No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Greyhound Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2 High Street Carshalton, Surrey, SM5 3PE
Welcome to The Greyhound Hotel in Carshalton; a magnificent 18th Century coaching inn, full of history and tradition. As well as all the comforts and facilities of a modern hotel, The Greyhound offers the very best in great British pubs, relaxed dining and delicious food.

We serve a wonderful selection of fresh home cooked food featuring pub classics such as fish and chips, sausage and mash, Sunday Roasts and bar snacks are also available.

We offer two deluxe hotel suites, and nineteen ensuite twin and double rooms, all with full air conditioning and Sky TV. We also have free WiFi access throughout the hotel and pub.

We aim to give you the most relaxing and enjoyable stay with us, and we look forward to meeting you soon.
Picture of The Greyhound Hotel, Surrey at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wimbleton Trip
From entering Greyhound Hotel was greeted at reception by friendly helpful staff who later provided us with local knowledge and transport.The room was excellent and very comfortable and the meals did not disappoint.Would certainly stay here again if I'm lucky enough to be back in the area.A first class experience

Reviewed by
Margaret Carroll

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Choice
We stayed overnight after a long day at Wimbledon. We had earlier left the car at the hotel and explained we could be late back, which was the case. Staff were friendly and re-assuring regarding the check in arrangements and were very helpful throughout the stay.
The hotel/pub is in a lovely spot with a pond and parkland close by. The room was very clean, although the mattress was a little worn. Cooked breakfast was excellent.
The only downside was an early barrel delivery which led to an earlier than appreciated wake up call. This must have woke other guests as the power showers started in unison.
Overall I would recommend the hotel and praise the staff for their helpfulness.

Reviewed by
D Hutchings

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good just a bit far out for Wimbledon tennis . But customer service excellent.

Reviewed by
PAMELA PETSCHELT

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel with nice clean rooms and great customer service

Reviewed by
N Moss

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Would Stay again if was working in the area

Reviewed by
alex B

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
Great hotel, good food and very helpful and friendly staff , will definitely recommend and stay again.

Reviewed by
wendy b

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base for tennis commuters
Staff were most hospitable and friendly, especially receptionist, "Kelly" who seemed to put in significant hours on duty. Pub, separate to accommodation building, was busy for World Cup matches and with the usual loud male-dominated crowd but rooms well-appointed and spacious and clean. Breakfasts (in pub) good with choice of 5 ceriels, fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries, for starters then a cooked English meal. handy for Wimbledon via Carshalton railway station (5 mins walk) changing at Mitcham Junction to tram which takes you to Wimbledon tube (£8-50 combined) then special London Transport bus service to All England Club (£5 return). A journey we did in less than an hour.

Reviewed by
James H

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing in Comfort
This last minute booking was just what we needed after a tiring drive. The hotel was situated in a lovely location which made us feel we were in the countryside. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The room was tastfully furnished and had the biggest most sumptuous bed ever! The full english breakfast that was included in the price was of excellent quality, delicious and perfectly cooked. 10 out of 10 for value and comfort.

Reviewed by
simon s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good stay
We had a really good stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient - even managing to accommodate us for an unexpected second night at LateRooms' prices. The room was good as was the food.

Reviewed by
C Pocock

From Crewkerne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious, quiet room and great breakfast
The rooms aren't luxurious but they're comfortable and neutrally decorated and certainly spacious and well-appointed for the price. There are tasteful black and white photographs on the walls in the room and around the building showing views of Carshalton. A choice of cooked breakfast options as well as a buffet of cereals, etc is included in the room rate so it really is good value. Maybe some of the rooms are noisier but mine (205) was quiet.

Reviewed by
Corinne K

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next