Reviews - Hand Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (49)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Twigg

  • October 2015

Hand Hotel

Good value.

Excellent location near to town. Room had a lovely view of river and trees.

  • andy B

  • October 2015

Was expecting basil and Mrs forte to appear

Rooms are antiquated and bed is so so tired.

TV mounting was in the wrong place so TV faced the outside wall. Shower was in a bath that was so awkward and high to get in. Electric heating that was hanging off its mounting... It was a cheap room but omg it needs some tlc

  • Eileen C

  • October 2015

Dog friendly

We stayed here last minute with decrepit dog in tow.

Stairs to first floor tricky for the hound but not us. Lovely view of the river, basic but clean accommodation. Great breakfast and very friendly staff. Would certainly go again.

  • Ian D

  • September 2015

Llangollen's answer to Glastonbury

I stayed two nights.

Rooms at the front of the hotel have a lovely view of the river but are noisy because the beer garden is just outside. On Saturday night there was a live band directly under my room until after midnight. If you go to sleep early then this would be a problem. I went down to see them. They were a great band. The place was heaving and the bar service slow. The second evening I came back to the hotel to find someone else's stuff in my room, and me things gone. Different staff members gave different contradictory accounts of why I'd been moved. These included an impressive tale about a flood. Breakfast was good but the staff looked like they didn't want to be there.

  • john M

  • August 2015

good staff, poor hotel.

The staff are welcoming and the breakfast was a very good English.

BUT; if you go on a Saturday, expect no sleep. Live music and very loud patrons leaving at 1am. Single glazing. Shabby, but clean rooms. Awful matresses (one hard as a nail, one soft as butter.) No blackout curtains. Pity really, as it has potential to be great. But we won't be back.

  • t price

  • August 2015

Getting away for the weekend

The hotel was as per reviews said it was ,

Well pleased would use again

  • Sheila M

  • May 2015

Lovely break

The Hand Hotel is in an excellent position being close to the centre but nice and quiet.

We had a lovely room with a beautiful view of the river. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choice to suit everyone. Would certainly recommend for an exceptional value for money break and hope to return soon

  • Arnold S

  • March 2015

Hotel in excellent central location, lucky to have a room with a view over thr River Dee.Great stay.

Staff helpful and friendly.

Food was excellent, good breakfast. Plenty of free car parking. Hotel was being refurbished, but not a problem, did not affect an enjoyable stay. Room fine, with views of river. Have already booked a return stay

  • Paul C

  • March 2015


As expected

  • H Bratby

  • March 2015

Great Weekend

Great Hotel been before and going back in June.

Live entertainment on both nights. Breakfast was eat as much as you want, and lovely and hot. Went last summer and sat in the beer garden right overlooking the river Dee, perfect.