No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Radisson Blu Athlone

Northgate Street Athlone, Co Westmeath,
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone is situated in the town centre on the banks of the River Shannon overlooking the historic Athlone Castle.

Sumptuous food is served daily in the Quayside Bar & Lounge and Elements Restaurant serves innovative dishes which highlight the region and the season’s best ingredients.

Synergy Health & Leisure Club is available complimentary to all guests and features an indoor pool, sauna, steam-room and fully equipped gymnasium.

The outdoor terrace overlooks the Marina and is a unique feature of the hotel - Summer Barbeques are a speciality!

Many of the bedrooms at this luxurious hotel afford stunning views over the river and old town area.

The hotel is within a five minute walk of Athlone’s train & bus station.

Athlone is now regarded as the shopping centre of the Midwest with pedestrian shopping areas and cosy side streets.

There are a selection of all-year round golf courses near the hotel and guests can also indulge in racing at the Kilbeggan and Roscommon racecourses. There are a wide variety of tourist attractions such as Clonmacnoise Monastic Site and Belvedere House and Gardens, all within easy driving distance of the hotel.
Picture of Radisson Blu Athlone, Co Westmeath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Radisson Blu Athlone
Very friendly helpful staff. Lovely clean spacious hotel. Hotel within walking distance of Athlone town centre. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
Terri F

From Birr, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Radisson Blu Athlone
Excellent hotel, great value

Reviewed by
John M

From Longford, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High Expectation/ Poor Experience
the room was very small, window did not close properly, draft moved not only the net curtain but also the heavy one. And over flow of Rain water from above splashed all night in front of our window, it was also too hot the first night, we tried to lower the room temperature on the regulator, worked only the 2nd night. Bar staff neither friendly nor efficient, asked if I can order food, bar waiter said I should sit down and someone will come, after 20 min. I gave up and decided to go out to a restaurant, as the hotel's restaurant was closed for both days/ evenings!.
Interior in the hotel rather shabby particularly, (Furniture in Bar, the carpet in stairwell, and chairs in breakfast room).
Best part was the swimming pool, sauna & steam room/ breakfast staff veryffriendly/ the Reception staff at arrival was also nice. But at departure, (different) staff did not even ask if we had a good stay.
overall experience : not good enough for a 4* hotel

Reviewed by
V Steiner

From Dublin, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased with my experience at the radisson blu hotel. Very clean and the good was great.

Reviewed by
Eunan M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
I have stayed in a lot of Radissons in Ireland, and the UK and Europe, I must say the service at the Radisson Athlone was excellent; the best I've experienced. The staff at reception, in the restaurant, in the bar, in the health centre were attentive, genuine and always had a smile. Excellent.

Reviewed by
Ross Fothergill

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very spacious room for a reasonable price. Facilities good, such as bar area and restaurant. Offers on food were used every night.

Reviewed by
L Fillmer

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

na
Bed way below the standard for a hotel

Reviewed by
Tom K

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review Radisson Blu Athlone Ireland
Absolutely love this hotel. Fantastic situation on the banks of the river Shannon, what a pleasure it is to sit on the terrace with a coffee or glass of wine and enjoy the views over the river, or to go for a swim and then a sauna in the leisure complex before enjoying an excellent breakfast. The Rose of Tralee contestants visited the hotel whilst we were there and the excitement was palpable, the girls were gorgeous! This hotel is definitely a 'keeper' and we will return next year if not before.

Reviewed by
Barbara Coughlan

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Radisson Blu Athlone
I checked into my room quite late (after 10pm) after a long drive in the rain. I had no idea as I approached my room that I had been upgraded to an executive suite. I felt like it was my birthday and christmas all at once. Really thrilled with the beautiful spacious apartment style of the bedroom, sitting room and bathroom along with wide hallway with wardrobe and the coffee machine and topping it all off a view of the river and the bridge. Just magical! Great pool, late checkout and abundant breakfast. A novelty was the pan-cake machine which I hadn't seen before. Thankyou everyone who helped make my short stay a very memorable and special one.

Reviewed by
Caroline Cunningham

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing efficient hotel with very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
S McBennett

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next