You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Derwentwater Hotel

3

Portinscale, Keswick, CA12 5RE

Price From 162.50 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (31)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • lynne craven

  • May 2016

dated and down at heel.

Hotel in desperate need of an upgrade.

Basin cracked,mouldy shower screen. The position of the toilet you had to sit side on. Wallpaper falling off in bedroom and dining room. The breakfast was undercooked. I don't mind staying in budget hotels but expect budget prices . I have e mailed shearings asking for a refund but not expecting a reply .

  • K Armstrong

  • April 2016

Do not book room 103

The room is dated...the bathroom terrible....sink taps dripping, sink cracked, lots of mould, shower head leaking, not used to staying in such accommodation.

Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Wayne Greenwell

  • February 2016

Great friendly hotel right on the outskirts of Keswick . well recommend

Lovely place to stay .

I will definitely be going back .

  • B Gilbert

  • January 2016

Nice Stay

Great hotel, great staff, great breakfast.

  • Wayne Greenwell

  • January 2016

Clean , tidy and very friendly place to stay .

  • Neil D

  • December 2015

The Derwentwater Hotel

Lovely hotel the staff were excellent , its pet friendly which you don't find out until you get there.

Not a fan of pets in rooms. Restaurant very good staff excellent

  • s jones

  • November 2015

Staff were very nice.

Hotel in lovely location, very quiet. If they want to keep the lake views will need to do some tree/shrub pruning, same view not like the photo. Room (205) was ok, but bathroom was tiny, dirty, mould, generally grubby, fittings poor, needed painting and a good scrub. If you wanted a warm shower it just trickled out. Breakfast was excellent. Had an older clientele it seemed. Bar prices a bit steep. Needs a pool. Some entertainment would be good, they have a huge bar/conservatory but don't make proper use of it, they could do so much more. Shame really, could be so nice if they just did some maintenance. Apart from grubby bathroom did enjoy it, but doubt we would go back.

  • Andrew P

  • October 2015

Nice place for a getaway

Stayed for a short break, very convenient location (providing you're in a car) to base yourself for exploring the northern lakes.

Good value for money. One minor critisim was the soundproofing in the room wasn't great, but thankfully the neighbouring rooms did not have particularly noisy occupants.

  • Chris Lewis

  • October 2015

Bathroom tired

The hotel is tired.

The bed is ok just but the bathroom Bradley needs updating. The shower was very poor and did not work very well. There was no thermostatic valve which I think may contravene health and safety. A child could have scolded themselves. The toilet seat was loose. There was no electrics fan/vent in the bathroom. Towel fittings were loose. The public areas need refurbishing and the occasional tables and lamps in the corridors serve no purpose and provide an obstruction.

  • Anthony H

  • June 2015

Excellent Accommodation - but bring your own beer and sandwiches

An excellent, clean hotel in a marvellous situation with it's own grounds leading down to the lake.

Also, dog friendly. Many of the clientele were very elderly. However, the bar was side-lined we felt, the beer being awful and the area being a little impersonal and lacking in atmosphere and conviviality, partly due to the choice of using foreign staff. The food menu was extremely limited and we ate (and drank!) elsewhere. The room, however, was exceptional for the price.