No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC/ Airport

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Bickenhill Lane , Birmingham, B40 1PJ
The Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel in an excellent location within walking distance of the NEC, Birmingham Airport and Birmingham train station. The hotel is a boutique style modern hotel, newly opened, with excellent facilities for business or pleasure. The 166 rooms are all bright and spacious and include facilities such as free internet access in all rooms, LCD TV’s, a work-station, a stylish wet-room with power shower, glass tiled walls and feature sink. The Hotel includes ample car parking, a relaxed lounge area for bistro-style snacks and drinks, a bar and an informal restaurant.

NEW FREE 10MB Internet access in all public areas. The buffet breakfast is a feature of the hotel as it offers plenty of choice for all tastes and diets. Car parking and free internet access in all rooms.
Picture of Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC/ Airport, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 566 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Very nice breakfast and plenty to choose from. only one thing let it down was that I had the usual full English and it was very hot ( beans,mushrooms and sausages) other than that perfect.

Reviewed by
M Harris

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paying £7.50 for parking the car is disgusting when all you get is the same code as everyone else to get out of the car park. the beds were uncomfortable. having only one bar staff on the bar is stupid considering the size of the hotel and the morning after when we went for breakfast it was self service. god knows how long it was sat there because it was stone cold, so much so I never ate it, so glad I didn't have to pay the £10 like some guest did for breakfast. I won't be returning to this hotel.

Reviewed by
a gardner

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good for the price range
Better than I expected reading others reviews. Nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the room. Comfortable room, heating level easy to adjust.
As other have also said the food is abut the only weak point, I prefer to reduce my sugar intake but all pudding offerings are heavily on the sweet side of the menu and you just can't microwave a crumble, it has to be done in an oven! Breakfast ok but a little pricey.
Some additional sign posting to the hotel would be welcome, just to point you passed the industrial area, when leaving from the station walk way side, fine during daylight but a little off putting at night.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, thank you for a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
John W

From LONDON, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall
Reception staff great - a patient lady guided me to the hotel when my TomTom wouldn't & check on staff were very efficient and had a very good manner.
Bar staff & restaurant - same as above - excellent.
Food : very good - 2 people, 3 courses & wine £97
Room: clean & adequate - no bath, only shower but was very clean
Didn't watch the TV or use tea & coffee, both were available
Would be great for a fly drive package

Reviewed by
stuart p

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Having stayed previously at another (very disappointing) Ramada Encore hotel I booked with some trepidation and only because I was attending a company conference on the site. I was immediately reassured by the friendly and professional reception I received by Ali. The room was adequate and again different to my earlier experience, was clean and comfortable (no radiator beside the bed!)

Reviewed by
Ian L

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Organisation and Service
Room had other people in who were loud and refused to cooperate with management who eventually gave me a new room and refund

Reviewed by
Gwyneth B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not where it was described!!
I booked the Ramada as somewhere to stay before our return flight very early the following morning. The information provided lead me to believe that this Hotel is adjacent to Birmingham Airport. Well "Adjacent" is one of those words isnt it, like reasonable or value. In so far as This hotel is within the industrial complex which forms part of the NEC in Birmingham then in that way as the is adjacent to Brimingham Airport, then yes it is adjacent. In the same way that Wales is adjacent to England. There was no curtesy bus from where we dropped off the hire car and a call to the hotel simply suggested we got a taxi or there was a mono rail from Birmingham Airport to the NEC. Yes there is as it turns out but it is very badly sign posted. Additionally, having left the airport on the Momorail, iy deposits you at the National Exhibition Centre (NEC). This is a huge complex of buildinggs on a vast site. We followed some signs which optimitically said "Siare and Lift to the Ramada Encourt". This deposited us in the midst of some industrial units, no where near any signs of human habbitation. It was a cold frosty December evening and after two weeks of travelling around the UK, I just wanted to be at the hotel. We walked dragging all our luggage through a series of industrial units and after about a mile finally found the Ramada in all its splendid isolation, no where near the 300 meters from Birmingham Airport I had read somewhere. There is one poor quality food serving area, the room was clean but sparce, the bathroom was a wet area with the shower higher than the loo area, you can guess how that worked out. I bit the bullet and hired a cab to get us to the airport. That took 15 minutes on empty roads at 6.45 in the morning. So for a one off price of £52.00 My wife, Middle Daughter age 24 and myslef had somewhere warm and clean to sleep. But had I known before hand just how far from the Airport it actually was, I would have booked the Novotel or similar on Airport Hotel.

Reviewed by
j butterfield

From Alicante, Spain
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
We were seeing Russell Howard at the Arena, so nice and close as we live a 3 hour drive away, the room was basic but clean and warm double bed mattress a little uncomfortable but okay for 1 night and for the cheap price we paid. The only couple of niggles were the plunger to drain the sink was missing only realised when I went to empty it and as every hotel the girls complained as plug sockets are never near mirrors

Reviewed by
D Newbery

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average Room for Expensive Prices
Lack of choice in the breakfast buffet
Lack of Gluten Free choices
A busy check in desk with 5 people waiting and one member of staff serving on the desk
The member of staff was unsure of what to do and was very slow, clearly needed support
Other members of staff looked untidy and messy at night (day staff looked professional)
TV remote was broken

Reviewed by
N Spencer

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay before flight
Only paid £27 for the room and was pleasantly surprised. Room was basic but spacious, although there was also a made up single bed in the room which was in the way. 2 large Christmas party groups also staying but we were not disturbed by noise. Evening meal was not cheap but was good. Easy to get to from the airport (5-minute walk).

Reviewed by
J BANKS

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next