No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derwentwater Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Portinscale , Keswick, CA12 5RE
Discover the beautiful tranquility of the lake district in this wonderfully appointed hotel. With fantastic views over Derwentwater, this hotel is a must for those looking for a short weekend break or a longer relaxing stay. Why not sit back and savor the breathtaking views from our Conservatory Bar or try dinner in our Dear's Leap Restaurant with delicious dishes suited to every palette. The vibrant town of Keswick is a short 20 minute walk from the hotel with a number of shops, bars and restaurants. For those keen on walking, there are several fells within a short distance from the hotel with spectacular views over the lakes.

Our guests can now also enjoy access to Oxley's Spa at Underscar, just a short drive from the Hotel - with a Indoor Swimming Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and small Gym this is perfect after a long day walking (for over 16's only).
Picture of The Derwentwater Hotel, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic grounds and great location (20-25 mins walk into Keswick via path through fields). Friendly and polite staff.
Breakfast good quality food at very good price but range of options on buffet very much reduced from our last stay 6-7 years ago.
We stayed in a classic room - rather cramped and bathroom in need of upgrade (e.g. old fashioned furnishings, blacking seals, dripping tap) although the beds were comfy and bedroom was very clean.

Reviewed by
Gary H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service

Reviewed by
M Clark

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute booking
very impressed with the hotel, Lovely walk from the garden down to the lake,and the views were amazing. Bedroom light ,airey and very clean.We would love to stay here again.

Reviewed by
carol e

From morpeth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful location
A comfortable and attractive room with pleasant views. Breakfast was good but disappointing meal from a la carte menu on first night. Would stay here again but would not eat in restaurant in evening,
The gardens are beautiful and well kept with a path leading down to the lake. Lots of dogs staying as dog-friendly but this might not suit everyone. Beautiful 20 min walk into town,

Reviewed by
m snow

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have seen the prices on the notice board from £100 for one bedroom apartment from 30/03 to 05/07 but we paid £109 per night for standard room on the last floor with black finger prints on the top. Location is perfect but the price is not relevant for what we got for this price. Room 215

Reviewed by
Y ROLEV

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning views!
I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel - a fantastic location just outside Keswick with amazing views of the lake and surrounding mountains. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and breakfast was very good. I will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Steve Moyers

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking break
The staff were excellent, everyone without exception went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The restaurant was pricier than expected, but justified by the quality of food and service - a pleasant surprise. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom had been recently refurbished and was clean and modern, the only thing that let it down were the towel rail and taps that hadn't been fitted securely.

Reviewed by
Sara G

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Has no pool but shows it in the photos, its some miles from the hotel
Could be an interesting walk

Reviewed by
Edward L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location
Situated in Portinscale, about a mile or so walk into Keswick. It is a lovely little spot, with walks out from the back of the hotel onto the lake. The garden, lounge and other public areas of the hotel are very nice and well maintained. We had dogs but there weren't really any extra provisions for them and it cost £6.50 per dog per night. Room itself wasn't very clean with a cobweb on the ceiling and the lighting fixtures looked like they had been flooded from upstairs months ago - they could be moved around and there was a lot of cobweb/dust gunk in the gaps. Great sounds during the morning with lots of birds singing and very little other general noise.

Reviewed by
Craig B

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff but rooms very dated
we stayed here 20 years ago and I don't think much has changed leaving it a bit dated. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Food in restaurant was very good.

Reviewed by
Gillian B

From Shifnal, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next