleaned better, previous guests hair clips around the bed. Bed sheets were fresh but they really needed to think about the valance on the bed it was really dirty this is due to the room being small and you keep treading on it! On a plus side, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was lovely

Reviewed by
P Worrallo

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next