No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ramada Encore Barnsley M1 Junc 37

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Whinby Road Dodworth, Barnsley, S75 3TX

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Excellent room, very clean, comfy and quiet considering near motorway junction. Delicious breakfast - eat as much as you like.

The Ramada Encore Barnsley is a modern hotel in an excellent location just on the M1 just off junction 37 for Barnsley, convenient for Sheffield, Bradford and Leeds.
The Hotel is a boutique style modern hotel, newly built, with excellent facilities for business or pleasure. The 117 rooms are all bright and spacious and include facilities such as FREE internet access in all rooms, LCD TV’s, a work-station, a stylish wet-room with power shower, glass tiled walls and feature sink.
The Hotel includes ample FREE car parking, a relaxed lounge area for bistro-style snacks and drinks, a bar and an informal restaurant.NEW FREE 10MB Internet access in all public areas.

The buffet breakfast is a feature of the hotel as it offers plenty of choice for all tastes and diets.

Free car parking and free internet access in all rooms.
Picture of Ramada Encore Barnsley M1 Junc 37, Barnsley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 398 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money
The only downsides are the lack of wifi in room although there was a hard wired connection and the noise from the m1 woke me through the night.
Not really the fault of the hotel.

Reviewed by
L Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay

Reviewed by
D Adams

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Barely adequate
Easy parking, room was clean and service was friendly, that's about where the positives end. In a similar price bracket to Premier Inn, but nowhere near as good. Key points;
Room was very basic - like student accommodation
No wireless internet - wired connection so could only use it on laptop sat at desk. Not good enough in 2014.
Mattress was poor, very thin and not very comfortable
Lighting was very harsh - not very welcoming
The food was awful, and not as cheap as you'd expect. The pasta carbonara might be the worst thing I have ever eaten in a hotel.
Some of these may seem like small things (eg lighting) but as they are things that can be rectified quite easily/cheaply and may a significant difference to the feel of the room/experience I see no excuse for them.
In the 'budget chain' style of hotels, I would rate the 'Encore' as marginally better than Travelodge (that really isn't saying anything), but way off Premier Inn in terms of quality and value for money.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us at the hotel. All our food is freshly cooked to order with locally sourced ingredients and I was disappointed to hear your food was not as you would have liked it to be. I have passed your comments to our chef and he would have been happy to replace your food with another at the time. I appreciate we are different from some of the other chains of hotels however we try to ensure all our guests enjoy our hotel, and the service we offer. Thank you again for your feedback as all feedback helps us to improve our service. Dawne, General Manager

Reviewed by
B Tipney

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent - I can not fault any of the services, room, food, staff etc.
I've just re booked for this month!!!!

Reviewed by
Steve W

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location off m1. Nice room, friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Helen L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend chill
A good value relaxing break with the meal deal making it even better value

Reviewed by
martyn s

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value

Reviewed by
Harry P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice weekend break

Reviewed by
Andrea Collis

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at the Ramada Encore for 2 nights while visiting family in the Barnsley area, hotel was better than expected, rooms were excellent and the service received was as good as anywhere, only down side was the bar closing even though we were residents, all in would stay there again, recommended.

Reviewed by
P Ferguson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, great stay
The room lovely and clean and the staff couldn't be more helpful.
For my back the bed was a bit hard but I think it would be fine for most people. The breakfast was good too with a nice range of hot and cold food. There's a Toby Carvery in the gounds for those who don't want to eat at the hotel. Dinner at the hotel was good though.

Reviewed by
Catherine B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next