No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Motel Schmotel

3AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
37 Russell Square , Brighton, BN1 2EF
We had always wanted to bring our own contemporary style, warmth and comfort along with a family welcome to a Brighton guest house. So we sold our souls to the man, took a leap of faith and on 20th April 2007 got the keys to our lovely 5 storey Regency town house. It was very tired, unloved and just not happy at all. So we set about bringing back the love and turning it into what it is today, a very happy guesthouse indeed.
We are very proud to have been recently awarded 3 stars from the AA which have even more recently become more shiny after receiving an AA Highly Commended Yellow Star award for reaching the top 10% within our star rating for overall quality – and that’s before we completed the en suite refurb!
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 mins walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. We are constantly improving our green policy and hope to soon be one of Brighton's few green flagship guesthouses.
All our rooms are ensuite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Freeview and wi-fi are in all rooms for those who may wish to work, surf the net or just chill out after a hard days shopping.
We offer a choice of locally sourced (where possible – subject to avaliability) & organic breakfasts delivered to your room along with piping hot coffee if you need a gentle nudge into your day. So what you waiting for, book already!
Big love
Amsy, Paul, little Jackson and baby Alabama
Picture of Motel Schmotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, great location, wonderful people
Really cute place in the centre of everything. Clean and tidy but be prepared for small rooms. Staff are very helpful and friendly, lots to do in the surrounding area and good value. Would happily go again but would ask for a slightly large room this time.

Reviewed by
M M

From Potters Bar, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation
We stayed for a weekend and found the hotel to be excellent. The room was clean and tidy and had been very well maintained. The owner, Maja, and her husband were very accomodating and nothing was too much trouble, be it the breakfast options, where to go, where to eat, etc.
The location is excellent for the town and beach too.
A very good weekend and would strongly recommend!!!

Reviewed by
Kevin B

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place with gluten-free brekkie!
A lovely hotel with lovely staff and an amazing breakfast

Reviewed by
Mattie L

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying in Brighton
Lovely accommodation - centrally located - 1 minute walk from Brighton Centre - car parking available if you book early enough (and much cheaper than nearest car park).
Will definitely stay again when we go to Brighton.

Reviewed by
Judith B

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good host nice welcome clean

Reviewed by
D Darlington

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal
We stayed here over the Easter weekend as we were attending a Conference.
Location was ideal for the conference centre as it is just a very short walk away.
Customer service was excellent, great welcome and attentiveness. Thank you Maja.
We stayed in room 3, which is on the small side! This, though made sure that we were much more organized with our stuff! The bed was extremely comfortable and weslept extremely well. The room was clean and comfortable.
Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
D Griffiths

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could be brillant
The hotel was unmanned on arrival, bit I has received full instructions and had no problems on gaining entry. As per other reviews, I was somewhat disappointed with my small double room. It was very small with little room to move around, the en-suite absolutely tiny, and the television too small with terrible sound quality as in hissed constantly. (and you had to turn it off at the wall as the remote only changed channels). Bed was very comfy though, and the full english breakfast in the morning was excellent. If the room had been bigger and the TV more usable it would be great, but as it is the room size and poor television let what could be a great B&B down.

Reviewed by
M Phillips

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bijou and Compact
On positive note the service and food were excellent. We arrived early, prior to check in time and were allowed use of the parking space and were also offered the opportunity to leave our baggage in the room. Breakfast was superb on both mornings with an early option on Sunday for marathon participants, the full english comes highy recommended and my wife enjoyed her boiled eggs and marmite soldiers.
I can only speak for room 7, described as a small double which was dissapointing. It was at best a small single with no room to unpack our luggage, leaving us living out of suitcases. Thebathroom was ridiculously small and a real challenge to use.
Beyond the owners control are their neighbours who decided to have an all night party on Saturday night and the square seems to be a rat run between the top of town and the seafront clubs, again very noisy. That said Sunday night was much better.
Overall a nice cosy B and B and a large double at the back of the property would probably be a better option. There are certainly no issues with the warm welcome and hospitality.

Reviewed by
A Evans

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Contemporary styled accommodation in a traditional seaside townhouse in Central Brighton
We wanted a convenient one night stop over and the location is certainly central and very near a huge variety of eating places. The room itself was small but still contained everything needed, including a tiny en suite. There were nice touches such as real glasses, a water carafe and the option of fresh milk in the room.
The accommodation is on several floors and Anyone shy of a steep climb to the top floor would be better booking one of the rooms lower down. There was a great choice of breakfasts and these could be served to your room on request. The full English was very nice with good quality sausage and bacon.
The only thing we found a little strange was the booking in arrangements and communication on the day. A text was sent by the hotel to confirm our arrival time and a key left to pick up. Would have much preferred a personal welcome. The other major problem is car parking particularly if booking last minute. The nearest open car park costs £25 overnight , although there is seafront parking for a bit less cost.
Over all this is a great little guest house for Central Brighton as long as you factor in the parking costs!

Reviewed by
Adrian S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I like the name of the hotel, but.........
My room was on third floor, a bit of a trek. However, as I ascended the stairs I was filled with the usual excitement. I wondered what was my room going to be like: size, cosiness, a 'view' would be nice, but not essential. I just love that moment of exhaling once realising "oh yes, worth the slight anxiety of not knowing". However, on this occasion, as I opened my room door, my first thought was disappointment- small room, in fact I felt claustrophobic, even for one person. The room is classed by the motel as a small double.The bathroom was tiny, bordering on uncomfortable. I sighed realising that this was to be my 'home' for one night.
The room was generally clean, but 'tired-looking', could benefit from stripping down back to basics and re-painting. The room lacked a 'welcoming' feel and decorated too cheaply, even for a 'budget' motel.
Despite instructions on the bathroom wall, I struggled to effectively regulate the water temperature of the shower, but may be that was just me.
I calmed myself and accepted that at least it would be for one night only. Determined to make the best of my situation I unpacked, settled in and ordered breakfast ('in bed'- free of charge, nice touch) for the following morning. The delicious meal turned out to be the best element of my stay at Motel Schmotel. I still chuckle at the name.

Reviewed by
Dionne E

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next