No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Oakwood House

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Oakwood Park , Maidstone, ME16 8AE
40 stylish bedrooms including 12 Executive, and a Presidential Suite. Oakwood House is perfectly located with access from London via the M25, M2 and M20 and is within easy reach of the Channel Tunnel. An emphasis on good quality local produce is offered in the evenings in the popular courtyard bar. In the summer guests can dine on the terrace set in the mature gardens. Free ample car parking is available on site. WiFi is provided free of charge.

We look forward to welcoming you to this splendid Victorian Mansion.

Picture of Oakwood House, Maidstone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem in Maidstone!
Fantastic staff, lovely rooms... A little gem in Maidstone! I will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Duncan P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oakwood House
Lovely place, lovely rooms, very modern bathroom with great shower. had a single room which was very comfortable and a double bed. didnt say hairdryer was available but there was one in the room. great breakfast. only slight downsides were, - signposted but still difficult to find, room had no temperature control, and arriving back at hotel at 11pm would have liked a night cap but bar was already closed. would go again though now I know where it is.

Reviewed by
Christine H

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Deceptively good, recommended
It is sited on a campus and presently there is a lot of construction going on around about but this in no way affects your stay. There is plenty of free parking.
The hotel is really a conference centre and inside the attractive old building it is very modern, if somewhat clinical. I have stayed twice and both rooms were excellent, large, modern, clean and comfortable. The shower was great.
Food at the bar is very good indeed, fresh and perfectly cooked as was breakfast. The only downside being only one beer, Spitfire, which was served far too cold, and only one malt whisky, Glenfiddich. It would be nice to have a choice.
I would definitely be happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient and good price
Easy booking through laterooms, easy to find, room pretty good, clean but could do with brightening up a little. Comfy bed, nice hot shower. Tea and coffee in room. Bar meal filling and reasonably priced. Breakfast was included and very nice. Hotel very busy with conference groups but still very quiet in room, no disturbances. Would use this hotel again at this price.

Reviewed by
Hugh P

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh dear!
Disaster ... we were not advised that this would be a Christmas paryt night and the quiet room requested was noisy at the top of a stairway open to other residents (party goers). We could not have a window open because it opened onto the smoking complex. we were kept awake by the party noise and music until 12.30am ish - awake at 1.30am with door banging outside the room - again at 3.55am by a woman outside our room on her mobile and again half an hour later by a man on his phone. We could not have an evening meal as planned because there was no restaurant other than for the party group and we could either sit in the noisy bar or "we will set up a table for you in a side room". Totally unacceptable from start to finish. we left at 7am having complained and asked for a total refund which could not be authorised. We were offered a £30 refund plus a free night in the new year. I have put this matter in dispute with Barclaycard. I would not stay again and certainly would not recommend it to anyone else. It was certainly not worth the £85 paid and I don't intend paying it.

Reviewed by
Kate Bowring

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always a pleasant stay
Pleasant stay I have stayed here before and if I am in the area will stay again. Good value accommodation. Only fault is the limited menu - oh and the mushrooms.

Reviewed by
David T

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
I stayed here for the first time last week and was relieved to have found a hotel in a quiet location yet only 15mins from where I've been working with ample parking, lovely warm rooms throughout, comfortable beds and pillows, and a really nice feel. On arrival I was greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist. I enjoyed my stay and I will return. My only concern, which I shared with reception on departure although not sure they will actually do anything about it (2 young girls sat chatting who at no point asked me how my stay was) was that the bathroom was dirty. Such a shame as everywhere was lovely but I had to clean the shower before I could get in it. There were 3 very dead (dried up) spiders, more hairs that I choose to recall and very dirty tiles throughout and a grubby floor. Oh yes, and the TV remote didn't work properly, again I reported this.
I will return as I hope this was just a blip, however, if not then it would be a terrible shame as it would appear that housekeeping is the only thing that let the hotel down. Another point that the hotel may like to consider if they want to attract business people during the week is that a 7am start for breakfast is too late, I needed to leave at 7.15 and on arriving at breakfast noticed it was full waiter service so had to leave it as could see there would be no chance of me being served and finished in 15 mins.

Reviewed by
Caroline D

From Wells, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oakwood park Hotel.
Live music on Saturday night was a little loud, but survivable.
Room was fine, and bed very comfortable.
Range and choice at breakfast was excellent and staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
R Kirby

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oakwood House
Good quality accommodation in what is a conference centre. A long way out of town centre, but bar does a limited choice of food. Breakfast good, eveing meals ok for a few nights

Reviewed by
S Baker

From Caldicot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small, unclean room
Upon arrival, they had no trace of my booking. They then supposedly "upgraded me" to a room where I could barely walk around the bed (I am a small person). The bedsheets were not ironed, the bed throw had staines on it, the bathmat was damp, there were water staines on the taps, the carridor was noisy.
It is not what is pictured... Th majority of the rooms are located through the bar, through a function room in a "modern" area, a far cry away from the advertised "victorian mansion".
I have stayed in larger, cleaner, quieter and cheaper premier inns.
Everything was below average, compared to other hotels I have stayed, lived and worked at.
Breakfast buffet was an OK standard.

Reviewed by
C Williams

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next