No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Station Road Thatcham , Newbury, RG19 4QL
The Swan at Thatcham is typical of the hostelries of old where there’s always a warm welcome. The hotel is situated just a few miles outside of Newbury in the delightful village of Thatcham, and offers five newly refurbished en-suite rooms in a converted stable block.

There is plenty to explore in this beautiful part of Berkshire, including the Kennet and Avon Canal, Lambourn, known as the valley of the Racehorse and not forgetting Newbury Racecourse itself - just a few minutes drive away.

At The Swan, food is served all day and we offer a varied lunchtime and evening menu. Meals can be taken in the lounge and bar or for a quieter experience in our restaurant. All of our food can be accompanied by a fine selection of cask ales, wines and soft drinks.

Picture of The Swan by Marstons Inns, Newbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room and good quality - although a queue to check in at a busy bar

Reviewed by
Lisa S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant surprise
All much better than expected for the money paid.

Reviewed by
john willis

From Harpenden, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding stay
We used the room for staying one night after a wedding. Comfortable, Clean room.

Reviewed by
Vivien B

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

B&b
Room very good. Clean with good tea facilities. Breakfast could be a little earlier on sat morning but we'll looked after &every tasty. Over all very good value.

Reviewed by
Julia G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the first time I had stayed in a B&B alone so quite nervous. No need really friendly and helpful hosts

Reviewed by
s whittaker

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

V. Good
Very good - would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
A Ford

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, great size bathroom. Excellent breakfast. The restaurant was full but the landlady very kindly made a table up for us and the food was brilliant.

Reviewed by
Wendy W

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a one night stay
Room small, over priced in my opinion, but ok for a one night stay after a family party. Room could have been cleaned better, previous guests hair clips around the bed. Bed sheets were fresh but they really needed to think about the valance on the bed it was really dirty this is due to the room being small and you keep treading on it! On a plus side, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was lovely

Reviewed by
P Worrallo

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower poor needed to kneel down/sit down to avoid ceiling

Reviewed by
P Flynn

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tiny room & so dreadfully noisy
The first shock, was that the hotel was NOT where it is shown on google map. Its not in Thatcham village but right next to the train station which means very heavy traffic and footfall noise as well as the very noisy trains and the level crossing claxon. Any guests over 65 will think its an air raid siren going off every few minutes! There is also lots of noise during the day from delivery lorries to the pub. Plus noise from the pub itself, especially if there is a pub quiz - which we couldn't hear our tv over the noise of the pa system.
Don't be fooled by its title, its far from the quaint village inn that it sounds like. Its a pub with rooms that are located in the car park.
The room looked ok at first glance, but it was so dark and so small that we asked to change, but this couldnt be arranged. There was no room to put the case and our bags, which we had to put back into the car. The bathroom was a fair size, and the shower pressure was good, but there was lots of mould which there is no excuse for. The room was also swelteringly hot due to its tiny size. It was only 8 degrees temperature outside at night, but it was closer to 25 degrees in the room which was unbearable.
Lots of noise from the upstairs neighbour too - sounded as if they were 30 stone walking about.
Breakfast obviously had a different chef each day as the quality varied immensely, from quite nice through to horrible.
The towels weren't changed, merely folded and put back on the rail, despite following the instructions for the towels to be changed. And one day the cleaner came into the room without knocking.
Essentially its over stated and over priced. The noise was by far the worst issue and not worth putting up with. I've read the other reviews and frankly the writers cant be used to very good standards. Overall dreadful - 1/5.

Reviewed by
Glen F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next