No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oakwood House

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Oakwood Park , Maidstone, ME16 8AE
40 stylish bedrooms including 12 Executive, and a Presidential Suite. Oakwood House is perfectly located with access from London via the M25, M2 and M20 and is within easy reach of the Channel Tunnel. An emphasis on good quality local produce is offered in the evenings in the popular courtyard bar. In the summer guests can dine on the terrace set in the mature gardens. Free ample car parking is available on site. WiFi is provided free of charge.

We look forward to welcoming you to this splendid Victorian Mansion.

Picture of Oakwood House, Maidstone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small, unclean room
Upon arrival, they had no trace of my booking. They then supposedly "upgraded me" to a room where I could barely walk around the bed (I am a small person). The bedsheets were not ironed, the bed throw had staines on it, the bathmat was damp, there were water staines on the taps, the carridor was noisy.
It is not what is pictured... Th majority of the rooms are located through the bar, through a function room in a "modern" area, a far cry away from the advertised "victorian mansion".
I have stayed in larger, cleaner, quieter and cheaper premier inns.
Everything was below average, compared to other hotels I have stayed, lived and worked at.
Breakfast buffet was an OK standard.

Reviewed by
C Williams

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower
Shower water not very warm.

Reviewed by
G Clifton

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thin Walls
Having arrived evening of a bank holiday Monday, a wedding reception was in full swing, Check in was OK, Room clean and very resonable, Shower a little difficult to set the temprature and the knob which you press to change water from hand shower to overhead shower broken, as was the drain hole cover in the shower tray, Shower did not drain well so you end up in 3 inches of water in the tray with the fear that it will overflow onto the floor.
Bar has no atmosphere, wanted some food the first night at approx 9.15pm and was told kitchen closed, got a tuna sandwich after a little persuasion.
Bed ok and after the wedding disco ended around 12.30am managed to get to sleep.
Second night I awoke around 3.00am and could not get back to sleep due to the snoring coming from the room next door!
Third night snoring not as bad, but still annoying.
Fourth night I had dinner in the bar without atmosphere, food was ok but could have been hotter, but as I was the only one eating and I wanted to be somewhere else, I ate and paid and went.
Breakfast was good on all days, best part of the stay.
So as a conference centre I'm sure it does the job, the older part of the building could have been utilised better, but no, Reception in what seems to be a corridor, bar without atmosphere and the whole building set in a college / school campus, You gotta love planners

Reviewed by
Phillip B

From Chipping Campden, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maidstone stay
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel very much, and wish I could have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
Edward O

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My trip to oakwood
Very nice room and shower, strange in the morning being attached to peoples offices.

Reviewed by
Kevan Barton

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Me and my partner came here for a night away for our anniversary, lovely hotel very clean, very good for your money... Would defiantly stay here again

Reviewed by
Emma L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Young man attending exams
Excellent hotel, clean, good food - breakfast and evening meal. Great location and very pleasant staff

Reviewed by
Deven D

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noise
Only issue I had was not told there was a School Prom that night when I arrived, keep me awake until after Midnight. As a Sales rep travelling around Kent for 2 days you need your sleep. Apart from this nice hotel, could do with a few more signs on road in as in College grounds.

Reviewed by
Tim Cooke

From Bicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our night at the oakwood hotel
The rooms were far too small, the best was the worst bed I have ever slept in, got no sleep at all! The noise off the neighbours was ridiculous doors banging in the early hours. We won't be returning.

Reviewed by
N Palmer

From Deal, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as good as you'd hope !
Don't be fooled by the photos and description of a superior double. The room is small and missing several of the facilities offered on late rooms. We arrived and found our toilet seat partially off. We reported it immediately and we're told it would be fixed. We reported it again the next day and left the following day with still no action taken. No dvd.cd robes slippers or other small extras as mentioned online . Hotel pretty but surrounding buildings an eyesore. Overall OK but

Reviewed by
Adrian C

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next