No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hand Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE HAND HOTEL, BRIDGE STREET , LLANGOLLEN, LL20 8PL
Standing above a beautiful stretch of the river Dee close to the centre of the pretty market town of Llangollen. The Hand Hotel with its stunning riverside garden, old world charm, ample free parking is ideal for romance, for families, and groups, whether private or business, as well as for your Wedding or Conference.

We also have the Welsh Male Voice Choir perform every friday night at the Hotel, with Live Entertainment every Saturday and Jazz with Sunday Cavery the First Sunday of Each month.

The hotel also has fishing rights to the River Dee, free for any persons that hold a rod license and have booked into the hotel on a DBB basis.
Picture of Hand Hotel, LLANGOLLEN at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hand hotel
A pleasant stay

Reviewed by
Jeff J

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hand Hotel
Clean, tidy, and compact.

Reviewed by
Alan Bacon

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel - Good location - Reasonable value for money
We love Llangollen and have stayed in a number of hotels and B&B's. We have stayed at the Hand previously, and so knew what to expect. Without doubt it is run down and tired, however you can off set these issues due to the location, parking facilities, and cost (50.00). We wanted a cheap night away and got one. Depending on how much spare cash I had for a mini break, I would stay here again. The bar area is quite nice, and has a regular sausage dog called Benson to greet you. Breakfast was ok, and extras were offered I . e top up coffee - toast. I think hotels like these need to be visited and supported.

Reviewed by
Alan Hale

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round
Negative was the door closer need adjusting they make you jump out of your skin.

Reviewed by
C marriott

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
The hotel certainly has character. Although the décor is a little dated ,it is spotlessly clean. We were given a room overlooking the river and it was very warm and cosy.
Buffet breakfast was plentiful and very tasty. We were allowed a "lie in " too as it was served until10am. Staff were friendly and efficient
Will be returning

Reviewed by
c james

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

new year party
Stayed at the hotel room was good entertainment was great and really enjoyed the breakfast food was hot

Reviewed by
J Rourke

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return visit
When we visit Llangollen we always stay at the Hand Hotel. It has plenty of free parking and is ideally located for an evening out in Llangollen and also if you wish to visit local attractions such as the railway, castle or the aqueduct. The food is excellent - we can recommend the lasagne.

Reviewed by
Marie B

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

W/E Break
Our room was freezing when we arrived and the heater in the room was faulty. A portable heater was quickly provided and all was well. The staff were most courteous and friendly. I was a little disappointed with the bar, there being no real ale only lager and keg. The breakfasts were excellent (and huge). All in all a good hotel and I would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
Roy Wakeman

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't recommend it

Reviewed by
J Daly

From Holyhead, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hand Hotel
Lovely place to visit.

Reviewed by
Elaine

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next