Reviews - The Swan by Marstons Inns


Station Road Thatcham, Newbury, RG19 4QL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Mark C

  • October 2015

Cosy but TV instructions would be nice

Everything about this accommodation was comfortable - it was detatched from the pub so removed from the noise but close enough that it was no hassle to go back and fore.

The food was excellent, the staff friendly and service was prompt. It was clean, warm and cosy and the bed was extremely comfortable (for me anyway)

The only issue was I could not get the TV to work despite going through numerous menus (I couldn't find any instructions) - a nightmare if you like TV, not a problem if you don't.

  • David H

  • August 2015

The Swan by Marstons Inns

Not bad value for money pub very tired but food was good.

  • Russell B

  • July 2015

The Swan by Marstons Inns

Small and comfortable.

  • J Turner

  • July 2015

The Swan at Thatcham

Generally very good value for money - room could have been cleaner but understand refurbishment is taking place at the moment.

Food good staff helpful and very good value for money.

  • Martin Kelley

  • February 2015

Family visit

  • Philip T

  • January 2015

Rooms small but adequate, could do with a little more hoovering behind the doors perhaps.

The level crossing claxon could annoy, but we did not really find it a problem, I would ask for an upstairs room as soundproofing between upper floor and ceiling not good. Overall positive for a one or two night stay.

  • Lisa S

  • December 2014

Nice room and good quality - although a queue to check in at a busy bar

  • john willis

  • November 2014

A pleasant surprise

All much better than expected for the money paid.

  • Vivien B

  • November 2014

Wedding stay

We used the room for staying one night after a wedding.

Comfortable, Clean room.

  • Julia G

  • September 2014


Room very good.

Clean with good tea facilities. Breakfast could be a little earlier on sat morning but we'll looked after &every tasty. Over all very good value.